We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull island hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Revere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Revere Hotel to your Saves list
The Revere Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautifull island hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We enjoyed this historic hotel so much, that my 4 year old did not want to go home at all! It is worth all three stars that it has, esspecially due to to the old part of the hotel and great crew. Uncle Tony from the bar was the best, but other individuals were really good as well, during our stay. Some did not seem so interested in the business, but with the owner omboard on Fri, most of it seemed to change.

The hotel restaurant is famous on this island and we tried it. Off season menu was reasonably priced and we enjoyed the first course and dessert. However, you should not expect more than average British dish from the duck or rib eye :(.

However, I must recommend this Place due to the location and quality that we experienced. I wish to send my best regards to Isabell and Tony in particular. Keep up the good work :)......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and specific praise about Tony in the Candlelight Bar. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay on your recent visit to Jersey and the Revere Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    152
    42
    22
    11
See reviews for
47
231
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We came to Jersey to celebrate my wife's birthday.

I want to tread very carefully here as the hotel on the outside is very charming and the staff where very nice about what happened.

Unfortunately the room we was so dirty that we had to leave. My wife was in tears and in shock.

I would never usually do this and hate to leave negative reviews as I try to see the positives on all fronts. I don't like to be that guy.

However...

We where showed up to the room by a kind member of staff who looked around at the bed surprised sniffed and however said nothing.

The room stank of sick and there where sick stains all over the bedding . The floor and bathroom was also filthy.

The British Airways website showed nicer rooms with 4 post beds but the room was totally different old and decrepit. Not sure who's error this was and was not a big issue but this coupled with the severe cleanliness issues we where gutted.

To the managers credit he did come and give us a very heart felt apology.

However after our unpleasant discovery it would have ruined the birthday to stay.

It seemed that the hotel needs some work in some areas and may be struggling.

We where unlucky this time and I hope them every success for the future.



Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I regret you decided to check out without experiencing our high standards of hospitality and food. It is most unfortunate you felt the original bedroom allocated was not to your liking and you declined my offer of alternative accommodation. All our bedrooms and bathrooms are individually decorated, full of character and meet the required 3 star standards of the AA who grade our property.
The hotel has been in the same family owneship for over 60 years and the property enjoys a large volume of new and repeat business each year, including many from British Airways Holidays.
Four poster bedrooms carry a supplement charge and are featured with all our tour operators including British Airways as a superior catergory.
Please be assured that your negative comments regarding the unpleasant smell and cleanliness have been reviewed with the housekeeping team. We do not receive comments of this nature and I offer my sincere apologies for the poor impression you have received of the hotel on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
le pellerin france
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

we booked on line because the hotel was listed as british atmosphere which
was true
we especially appreciate our breakfast there as the welcome we received from
irina and flavia

otherwise the room was perfectly described as a british spirit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank your for your positive comments regarding the hospitality you received on your recent visit to the Revere.
It is always encouraging to receive remarks of this nature and I know Flavia and Irina will be very pleased to have received a personal comment.
I hope we will have the opportuinty of welcoming you back to the Revere Group very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challans, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have just spent our first wedding anniversary at the Revere Hotel, and could not have had a more perfect weekend.

The hotel is wonderful - full of nooks and crannies, character and charm. Our bedroom (no. 44) was gorgeous, and well worth the four flights of stairs!!

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, very professional, and ready to help with any issue.

The breakfast buffet was extremely good, with a large selection for a lovely full English breakfast (much appreciated by my French husband!)

The meal in the Candlelight Restaurant the saturday night was very good, and as we were warned in advance that there were several groups enjoying their Christmas parties that night, we were able to be seated early and served without delay. We were also able to 'gate-crash' the disco put on for the Christmas groups, which was great fun.

We loved the 'old english' atmosphere of this hotel, and the attention to detail that made our stay so good - all the reception, bar and restuarant staff went out of their way to wish us a Happy Wedding Anniversary (the bar staff even made sure that the DJ played us a speical song on the saturday night!).

We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone at the Revere Hotel for making our weekend so memorable, we will most definitely return, and we wish you all a very Happy Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Group General Manager at The Revere Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food, hospitality and old world charm for which the Revere Hotel is known. It is very encouraging when we receive comments of this nature, thank you. I hope we will have the opportuinty of welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Revere Hotel for 2 days in July and we absolutely loved it! It was lovely to stay somewhere with charm and character and the staff were very helpful. Ideally positioned for all shops and restaurants and a short walk to the bus station so you can explore Jersey. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, but perfectly acceptable. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you want to escape the blandness of everyday hotel chains.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good location for the beach and the town centre. The rooms are a little small but have everything you need, although they could do with redecorating. The winner of this place is the service, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is also tasty.

Room Tip: We were staying on the third floor, I don't know if there is a variety in the rooms on other flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friend and I spent a lovely few days at The Revere. The rooms were clean and comfortable with pleasant decor. There was plenty of hot water day and night in the bathroom. The rooms downstairs were cozy and interesting and the staff were helpful and pleasant.

There was a party taking place on the Saturday night which had loud music but it stopped immediately at 12. The WIFI was a bit temperamental but coming from Dorset I am used to that!

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Revere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Revere Hotel

Address: Kensington Place, St. Helier JE2 3PA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#16 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Revere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching house and family owned, the Revere Hotel is St Helier's most authentic and charming boutique hotel with decor that is rich in olde worlde ambience and character. The team at the Revere is focused on affording a sincere warm and welcoming service that has distinguished the organisation through the years. The Revere is situated in close proximity to the town centre, the financial district, the marina and the beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Revere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Revere Hotel St Helier
Revere St Helier
The Revere Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Revere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.