We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break with excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn Boutique to your Saves list
The Inn Boutique
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road, St. Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
£20 Restaurant Voucher
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Weekend break with excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We decided on a weekend break for a taster of Jersey and we weren't disappointed. Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, great food, brilliant location...what more can we say? Definately returning as soon as we can :-)

Room Tip: Rooms are given names, we were in 'Bergerac' excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    133
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
43
216
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here for two nights for business. Reasonably priced, with a very popular restaurant bar menu. Food was good if a bit predictable. Unfortunately there was a number of fire alarm activation during my stay and as my room was overlooking the ( main ish) road, the quality of sleep wasn't great. My room was fairly small but the bed was comfortable. I'd probably stay again.

Room Tip: Not overlooking the road or near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseystephen, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Londonsiouxie

Thank you for your review.

We are so sorry the fire alarms went off last Monday Night and interrupted your sleep . This was a very unfortunate incident caused by a fault in the system which was rectified by an engineer from G4S the following day.

I'm sure similar occurrences happen at all hotels now and again as It has happened to me a number of times when I have been away.

Having said that this incident was so upsetting for so many and we really appreciate your understanding - Thank you!

I note your comment about room size, however you did book a superior single room. Hopefully you will stay with us again and if you would like a larger room may I suggest a double for sole occupancy which will be larger

I am surprised you felt our menu is "predictable" and I'm really not sure how you can say this.

Yes we do have the favourites which I believe are cooked to perfection and beautifully presented by a very talented team of chefs plus our menus include many different offerings such as:

Chilli and Ginger Beef
Mediterranean Mezze Plate
Local Scallops
Grouville Oysters
Espetadas (From Madeira, skewers of different meats and fish)
Sizzlers
Daily specials board with catch of the day
plus a choice of vegetarian and healthy options and extras such as whole grain rice pasta/rice and Quinoa

Our food offering is one of the best you will find in Jersey and our menus are available on our website.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and please don't hesitate in calling us direct so that we can discuss your room preference with you.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while on business, looked forward to my stay based on reviews. Room was small but expected that as I had only booked a single. It was on the first floor above the smoking area and next to the main road so was a little noisy at times and had the aroma of cigarette smoke rising up to my window which wasnt too nice, needed the window open as it was a warm evening so would have been roasting otherwise.

Overall service levels were good apart from the receptionist who needs to learn to smile and look a little more interested in the hotel customers, Other staff were helpful and polite.

Breakfast was good with a nice selection of cooked and cold options.

Bar and dinning areas were smart and modern some other areas looked a little more worn in places.

Overall perfectly adequate and good value but would look elsewhere if staying longer next time .

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseystephen, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Matt G

Thank you for your review.

I note your comment about your room being over our smoking area. I must point out that apart from a small smoking area on our outdoor patio the whole of THE INN is non smoking and if you had of pointed out to us that this was troubling you we would have done out best to move you to another room.

As you will see from the vast majority of other reviews our staff are always being complimented about their friendly service. Our receptionists Jackie, Ana-Maria and Carmelia are normally three happy individuals and I can assure you that their number one priority is our guests. I am therefore very sorry if you felt on this occasion one of them did not reach our normal high standards of service.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were booked by Flightcentre. Location: good if you like walking. No view from bedrooms.
No restaurants in the proximity. Excellent staff, friendly and professional. Nice atmosphere in the small public area/bar ( few locals and business residents), unfortunately you don't feel you are in Jersey..... Intelligent menu and good food... chef should cook " a la minute " to ensure that food arrives warm on the table. Breakfast always a pleasure ( Purple wallpaper a little somber).
We had the impression the the General Manageress ( Hotel has less than 40 rooms!) avoids guests.

Room Tip: ask for a room with black-out curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseystephen, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Marcello G

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was a bit concerned about your "a la Minute" comment as all our dishes are cooked to order and if you have had an issue in our restaurant I would be grateful if you would email me Stephen@theinnjersey.com with details.

We note your comment about our General Manager who is currently on holiday. Lynne's number one priority is her guests, however in a modern hotel and restaurant with the demands put upon us a lot of work goes on behind the scenes to make sure your experience is what it should be. Lynne tries to spend us much time as possible front of house and would in an ideal world like to spend more and I can assure you that if you or any of our guests requested to see her or one of our management team, then you would.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed there 24th May to 28th May. Easy to find from the airport using a hired car. Can't compare it to other hotels in St Helier as this was our first visit to the island. Our room was a bit on the small side (301) but was clean and had everything we needed, and again you get what you pay for, so no complaints. We could have upgraded had we wished.
There was a bit of road noise in the morning, but Queens Road is quite a busy thoroughfare, but nothing outrageous. The staff are very helpful in all departments. The gentleman in charge of the restaurant and probably other areas deserves a special mention as does Ana in reception,who were both excellent.
The quality of the breakfast from the healthy options to the full English (maybe less than healthy) is first class. We didn't actually eat any evening meals there but heard several people recommend it. There is very little to fault this hotel. The car park facility is regrettably not as good as one might hope for, but you can abandon your car, give the keys to reception, and they will move it if you happen to box someone in. If I did have a concern at all it would be the outside décor of the hotel.
Purple is just not my thing, but hey does it matter? 9 out of 10 to the Inn. Well done guys!

Room Tip: Can't help you there as we only saw our room, but if you only want somewhere clean and quiet to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseystephen, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi JKSLV

Thanks for your great review.

I'm pleased you liked room 301. Although it is not one of our largest it is one of may favourites as I find it dead cosy!

As I have said previously, although we would like a larger car park, unlike many St Helier Hotels we have one and it's FREE and with the cooperation of our guests as you have pointed out we are able to park car for our guests in our main car park or some extra spaces we have.

Sorry you didn't like our purple. We will be painting the outside next year and we might change the colour but not sure yet - any suggestions?

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for a short break and found the location to be ideal for walking into st hellior and to drive out of the town.

Nice food and friendly staff but car park very tight.

This proved a nuisance as when going out to meet friends in the evening we were jammed in the car park and made late for our meal due to some selfish driver who did not hand his car keys to the concierge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseystephen, Owner at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Bearadviser

Thank you for your review, which I am pleased to read that overall you had a good stay.

I am sorry you had an issue with your parking one night.

St Helier is a busy town and parking can be difficult. Fortunately we do have a car park (many St Helier Hotels don't) which is Free. It would be true to say that we would like a larger one but with the co-operation of our guests we do have sufficient spaces, unfortunately as you say someone did not leave their keys with us which caused your problem, this i can assure you rarely happens!

I do hope we were able to sort this out as quickly as possible and it did not spoil your evening too much.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and fabulous restaurant. Superior room was really nice and the bathroom had a fabulous shower and lovely products. Breakfast was amazing, and the bed was very comfortable. The only down side would have to be that the rooms weren't sound proofed. Every noise from the room above could be heard, this included drawers being opened and closed and the toilet flushing. I'm not one to complain, as there was nothing that could have been done to avoid the noises, apart from perhaps a top floor room.Apart from that everything was great :-)

Room Tip: Top floor would help to avoid hearing the noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Address: Queens Road, St. Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including recently remodelled suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, The White Company toiletries and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, games room with Wii and 3D TV, outside smoking terrace and car parking facilities.THE INN also has a calm contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN.THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the third year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN also recently won the Jersey Enterprise Medium Business Award rewarding passion and success within the Island community.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! We ask future guests to note that we situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at busy times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.