We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff, old fashioned style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Revere Hotel to your Saves list
The Revere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff, old fashioned style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Service was perfect - friendly, smiley & helpful on the desk, at the bar in the evening and in the breakfast restaurant.

The hotel itself could do with modernising - it smelt a bit 'musty' and the public spaces were dark & oppresive. Our room (51) was nice in a very shabby chic way, and unfortunately the air vent in our (clean and bright) bathroom seemed to churn out a tobacco smell no matter how much we sprayed perfume to counteract it. We were in a front bedroom and it WAS noisy as other eviewers have warned - an unbelievably busy street for such a small road but it was quiet overnight. Good breakfast - plenty of everything and good quality food.

Easy parking for our hire car just down the street - recommended as St Helier itself is nothing special but the rest of Jersey is perfect. Having said that, only a 10 min walk to the pretty pedestrianised bit of the town, and the cheap accommodation meant we could blow the budget at Ormer Restaurant and totter back....

Overall, this hotel clearly appeals to the older traveller, but we had got it on a good budget deal and I would recommend it on this basis.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for thoughts to bedroom 51, the comment regarding the tobacco smell has been looked into and steps taken to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future.
Our apologies that you found Kennsington Place to be busy during the daytime, however, on a positive note at night you were not disturbed. I can confirm that Kensington Place is a tourist area within St Helier, where 2 hotels, 1 guest house and 7 restaurants are located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    152
    42
    22
    11
See reviews for
47
231
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Revere prides itself on old world charm. Unfortunately however, this could also be interpreted as being tired and out of date. In our room the wall paper was lifting and peeling; the woodwork was heavily marked and chipped and the basin chipped and cracked and lacking a plug. The shower which ran off the mixer tap had a mind and temperatures all its own, at one time freezing and the next scalding. We would also have preferred not to find previous occupants chewing gum stuck on the wall beside the bed!

Having said that the staff were always very attentive, cheerful and couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfast spread was extensive.

We understand that some rooms have been refurbished and as we were on a cheap deal with BA, it is perhaps not surprising that the standard of the room was below par.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your mixed review about our presentation and standards of housekeeping. Our apologies that you found your allocated bedroom and bathroom to be disappointing. Please be assured that we have investigated the points you have raised and the necessary steps have been taken to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future.
On a positve note I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our extensive breakfast and the general level of service was to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights food excellent good value for money staff go out of there way to make you welcome alex very good in restaurant tony very good behind the bar got everyone talking to each other will definitely be going back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Very pleased to hear your positive and encouraging words about Alexandra and Tony. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Revere soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I Have been meaning to write a proper review since we stayed on Easter weekend! Despite it being Easter they managed to fit 10 of us in on a really reasonable rate. I am so glad I booked here as all my friends loved it.
In the run up I had lots of questions and a few changes (as you do in such a big group) two people couldn't come last minute but nothing was ever a problem for Nicky on reservations!
The staff were ALL lovely! On our first night we arrived just as the bar was closing but they got 2 bottles of wine out and some water for us so we could chat downstairs for a bit before going to bed. On the Saturday when we got in I was really hungry and the guy on reception got me some bread and cheese from the kitchen!
The breakfast was huge and everything was there, the staff continually asked us if we needed anything and checked we were done before closing the breakfast (which i've never had before) they were on hand providing unlimited coffee which was brilliant!
The rooms were clean and plenty big enough, with new towels, tea, toiletries etc every day.
Overall - I'd really recommend staying here to anyone! It's right on the edge of town and very near the bus station too which is really handy as the buses are very handy and easy to get around on.
Good one to all the staff - i've worked in tourism in jersey before and it takes a LOT of effort to be that nice all the time!! They deserve a good night out :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Revere Hotel for your group Easter weekend break. So pleased to read your favourable comments about our service and standards which are shared and brought to the attention of dedicated and professional team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A shabby chic hotel, in my opinion relates more to shabby than chic. Hotel would benefit from a deep clean and some repair and maintenance to some of their furniture and fittings. However, their staff and the customer service are second to none. In the restaurant you are made to feel special and totally catered for by Alexandra, Irinia and Flavia, they are the perfect ambassadors for this hotel. Food is excellent and dining and room service was wonderful. Hotel has a fantastic location and although parking is nearby, you constantly need to make sure you keep the tickets up to date. Overall, my last visit to Jersey was 50 years ago and although some attractions no longer there, it is still a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Any room at front of hotel experiences noise from street below. However, perhaps if the double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank for your mixed comments to the presentation, maintenance and cleanliness of the hotel. Our dedicated housekeeping and maintenance team strive to achieve the high standards for which we are known and I regret we failed to live up to expectations on this occasion.
On a positive note I am pleased to hear you found the restaurant experience and service provided by Alexandra and her team to be most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a wonderful experience- My first impressions were wow!The Revere is a beautiful hotel warm and friendly the staff make you feel so welcome are very helpful and polite and I would not hesitate to stay again.Excellent food and facilities.Great location less than 4 walk minutes to Esplanade and only 5 minutes from shopping centre. Would definitely stay here again and recommended it . Beautiful private outdoor pool and sun terrace to relax and chill.

Room Tip: only over three floors so all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for the very positive comments about your recent visit to the Revere. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service form our team, the food, facilities and our central location.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Where do I start with the praise for this hotel. I chose it because it looked "oldy worldy" and perhaps a bit special and I was not dissapointed. The staff were excellent , nothing was too much trouble and they were always cheerful. Our room was amazing, with four poster bed and complimentary champagne as it was our 25th Anniversary. We only ate breakfast but the choice was extensive and the staff only too happy to accomodate your requirements.Only 2 minutes walk from the seafront and 5-10 minutes from the town and more importantly the bus station , it is perfectly placed. We will definately return to Jersey in the future and this is the place we will stay, hopefully we will get to use the pool next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Revere Hotel for your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Very pleased to hear that you found the hotel be an ideal choice for your special occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully when the weather is warm and you can use the swimming pool !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Revere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.