We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just have to try this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafish Cafe

Seafish Cafe
Liberty Wharf Shopping Centre, St. Helier JE2 3NY
+44 1534 510015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 180 Restaurants in St. Helier
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You just have to try this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sit in fish and chip style restaurant in nice setting just on Liberation Square. Food very well cooked and presented. Best haddock I ever had. Manager very attentive and friendly. Good range of fish: whitebait and salmon included. Do try the 'Posh Fish and Chips': cod, salmon and haddock peices in a stack, skewered together. A little pricier than most, particularly children's meals at £6, but very good food indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    47
    14
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we thought we would have fish & chips a simple quick meal, how wrong we were.
we ordered scampi and a cod both with chips, what a shock we had when we were served.
I have never seen such a portion of scampi so much we could have shared the portion and when the cod came out wow! a piece that could feed a family.
if you have a meal anywhere you must give this a try, fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere and a very helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Spot on Fish and chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Perfect traditional fish and chips - they didn't try and re-invent the wheel with fries or different kinds of batter or fillings, just really great quality produce cooked traditional-style and really well. Cod was as thick as my teenage son's head (but less greasy). Great stuff!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great gluten free fish and chips.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is always such a treat to find a place that does gluten free fish and chips but Seafish Cafe is one of the best I have ever had. The menu has a disclaimer that says because of the risk of cross-contamination they can't guarantee that the food is suitable for coeliacs but I was prepared to risk it. The fish in batter was delicious but I think the home made tartar sauce was actually the most impressive part of the meal. My husband had fish cooked in chilli sauce which he thoroughly enjoyed too. We went on a Monday night when it was quiet. We had good service and a really nice time - overall, a good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great takeaway fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to Seafish Cafe to buy fish and chips to eat on St Aubins beach. It is a bit of a walk from the takeaway to the beach (about fifteen minutes) but the food was still hot when we ate it. We also went at lunchtime so we did have to wait about fifteen minutes for our order to be cooked, but it was lovely. We ordered one portion of white bait and a large portion of chips between two people and it was more than we could physically eat. The fish was really fresh and yummy, and the chips were really crispy. They also do cod, scampi, calamari and lots of other choices. We will definately go back next time we stay in St Helier

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafish Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Seafish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.