We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives and negatives” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pomme d'Or Hotel to your Saves list
Pomme d'Or Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT RECEIVE 50GBP
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Some positives and negatives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Pomme D'Or for a week in August.

The reception staff were very nice and helped us get oriented on arrival.

The room was on the fifth floor and looked out over some adjacent buildings meaning there wasn't a view. It was of a fair size, clean and tidy with a decent tv and a comfortable bed. It was unremarkable and, as such, a bit disappointing.

The bathroom was nice but I wasn't very impressed with the shower which was hard to judge the temperature and had varying pressure.

The weather was very hot and the air conditioning was essential given the inability to open the windows anything other than a crack and the noise from the street below. There was, effectively, quadruple glazing in the main room which meant that noise was not a problem with the windows shut. The air conditioning worked well but was periodically noisy.

We were staying bed and breakfast and the breakfasts were good, with the majority of staff efficient. Most of the staff seemed friendly and made an effort to engage with the guests. The food was of a high standard with a good cooked breakfast buffet option, good range of fruit juices and some delicious (in my view) waffles (of the gauffre variety rather than potato!) I was a bit more picky with the cereal and I'd have liked to see something like Special K in addition to corn flakes, bran flakes, weetabix, all bran.

You get to use The Merton hotel's gym and swimming facilities which we did on a few occasions. It is a good 15 minute walk and (although it shouldn't have) this did make it much less convenient. The gym is good which most of the equipment you might expect, it is a very small gym but didn't get too busy at any time we were using it. The swimming pools are more for playing in than swimming in with gardens outside to sunbathe. There is a good steam room and sauna which we were able to make use of.

The location in St Helier is very convenient for the bus station and shops. We found St Helier to be surprisingly busy in terms of traffic and probably wouldn't stay there again. There are a good variety of excellent restaurants, shops, easy transport links to the whole island and a cinema however. We hired bikes from St Aubin and managed to just about cover the whole island. If we were to come again we would probably look to stay somewhere quieter (St Aubin or St John perhaps)

Overall the Pomme D'Or was good but expensive. The advantages of the central St Helier location didn't outweigh the disadvantages for us.

Room Tip: I suspect the best rooms overlooking the harbour are the most costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    278
    67
    10
    8
See reviews for
97
420
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here recently for eight nights. We had a lovely stay everyone was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and we had a view of the harbour from our room. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

as soon as you enter the hotel you are made to feel very welcome, the hotel room, a twin room on the 3rd floor was excellent over looking the the harbour and liberation square, the breakfast was very good, all the staff were very polite and friendly, a great hotel to stay at, very close to all that you want to do, bus station, trips, etc., would stay here again.

Room Tip: twin room on the 3rd floor, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire - England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Situated right on liberation square in the middle of St Helier

Lobby and reception area looks very nice but rooms were not what I would call 4*

Simple and always clean but rather tired and basic, views from room 427 were poor and overlooking a bar that stays open very late.

Staff very polite and helpful, breakfast was very good with nice views over the square from dining room.

Room Tip: If you have a 4th floor room check your view and what you are overlooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with a brilliant location right in the heart of St. Hellier. I had wanted to stay in this hotel for many years (worked in Jersey when I was a student) and was delighted to finally get the opportunity to do so. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite, with special thanks to Stefan at reception and all the cheery breakfast staff. Our room was comfortable, clean and quiet with everything we needed - no view but we knew that when we booked our standard room. The food was of a very high standard and we enjoyed a fine and tasty selection at breakfast. The hotel is close to the bus station, the taxi rank, ferry terminal, shops and restaurants. The airport bus drops you yards from the hotel main entrance. Although the Pomme d'Or does not have a pool or gymm, guests are welcome to use the facilities at the Merton hotel, which we did - they had everything we were looking for, swimming and sunbathing! I would go back to Jersey tomorrow, if I could, and will defintely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, the standard room was basic, think a more luxurious room would of made it better. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was great , everything you could possibly want. I think the hotel after floor 1, needs redecorating, as the carpet and wallpaper changes from the posh decor of the reception and breakfast room. All this aside we had a very enjoyable stay and would return. On our last day( at breakfast), we had a very nice table for two overlooking the Marina , it was a perfect end to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Pomme D'ore provided an ideal base for a short business trip.

Ideally located on Liberation Square, perfect for exploring beautiful St Hellier.

The hotel reception was efficient and polite.

Breakfast was superb with catering of excellent quality.

The room was adequate but not luxurious .... Still representing good value for money.

Would recommend for any business traveller stopping over in beautiful Jersey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomme d'Or Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.