We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round a lovely evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unawatuna

Unawatuna
8 Caledonia Place, St. Helier JE2 3NG
+44 1534 888430
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This is the cooking that chef Sudu learned as a child. Armed with his mother's homemade spices (she sends them over every two to three weeks) Sudu set to work, introducing a slice of Sri Lanka, and the cuisine he loves, to foodies around the island. The authentic decor - a team effort, which both Sudu and his partner worked hard to create, sets the backdrop for his first big adventure - Unawatuna - an original name to represent the unique cuisine.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round a lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Food was very good, atmosphere lovely and staff friendly. Nice to have different style and presentation of cooking.. will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and it will be a pleasure to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed after reading such good reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went there in November after reading all the favourable reviews as we both are very fond of Indian and Thai food.
On arrival we ordered a bottle of red wine that arrived as if it had just come out of the fridge, the waitress seemed confused and didn't understand that red wine should be enjoyed at room temperature, we had to ask for it to be returned to the kitchen to a hot area to warm it up.
The restaurant is quite nicely set up but as it was evening when we visited the bright lights were just not right to create the right ambience, I read another review where the same comment was made so sadly they haven't picked up on that.
We opted for the Sri Lankan set menu which consisted of some very dry and bland patties and some dips that didn't add anything to the overall disappointing starter. The main course of 3 different curries also disappointed, the fish one by far the best of the 3.
The meal cost with a service charge was £54 which we found to be expensive as far as our enjoyment was concerned and we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, General Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We strive to give a great customer experience in every way would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations. I understand the issues with the wine and the lighting, I can confirm that those have been corrected. I would like to find out more about the service charge you mentioned in your review. Our service charge is for table of 7 or over and all the staff members are aware of this so I am confused on how this could have happened. I have looked into all my receipts and I cannot find any bills for £54 with a service charge on my till. I would be more than happy for you to bring you receipt if you still have it or come in to meet and discuss this issue.
Kind Regards
Donovan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Beautiful pumpkin curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We visited as a pre Christmas treat.

The food was lovely, all of the curry we tried were gorgeous especially the pumpkin one which was just delicious. Also adored the yoghurt dip that came with the lentil patty starter.

Staff were really helpful and friendly, even offering to put our leftovers in a doggy bag (portion sizes are generous). The coconut flat bread was delicious.

The décor is interesting and the roaring fire on a cold winter's day helped provide a lovely overall ambiance.

We will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
We have worked really hard to make our décor and the ambiance of the restaurant to be cosy and work with the authenticity of our food. Thank you for your kind comments and noticing all those little details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Original and inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This newly opened Sri Lankan restaurant in sunny Jersey brings a novel twist to sub continental cooking. Instead of the predictable 'Indian' menu Unawatuna ( apparently named after one of the founders home village in Sri Lanka) has a menu of Tapas styled Sri Lankan dishes which are different, novel and present a range of tastes which are markedly different to the one sauce base of so many restaurant curries. Seafood and vegetables feature strongly as do the traditional meat options, but all with an original authentic flavour so different from the run of the mill curry houses. A great way to sample and share a myriad of flavours and textures. We dined with friends and the fun was in the sampling of the various choices of each member of the party.
Young people and families will love this place as well the the oldies looking for something different. The decor is appealing and staff attentive and knowledgeable. A must for all those who love the taste of the East but want something different and interesting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
It is very nice to see that you have enjoyed our cuisine and have tried it the way it is meant to be eaten ( Sharing and mixing the dishes/flavours). I hope you will get the chance to come back and try more of our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

A lovely, authentic, Sri Lankan meal in a friendly restaurant with pleasant staff. The fixed price menu was very good value and offered genuine choice. You will enjoy it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnawatunaRestaurant, Manager at Unawatuna, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unawatuna also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Unawatuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unawatuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.