We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but really no more comfortable than a Premier Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but really no more comfortable than a Premier Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

A nice hotel from the outside, but dull and impersonal inside. Despite being a 'business' hotel there's no iron or trouser press in the room, the matress is not at all comfortable, the TV is tiny, the decor cheap (hate an uncovered divan), but the pillows are ok. Would not chose to stay here for pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    235
    80
    31
    8
See reviews for
100
291
48
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

As a number of previous reviewers attest, this hotel is clean, spacious,well run, with great amenities. We stayed in the balcony rooms which are well worth it. Spa was very relaxing and all the hotel staff are extremely polite and professional. Whenever we return to Jersey (at which time we will hopefully see some sun) we will not bother looking for any other hotels - the De France really is that good. And no,we are not affiliated to the Hotel in anyway way - we ar just a very satisfied, average punter.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

For a relaxing holiday this hotel is just about perfect. The gym, spa and choice of restaurants were fantastic. Best of all though were the staff. Every member of staff we encountered went out of their way to help and advise us in making the most of our short break. It is rare nowadays to find staff who seem so happy at work and who genuinely seem to care that you enjoy your stay. We especially loved the breakfasts and the wine tasting(free to residents) and very informative.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

From the moment we entered the reception area we were impressed.
Check in was quick. We were taken to our room which was spacious and well appointed with the w/c separate from the bathroom.
The public areas were varied with separate sitting areas inside and out.
The pool/gym complex was excellent and again very spacious.
Breakfast was a feast with hot and cold buffet and even with just 15 minutes left to closing the chef's were still ensuring there was plenty to pick from.
The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the town centre but we didn't find this a problem but for those that did there was a free courtesy bus.
We would recommend this hotel and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The best thing about Hotel de France is the swimming pool. There is a suite of indoor pools in a modern extension, beautifully warm and surprisingly under-used when we were there. We swam every morning before breakfast and used the jacuzi and sauna.

On arrival we were allocated a room with no view. When we asked for another room, the staff were very helpful, showing us two alternative rooms (one large room in the new wing at an extra £50/night and one smaller attic room with a great view). We chose the attic room. The bed was a small double and fairly comfortable; the room and bathroom (with bath and shower) were freshly decorated. Breakfast was a buffet with large selection.

The hotel is 15-20mins walk from the bus station or there is a free shuttle provided by the hotel every 2 hours. Jersey buses are a great way to get around; the green, red, blue and yellow explorer buses stop at all the main tourist sites as well as providing convenient drop-off and pick-up points for walks on the scenic North coast.

We ate in the hotel one night - it was okay but rather expensive. We'd recommend the Bastile bar and pizza restaurant in town (excellent, freshly-made pizzas and reasonably priced). Another evening, we had a wonderful meal out at the Chateau La Chaire in Rozel. This is a magnificent, characterful, old house up on a hill overlooking the bay. It was expensive @ £40 each, but worth it for a one-off special occasion. They also do excellent morning coffee with homemade shortbread for £3.50. It's worth the climb up from the bay just to take a look at the building.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel since I was an infant and I am now 22. I'd class it as my favourite hotel in Europe and I've been fortunate enough to stay at the Ritz in Paris. Now, don't get me wrong, it's nowhere near as extravagant as the Ritz, but it's simply fantastic. Perhaps it's because of all the nostalgia I've built up over the years and love returning to see the winding staircase in the main reception, the familiar smell in the corridor and the beautiful gardens.

This time I took my mum to the hotel on a spa break as a treat for her birthday. We visited at the beginning of July and so the hotel was very quiet and peaceful with only a few business travelers staying there. We had lovely weather while we were there so took up the opportunity to sunbathe in the beautifully manicured gardens and eat lunch and sip cocktails on the terrace.

Our room was bright, clean and spacious. We were able to access free Wi-Fi from our room and also tea & coffee making facilities. Plenty of storage space in the room. Lovely view from room down to St Helier (see photos).

Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. I don't usually eat much at breakfast, but I really can't help myself when staying at the de France! There is so much choice and it's all so delicious!

The town centre is really close-by. Only a 10-15 minute walk along the cutesy little streets, however the hotel also offers a complementary shuttle service into town at selected times.

One of the most amazing parts of the hotel which you MUST visit is the Ayush Wellness Spa. So relaxing and peaceful there. The massage treatments are out of this world and the whole atmosphere is wonderful. Also be sure to spend time around the pool area. The temperature around the pool is delightful, it's so warm you could easily fall asleep on one of the lounger chairs.

I adore this hotel and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

A good four star hotel with excellent spa facilities. Food excellent with excellent choice. only one thing that could have been improved was the evening meal service was very slow. Room spacious and clean with excellent views. Staff very helpful and Ronald at the front desk was helpful and clearly enjoyed his job.Plenty of tea and coffee in the room. We had an excellent room service at 530am before an early flight. Would recommend this hotel for a restful and relaxing stay in Jersey

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.