We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Yacht Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Yacht Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have stayed at The Royal Yacht on many occasions and always look forward to returning. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The spa is wonderfull, very relaxing and the treatments are the best i have experienced in any spa. Also a visit to all the restaurants is a must when staying here, i always find it hard to choose where to eat as all 3 restaurants have great food. The staff in this hotel are very helpful and i am looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    222
    50
    34
    15
See reviews for
78
554
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fabulous room, lovely spa and a great restaurant for evening dinner. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, it was just a shame I could not stay longer to enjoy the facilities for longer!
The main hotel restaurant, Sirocco has a great menu with plenty to choose from. If you want something less formal, Cafe Zephyr is a great alternative. This cafe is especially nice in the summer for a leisurely lunch in the sunshine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have stayed here several times both for business and leisure, the rooms are of good size and always very clean.
Breakfast is great with a good range of cereals, pastries, fruits and full English breakfast, they even bring you fresh toast and coffee to the table (a lot of places have them on buffet stations). We tried all their restaurants and were not disappointed, the brasserie was our favourite lovely food with a lot of Asian flavours and very friendly service, Sirocco restaurant can be quiet during the week but if you get there over the weekend you will find great atmosphere, attentive service and fabulous food.
The Spa is a plus, beautiful and very comfortable facilities with no kids running around, unfortunately we never tried the massages but I am sure they must be fantastic.
All together is a must if you are staying in St. Helier, good location great facilities with a friendly and very professional service !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here on business and was generally not impressed. I arrived at almost 1:30 in the afternoon on a Sunday and the room was "not ready" even though it couldn't have possibly been full at this time of year. Front desk staff was not very helpful. There is no seating in the reception area but there was a lounge upstairs. I waited there for 45 minutes until the room was ready but no one offered to come up to inform me when the room was ready. The room was small and somewhat cramped. Also, although I was on the 4th floor, my room overlooked the main street and was fairly noisy. I've been here before in the high season and if you have a room on the front or street side, it can be really noisy on Thursdays-Saturdays when the party crowd is in. Forget about sleeping if you're there. Even in the off season, the road noise is discernable.

I ate dinner in the Cafe Zephyr as not much else was open on a Sunday evening. The food was just fair. I had spring rolls as a starter which were fairly bland and a chicken panini sandwich which wasn't too bad. The service was poor and wait staff hard to find even though there couldn't have been a half-dozen people in the place. The waitress dropped off my bill and forgot to leave a pen which meant I had to go and find her to sign the ticket. Breakfast service wasn't much better. The breakfast buffet was fairly good - standard Englist breakfast items plus cereals, yogurt, fruit, etc. However, on the second day, I ordered coffee and white toast from the waiter when I was seated which never came. After I had finished my breakfast, he came around again and I asked for coffee and white toast again but got tea and brown toast. I've stayed at other hotels on the island before and would recommend L'Horizon or the Grand Jersey over the Royal Yacht any time.

Room Tip: Not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your last visit with us and apologise for not checking you in promptly on arrival. The Saturday night prior to your visit was exceptionally busy and the trend is for guests to want to check out later on a Sunday morning creating a shorter gap for our housekeeping team to prepare the rooms. I am told that all rooms were in fact ready by our recommended check-in time of 1400hrs.

We were also sorry to hear that you found your room too small. The hotel has four room categories - Silver, Gold, Gold de Luxe and Platinum and two Penthouse suites. All rooms are fitted out to the same high standard with the main difference being in size and location. Some of the silver rooms (your chosen Category of room) are compact but not to the extent that their size should spoil the enjoyment or comfort of your stay. Whenever possible and subject to availability we are always happy to move a guest to an alternative room upon request.

In relation to your comments about service I would first like to make clear that any form of service offered that is not up to our required high standard is unacceptable and if you were not happy with the way you were received at the hotel reception then please accept our apologies. We take service levels very seriously at the Royal Yacht and our team of staff are well trained, dedicated and professional and have a very good track record of delivering excellent service as many other Trip Advisor reviews will testify.

We are a town centre hotel situated in a vibrant part of St Helier and, like any other town or city centre establishments, have to co-exist with the general public. The hotel is acoustically designed and fully double glazed to minimize noise from outside and inside the building.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your views with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Struggling to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday so ended up in this hotel. Staff were pleasant enough and service was fine. The food (supposed to be a tapas menu) was dire in the extreme - it looked like something from some cheap iceland store. Everything seemed bland looking and deeply fried - even the garlic bread which looked like giant crisps. If we hadn't been so hungry we would probably not have eaten anything. I can only judge the hotel in what they served in this bar and would definitely not desire to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review although we feel it is rather harsh and not at all representative of other reviews. Cafe Zephyr is well known for its high standards and consistency of good quality food and service. The tapas menu is varied, reasonably priced and very popular. Having said that, we do take all feedback seriously and have passed on your comments to the Head Chef and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just came back from a 3night stay booked through 'secret escapes'
Great hotel, very clean, great service, good food and good location. We wanted for nothing and the hotel team went out of their way to ensure our stay was fantastic.
Perfect location to some great resturants within a 10 minute walk.
The car we had hired at the airport, and we managed to get around the whole island in 2 days, stopping at all the bays and main attractions. The light house and Devils hole were both worth going to see and the Durrell wild life centre was fantastic, we even got to see the 4 week old gorilla,
The hotel does not have a car park, but there was a safe multi story 3 min walk away that cost next to nothing.
The spa was great, only down side was that the pool water was a little cool!
There are loads of great resturants, we had a great time at Barros, the Portuguese, Taraminds the Indian and Gios a great Italian. Also liked Murrys a bistro in St Aubins.
Well worth escaping from the kids for a romantic weekend away. Happy anniversary dear !!!

Room Tip: Gold room with own terrace,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have stayed here quite a few times now and have never had a single complaint. From the minute you arrive everything is perfect and the reception team are always cheerful and happy to help.

The spa is so relaxing and the calm room with heated beds is amazing, we had a couples mud treatment last time and our skin was so soft after, I would definately recommend!!

We got turndown service while we were at the spa and they even left chocolates, a really nice touch :)

Sirocco is our favourite restaurant on the Island and the food is 5*, I'm a fussy eater and even I couldn't find fault with it, the salmon with apple was delicious!!

Breakfast is buffet style so you can choose what you like and leave what you don't, they cook your eggs to order, my poached eggs were perfect and they even have smoked salmon. You can get breakfast in bed for just £5.00 and they serve this later than the restaurant does so you can have a lie in if you wish.

All in all this hotel has a luxurious but welcoming feel, we love staying here even just for one night and always come away feeling happy and relaxed. Hopefully staying again in November and CAN'T WAIT!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Yacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.