We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Apollo Hotel to your Saves list
Apollo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed here between christmas and new year and we could not fault it. Great location basically at the top of the high street, rooms have all you need and we all slept well. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed the new years eve party laid on with a meal and disco. The hotel was a real bargain and I would be more than happy to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    196
    107
    37
    29
See reviews for
91
197
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I was staying at the hotel for two days for work and the male receptionist/porter was absolutely wonderful. He was helpful, eager and just a delight. The female receptionist who checked me in was withdrawn and gave me little help. I believe she was very cold in her manner and could try harder with communicating with guests.
Although Paul the Reataurant Manager that made up for that with his constant smile, fantastic conversation, tentative to your needs and nice to come back to the hotel too. The other staff were polite and punctual with any needs I had as well as being presented well in themselves.
The rooms were clean and had everything you need for your stay although a tad outdated that's my only complaint about them. Very comfortable with a good set out!
I would recommend the hotel to others and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on a weekend break to Jersey.

The hotel is a 6/7 min walk from the bus station / town centre .
Easy and fast check in and we were shown to our room, yes would agree the rooms are a little dated but it was very clean and suited us fine . The water pressure in the shower wasn't the best but it did a job.

The downstairs areas were equally as clean and well maintained , free WiFi is available but this only realy works in the lobby area.

Breakfast is a help your self buffet and realy was good , a full range of cooked items, cereal and fruit available . We have had a lot worse quality and service for breakfast in some expensive London hotels.

Considering we only paid £51 a night for a double room with breakfast I would defiantly recommend the hotel for a weekend stay. It would be great in the warmer weather to be able to use the outdoor pool too.

In summary it's a good value place , yes ok the rooms are dated but its clean and well maintained and offers a good base within easy walking distance to the shops,bars and restraunts of St Helier .

We would definatly consider the Apollo again if we return to Jersey but if you want modern 4 star rooms then book and pay modern 4 star prices .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The welcome on arrival was warm - we stayed here for one night after our flight out of Jersey was cancelled and EasyJet laid on this hotel for our overnight stay.

The downstairs is quaint but clean and the breakfast in the morning was of a good standard.

The bedrooms are tired looking - our room was clean and the bathroom perfectly good, but the bed was uncomfortable and the general decor tired and in need of repair.

Also the heating wasn't working, although we didn't ask for assistance on this.

It's not in the nicest area of town, but only 5 minutes walk to the main centre. I heard from the cab driver on the way back to the airport that it's rumoured to be being shut down and turned into flats soon, so maybe that's why they haven't invested in updating the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinbane, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Booked online after reading reviews. Very disappointing.
Staff all Portuguese and not friendly at all. Breakfast overcooked and bland no fresh fruit.
Working in Jersey again but will not be staying here.!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went to Jersey for the start of their Xmas markets. 5 adult and 2 children for a long weekend.
The hotel is looking a little old but had everything we required. It was very clean and the staff helpful and friendly . The beds were extremely hard.The children loved the indoor pool with the Jacuzzi .The breakfast was great .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Staff was amazing. I thought my purse had been stolen, but I was WRONG - I'd taken it out with me and left it behind at a nearby restaurant. The staff was just wonderful about it, even though I was sure it had been taken from my room. They helped look for it, assured me it was very unlikely it had been stolen (Jersey in Europe is much different from New Jersey in USA.), assisted me in making calls to my credit cards, and was just overall wonderful in helping me with what was a VERY stressful time. Grace under pressure is my measure of the quality of a place, and the staff could not have been better. Also, the included breakfast was wonderful. Had I paid top dollar for this hotel, I would have expected WiFi actually IN the room (rather than the lobby), but that was the only not-great thing. We stayed for only 3 nights, but I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apollo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel

Address: St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 4GJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Helier
#19 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel St Helier
Apollo Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Jersey Hotel Apollo
Apollo St Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.