We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Location & Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Jersey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Jersey to your Saves list
Grand Jersey
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Location & Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent hotel.
The rooms are very clean & to a modern standard.
Excellent views from the front of the hotel.
We never really had a view from our room but that was ok with us.
I would highly reccomend staying at this hotel.
Local shoppping

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    306
    147
    44
    19
See reviews for
116
571
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a real old school hotel but in a good way! Excellent levels of service, amazing breakfast and the staff are incredibly friendly. Location couldn't be better, a short walk into St Helier and other attractions. Bus stop is right outside so great for airport transfers (#15 bus).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great hotel and value for money, central location within walking distance of main shopping area
Beautiful views out to sea
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Jersey and looking for a luxurious experience

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The site and the views from the front of the hotel is great - although the photo on the front of the hotel website hides the fact that there is a dual carriageway bewteen the hotel and the beach.

We also suffered from a non-functioning pool and were offered no compensation, though we could have gone to another hotel to swim - but that was not realistic.

Also the evening we arrived there was a function taking up the restaurant which was therefore not available for normal residents. We were told food would be available in the large room up the main stairs at the back of the hotel so we booked a table. But when we arrived and took one look we quickly decided against it. A high ceiling with no windows and dark curtains, It had about as much ambience as dining in a gymnasium.

We asked if we could eat out on the terrace, although there was a function with music taking up part of that. We were told we could and that the music should stop at 8pm to make conversation easier. But by 8:45 the music was still going so we abandoned the hotel and went to eat elsewhere at on of the restaurants in the road on the east side of the hotels. It was a pity the hotel did not have a decent option available for us.

The rooms were fine with lovely beds, good airconditioning. And the rest of the service was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, overlooking the sea front. It has lovely outdoor dining with a glass windbreak all the way across so perfect for eating lunch or sipping early evening cocktails. Our room was clean and the beds are extremely large and comfortable. The only thing that let the room down was the outdated bathroom , decor quite tired and it's been a long time since I encountered a shower curtain! But was immaculately clean. We were very lucky to have a luxury massage and facial which was just lovely, the spa is very relaxing although disappointed that the pool was out of use. Hotel very quiet and breakfast was very nice and all the staff in this hotel were polite and discreet.

Room Tip: Sea front or the side facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a three day stay at this lovely hotel from 5th July. It was a special anniversary celebration for us and hotel staff kindly helped arrange for flowers and wine in our room on arrival. We paid extra for an outstanding sea and castle view which was worth every penny. Our room on the first floor was in perfect working order. The easy to operate safe for passports etc., the air conditioning, the fridge and heated towel rail meant that we could relax in our room and enjoy cool refreshments and dry damp clothing notwithstanding some unseasonal wet weather. As ever the staff were always very friendly, helpful and efficient.
This was our first stay since the hotel's refurbishment and we were pleasantly impressed. We would suggest improved signage to and within the pool and spa area however and for the WCs situated on the mezzanine behind the lobby.
We prefer to enjoy a variety of dining experiences. The hotel is handily situated close to a wide range of restaurants. At weekends in particular we would advise an early choice of intended dining location as failure to book can lead to disappointment. A Costcutter store/petrol station just behind the hotel is very handy for day to day groceries/sweets etc., as well as fuel if needed for a hire car. We have always found the hotel's car park to be large enough but if full there is a multi-story off an adjacent street to the rear of the hotel. In the late afternoon after a day exploring the island it is delightful to enjoy a drink and a sandwich on the sun terrace at the front of the hotel and enjoy the beauty of Elizabeth Castle and the ebb and flow of the bay's tide.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are situated over the car park and sun terrace with its bar. The hotel faces a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of Grand Jersey - I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and will pass your thanks on to everyone.

The staff at Grand Jersey really do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible, and it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing break.

I do hope that you will decide to return in the near future as we would love to see you again.

Kind regards,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, in a room at the back of the hotel.
The room was good. Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and modern. Lighting was great.
The pool was out of order and we were really disappointed, so we were given a three-course meal each in the Brasserie restaurant to compensate. The food here was very good.
The breakfast was excellent, all you could possibly need, all fresh and very tasty.
The staff, on the whole were great; a special mention to Ernst on concierge and also Andreea in the restaurant - both were very efficient, very welcoming, very lovely.
The down side is that the hotel is on the main road, and therefore drinks on the terrace were a bit noisey; add to that the fact that there were private functions going on here, restricting guest access and adding to the noise.
It's a lovely hotel, and we may well stay again, or return to The CLub Hotel which we feel just has the edge!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eamonn E, General Manager at Grand Jersey, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - your feedback really is appreciated.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will decide to come back soon.

Best wishes,

Eamonn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Jersey

Address: The Esplanade, St. Helier JE2 3QA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#11 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Jersey 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Jersey is the island’s stylish, sophisticated hotel and spa, presenting guests an exceptional experience. It offers the ultimate in comfort and glamour, through a blend of sophisticated restaurants, the exclusive, atmospheric Champagne Lounge and the luxurious, award winning Spa. Grand Jersey also features the innovative Park Suites – a dedicated business centre with private cinema, meeting rooms and flexible events spaces. Whether you’re visiting Jersey for a short break, summer holiday or business, you are assured of a wonderful stay. Grand Jersey is committed to the highest standards of service and excellence which is why the hotel is one of only two on the island to be awarded five stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Splendia and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Jersey Hotel St. Helier
Grand Jersey St Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Jersey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.