We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our second stay in the Apollo Hotel. Nothing had really changed since our first visit two years ago. Hotel is very well located within an easy few minutes walk of the town centre. Generally good service, rooms adequate (may be a little dated) but clean. We only stayed B & B, so didn't have an evening meal at the hotel. The first morning the breakfast was superb but the second Morning (Sunday) the food was not so good (rubber eggs, over cooked sausages) The car park is located to the rear of the hotel with access via a small back street. Our two rooms were far too hot and slept with the windows open (early Feb). The staff were friendly and very helpful. If you want a value for money hotel that is close to the shops and town centre but don't mind a few rough edges, then the Apollo is the one for you.
For that 'Special' Evening out meal - there's a fantastic little restaurant nearby by called The Seven Angles - Incredible food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    196
    107
    37
    29
See reviews for
91
197
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked in for 8 days, but after two day we asked for a refund, and was told before we had completed our request, that we had no chance of getting any money back so don't ask,

The manager turned up and was very rude so was all the staff, and first of all he would not even look at us, until i called him over to us, after telling his hotel was terrible and dirty he could not understand what i was on about, so i ask him to look at the seating and the general appearance of the hotel, the walls have large cracks showing,and sealed over, the bath rooms had not been decorated for many years, windows you were not able to look out for condensation , hallway carpet threadbare, lift floor dirty,hand basin cracked, taps broken, beds two singles, both beds had covers that were to small, door furniture (locks )covered in dirt and soil, the lounge has dirty chairs with black grime to the arms, no background music , no TV, unless you go to your room,no hot tub,(not working) swimming only 5-8 PM, it was like waiting in for god.

This was one of the deluxe rooms , the mangers reply was that he did not know of any problems, but we the customers must realize that the hotel has not been decorated for approximate 30 years, and the hotel group will not spend any money, but he will pass our comments on.

Asking for the head office address, i was told no one knew of the address, only had Tel number, so i asked one of the girls on the desk to call the number and get the address of head office for me, after having the paper with the address thrown at me, the under manageress asked what do you want it for, i said to complain, give it to me and i will pass it on (NO WAY) .
breakfast floating in oil and eggs dry, beans dry, milk was off .

I was told write your letter and we will pass the letter on,
finely we got in touch with (EXPEDIA . COM) who we booked with, and they were on the case within 10 mins, then we were allowed to leave the next morning with a full refund for days not used
THANK YOU EXPEDIA
we could not have done it with out your help

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here twice now couple of years apart. It never changes. Large hotel but very nice with plenty of facilities, swiming pools indoor and out, small gym, lovely staff all very friendly. There is a public house which is attatched to hotel so makes a change is you whant that type of thing. Rooms are lovely and clean maids do a good job everyday. Whent at the end of november was very cold but hotel was lovely and warm at all times. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice.This hotel is just a short stroll into the centre so very handy. For the price you pay i think it is a very good deal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here between christmas and new year and we could not fault it. Great location basically at the top of the high street, rooms have all you need and we all slept well. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed the new years eve party laid on with a meal and disco. The hotel was a real bargain and I would be more than happy to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the hotel for two days for work and the male receptionist/porter was absolutely wonderful. He was helpful, eager and just a delight. The female receptionist who checked me in was withdrawn and gave me little help. I believe she was very cold in her manner and could try harder with communicating with guests.
Although Paul the Reataurant Manager that made up for that with his constant smile, fantastic conversation, tentative to your needs and nice to come back to the hotel too. The other staff were polite and punctual with any needs I had as well as being presented well in themselves.
The rooms were clean and had everything you need for your stay although a tad outdated that's my only complaint about them. Very comfortable with a good set out!
I would recommend the hotel to others and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a weekend break to Jersey.

The hotel is a 6/7 min walk from the bus station / town centre .
Easy and fast check in and we were shown to our room, yes would agree the rooms are a little dated but it was very clean and suited us fine . The water pressure in the shower wasn't the best but it did a job.

The downstairs areas were equally as clean and well maintained , free WiFi is available but this only realy works in the lobby area.

Breakfast is a help your self buffet and realy was good , a full range of cooked items, cereal and fruit available . We have had a lot worse quality and service for breakfast in some expensive London hotels.

Considering we only paid £51 a night for a double room with breakfast I would defiantly recommend the hotel for a weekend stay. It would be great in the warmer weather to be able to use the outdoor pool too.

In summary it's a good value place , yes ok the rooms are dated but its clean and well maintained and offers a good base within easy walking distance to the shops,bars and restraunts of St Helier .

We would definatly consider the Apollo again if we return to Jersey but if you want modern 4 star rooms then book and pay modern 4 star prices .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm - we stayed here for one night after our flight out of Jersey was cancelled and EasyJet laid on this hotel for our overnight stay.

The downstairs is quaint but clean and the breakfast in the morning was of a good standard.

The bedrooms are tired looking - our room was clean and the bathroom perfectly good, but the bed was uncomfortable and the general decor tired and in need of repair.

Also the heating wasn't working, although we didn't ask for assistance on this.

It's not in the nicest area of town, but only 5 minutes walk to the main centre. I heard from the cab driver on the way back to the airport that it's rumoured to be being shut down and turned into flats soon, so maybe that's why they haven't invested in updating the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#19 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.