We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Yummy Fish!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seymour Inn

The Seymour Inn
La Rue du Puits Mahaut, St. Helier
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: English, Portuguese, Seafood, British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy Fish!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Found this on the Visitor Map and decided it was a must for Oysters!

4 different ways with Oysters and 2 different sizes means there is something for everyone - and for those of you who think Oysters are slimy, have them deep fried - you'll never regret it!!

I followed up with Frito Misto - just to really do fried fish overload - but that was superb. My friend had grilled salmon in sauce and it looked very appetizing indeed!

We turned up without a reservation and were found a table, but we did arrive on a Sunday (incidentally, they serve Sunday Lunch from Noon to 8pm for those of you having a lazy day!) I would urge you to reserve a table to avoid disappointment.

The waiting staff were attentive, the food fantastic and all around, I very much enjoyed this little stopover.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Seymour Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Ambersam

Thanks for your great review and I am so pleased you enjoyed hospitality and great food at the Seymour Inn.

It's worth mentioning that you can actually see the oysters you are eating growing opposite.

Not many can say that!

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

very varied menu, catered for my gluten free meal, portions were
generous, recommended well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Seymour Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Brianh

Thanks for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed The Seymour and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Need To Update Their Sign!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Went in for a quick sandwich at just before 2pm ... The sign on the side of the pub said that lunch was served until 2.15pm and we saw that food was still leaving the kitchen. Was told that we could not be served any food at all.

It must be nice to be making so much money that people can be turned away!

So have no idea whether the food is any good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Seymour Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi Donkeykeeper

I am sorry you didn’t get your sandwiches when you came into the Seymour recently.

We have been replacing equipment in our kitchen the last couple of weeks, this has meant on some days when plumbing/electrical work needs carrying out we can not take last orders after 1400 otherwise there would be a possibility that we would not have enough time to clean and prepare for evening service,

I am sorry if this was not explained to you.

There are normally two sides to every story and I hope your rather severe low score/review will not deter others from visiting us, meeting our friendly team and eating some great food.

We do get very busy at times, so to avoid anyone else being disappointed can I suggest making a reservation on 01534 854558.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Waited and age and then it really was not worth it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went with extended family for lunch.
The first room filled with smoke from the kitchen due to appalling ventilation in the kitchen so we had to move.
We ordered and were informed there would be a short wait but it took nearly an hour to get our meal!
When the food arrived it was average at best and hardly worth the wait.
The pub is in a lovely spot and staff are reasonably pleasant but it will have to improve a lot in order for me to return

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenclipp, Owner at The Seymour Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Trinity Bob
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your recent meal with us.

First of all, yes you were right about the ventilation. Unfortunately we had a problem with the extraction system when you were there and it had to be turned off.

I don’t know if this was explained to you and I am sorry for the inconvenience of moving tables.

I am also sorry you felt your food was "average". Obviously I don't know what you ordered and why you feel this without more detail. I can assure you however that general feedback could not be more different and we wouldn’t have customers returning at the rate they do if your experience or opinion was the norm.

Finally, I think your comments regarding the wait are just a tad unfair! You were told that there would be a delay due to the fact the kitchen was busy and that is exactly what happened.

All our food is freshly cooked to order and my chefs cannot cook it any quicker than they do and offer the selection and quality we are known for.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, lots of choice, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely meal, prompt service (even thought they were very busy!), reasonable cost.
Parking, reservations accepted and beach opposite - perfect!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seymour Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Seymour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seymour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.