We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel but make sure this is the location you require” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
kent
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but make sure this is the location you require”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found all the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and showed a genuine interest in ensuring we enjoyed our 4 night stay. The Hotel is of a very high standard and you can see that a great deal of attention has gone into everything.
The Spa facility with its swimming pool, gym and all its other facilities is superb. One of the very best we have ever come across in any hotel. Nothing has been scrimped and it is a real credit to its designers and builders. It is very large but does spoil the views from the first floor spa rooms.
The Spa Rooms are again excellent, very modern and may not suit everyone, but we really liked these. The bathroom again is huge with a superb walk in shower and one of the deepest baths we have seen. A safety rail here would be advisable for elderly people using the bath.
A fully opening glass window and glass doors leading to the balcony makes the room very comfortable, and we had no problem with this, and enjoyed the balcony.
On arrival we had been allocated Room 118 on the first floor but we turned this down as it was in the corner and had a very poor outlook. We then were offered Room 112 but this had the Spa Roof right in front of it and gave an even poorer outlook. The Hotel only had one room available on the higher floor No. 214 but the aircon in this room was broken, but we were not bothered and agreed to have this room. We did not regret this at all as we were quite happy to sleep with the window open. Overall the quality of this room and the bed comfort exceptionally good.
Breakfast again excellent with good choice and quality. The staff again very efficient and friendly giving good personal service.
The Aroma cafe again gave us all we required and has a sensible and good menu choices.
So overall an excellent hotel, but if you have not been to Jersey before and are coming here for a holiday make sure this is the location you require. We had a hire car and toured the island so the location was very good for us, but if you are here for a beach holiday then a Beach Hotel such as those at Brelade may suit you better.
We were not impressed with St Helier itself. Ok for one visit but that was all. We much preferred other parts of the island and its good for driving around, providing you have a small car and don't mind narrow lanes. Plenty to see and do.
The Hotel gardens are on the small size but pleasant and the terraces by the cafe very good, providing you have the right weather.
We would certainly use this hotel again if we wanted to stop at this location

Room Tip: The Hotel rooms do vary a lot. We had booked a Spa Room which is in the new part of the hotel and ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    234
    80
    31
    8
See reviews for
100
290
48
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the moment we pulled up in the car to the minute we vacated, It was just a great experience,the hotel staff were fantastic, everything is catered for, our room was spotless with a great view over St Helier, on my wifes birthday we ate in the Saffron alacarte restaurant which was impecable, never have we eaten such good Indian/style food. The Spa was out of this world and available to all residents.
Can not reccommend this hotel enough.

Going to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Based on the recommendations here, we decided to try the tasting menu at Saffron and we were not disappointed. From the delightful amuse bouche at the start, to the wine flight and the chocolate, ice cream and rice crispy cake pudding, the dishes were original, fresh and absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked this hotel/package through Secret Escapes and were 100% satisfied with everything.
The hotel is better than any we have stayed in in the UK. Although it is a large hotel the service and facilities are truly 4*. The breakfasts and evening meals are excellent, staff helpful and friendly, rooms very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a short walk in to town (10 mins max) car parking is easy and grounds lovely to sit in and sunbathe or just relax. The spa was also worth a visit.
A very enjoyable break and Jersey is fab!

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room - stunning views out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked through 'Secret Escapes' after another break fell through. Hotel is really excellent although some distance from the town centre. Reception staff were cheerful & friendly. The room was a good size, very clean. We used the restaurants in the hotel & they were both excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Steep hill from town a 20 min walk. Too far for us so £6 taxi fare each way. Would book a hotel nearer civilisation next time. No minibar and hair dryer needed an upgrade. Television tiny! Reception staff could be better informed would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice hotel indeed. Stayed here for 2 nights, although the reason for visiting Jersey was to attend the funeral of a very dear relative. The hotel itself is impressive, very big, but not impersonal. The rooms clean and comfortable if quite basic. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

The health spar was great, with a nice pool, sauna and an excellent steam room

The location is not ideal, being a bit of a stroll to the town centre and on a slope, so would not be great for young children or the disabled. However, there is ample car parking here.

I would recommend and certainly stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: St Saviours Road, St. Helier JE1 7XP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#12 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France St Helier
De France Hotel Jersey
Hotel De France Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.