We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gio's Restaurant - CLOSED

Gio's Restaurant
58 Halkett Place, St. Helier
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Glasgow
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Classic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I ate here on a quiet Tuesday night. the restaurant was quiet .It was a nicely old fashioned and traditional Italian restaurant that looked as though it has been there for years ( red checked table cloths and dark wood ) This set a nice and comforting atmosphere. The menu was good quality and upmarket Italian. The range and ingredients used were impressive. It took a while and a few changed decisions to choose what to eat as so much sounded good. I had the rack of lamb with rosemary and it was cooked to perfection. My pal had the scottish steak in a prawn and mushroom sauce and she cleared the plate. The service was classic as well. Top rate food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
seaford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not quite there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We visited Gio's during a short break in St. Helier. We were first attracted to the restaurant as it was very busy (always a good sign). We were told that they had no tables and advised to come back in 40 minutes, despite there being empty tables, which were still empty when we came back (it was quite a chilly evening and we had to kill time by just walking around in circles!!). My partner is a chef and was disappointed that the accompanying spinach with his otherwise excellent fish was of the frozen variety. Also, given the price of the mains it would be nice if veg/salad was included and not charged seperately. My apple pie dessert was very nice, but would have been ruined had I accepted the offer to have it warmed through in the microwave. Overall, a nice meal, but sadly lacking in the finer details.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Italian Restaurant with a great variety of traditional dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Slightly old fashioned but in a nice way,Large variety of fish and meat dishes in addition to the main menus. . Smooth unhurried service from staff that have been there for years. Well patronised by the local business community, Not cheap but a very reliable place to take clients and family for occasions. Try the fresh raspberries with Zabaglione sauce.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Revisiting Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our 50th Wedding Anniversary and just stumbled upon Gio's and we were surprised and delighted with the quality of the food and the service we received,the chef is a great personality.We may go back soon to enjoy their wonderful ambiance.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very welcoming, discreetly attentive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This proved to be a real find on a recent Jersey break. Plenty of choice, and the food was excellent. Beautifully presented, cooked to perfection, and plentiful. The manager was genuinely interested in our requirements, and his staff attended to our needs unobtrusively.
We were so impressed we went again the following evening, and were not disappointed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Restaurant also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gio's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.