We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a long weekend break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountview to your Saves list
Mountview
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. John's Road, St. Helier JE2 3LD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for a long weekend break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I took my girlfriend for a long weekend break to Jersey at the end of April and stayed at Mountview on a friends reccomendation. The location was perfect, right next to the town and the hotel itself was well decorated and clean. The staff were very friendly and along with the lovely weather we luckily got that weekend it made for perfect get away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    58
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
19
53
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Down
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 9 days and was together with my wife for the first half. Looking back really pleased with it and I probably stayed longer than most people visiting Jersey these days so it was a good test. Being honest the fact that we had the best Jersey April weather since the 1800's may have influenced a little our feel-good factor. But the following is true:- All the people involved in the running - owners/staff - had a lovely attitude. Friendly, efficient, calm and humorous. Distance was fine for us - up a slight hill but well within stroll distance of the whole town, with sweetie shops and wine shops close-by for those night time snacks. Very impressed with our room - large, clean, comfortable and better than many of a 4star international brand. However at the back of the hotel in the annex the corridor was narrow, dark and unattractive - with that damp smell that has been mentioned by others. Windows being open helped. Plenty of variation available for breakie and well cooked with the 'hottest plates' ever and toast and tea on tap!! ps we loved the doggies. Our's would have had a great time with them. Will be recommending and one or both of our son's could be going quite soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at the Mountview hotel 11th feb till mon 14th feb i r my friends cudn fault it they wer 100% 1st class. The staff wer very friendly an so was Bailey we really had an enjoyable stay thanks mountview.We r visiting Jersey in the summer an we r definately bookin into the mountview..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We travelled from Mauritius, Ireland and London to meet up again for a girls holiday. Marie and her assistant from start to finish were wonderful the hotel was fresh and clean and breakfast was fab. We recommend this hotel for its friendliness and its location wonderful!
Oh and if you're like me and love pets its pet friendly now thats a big plus for Jersey!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Made very welcome when we arrived.Given wrong room,change over next day the staff moved all our luggage for us.Rooms very light and airy.Plenty fresh towels and bed change twice in one week.Very near to town centre.We had room15 it had a balcony which was big looking over the town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We were only there for a week, break. First impressions were fine. Stayed in room 35, which was up two floors, and the further you traveled away from the main door, the smell got worse. Could not decide if it was damp or an air conditioning smell. Which we saw neither. All windows were left open, to keep it down. The bedroom carpet, was quite badly marked, and dirty looking. On entering the bathroom, I was disgusted, around the handles of the bath, and the over spill drain, was dirty. There was enough hair down the bath drain, to choke it, I took it out and flushed it down the toilet. Disgusting. Although the windows seemed to be quite new, mold and dirt was bad. The toilet was badly in need of some bleach, did not feel I could complain, as no one else seemed bothered. They only wipe around your setting on the breakfast tables. All the second stair case creeked. The mattress on our bed was that bad, we had to have baths every morning, as our backs were so sore. Every morning we were wakened with the person above walking around at 6am. Surely someone else has been there, and found the same things wrong. We could not have the only bad room in this hotel. The B & B was well served, and everything required, although over cooked every day. We could have had two weeks in Greece for less than a week cost in Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed four nights and were very pleased. The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was basic bit large enough, clean and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent with a good variety. Free WIFI in the room was great.

Location was really good, just a short walk into town where there are some excellent restaurants, particularly recommend the Inn.

Downsides.... perhaps a little drab in places, outside could do with smartening up, but that's it.

Overall a good hotel for those on a budget and we would certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview

Address: St. John's Road, St. Helier JE2 3LD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel St. Helier
Mountview St Helier
Mountview Hotel Jersey
Mountview Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.