We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pomme d'Or Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pomme d'Or Hotel to your Saves list
Pomme d'Or Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT RECEIVE 50GBP
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
birmingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunny service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ideally situated, well established and with a happy, friendly staff the Pomme D'or is a little gem in St Helier. The general ambience, comfort and standard of rooms were excellent. The food was good standard hotel fare apart from the Friday night seafood buffet which was exceptional value. Certainly a hotel I would recommend and to which I'd make a return visit. Only slight niggle being the rather tired decor in the corridors.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy in some rooms - opt for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    278
    67
    10
    8
See reviews for
97
420
30
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel on many occasions (easily 20+) and each time I think the service is excellent. Managed this time to get a cheap upgrade, plus choccies plus flowers and some champers. They really go out of their way to impress. I agree with previous comments re the decor but that is really only in the corridors and on the stairwells - the rest of the hotel is modern and up to date. Can't fault the staff, or the food, but be warned that there is a taxi rank just around the corner and the Friday / Saturday nights can be noisy with drunken screaming girls. Not a fault of the hotel of course - but if you can get an inward facing room then go for it. The next time I go to Jersey, I will of course, stay once more at the Pomme. The Royal Yacht over the square looks OK but I much prefer the service at the Pomme.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The entrance and downstairs areas look nice but when you go upstairs the hallways and bedroom decor are rather dated. The (executive) room was a nice size and was cleaned and tidied daily, but we had an outside room which was very noisy at night, even with secondary double glazing, so ask for an inside room if you are not a partygoer who plans to stay out until the early hours!. The staff were excellent, as was the daily breafast included in the price. All-in-all £80ish per night was good value as the location is fantastically central and across the road from the bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 10:30am and our rooms were available so we were allowed to check in immediately which was very welcomed after an early start.

During checkin the staff provided all the information required, very welcoming and friendly.

On arrival day, we received a phone call to the room to ask if we were happy.

Every time we left or returned the front desk staff greeted us or wished us a nice day.

Breakfast service is excellent and plentiful. The food quality is excellent. With daylight saving causing an oversleep, we were still allowed to have breakfast.

Having learned about the role the hotel played in WW2 it would be nice if there was an exhibition in the hotel lobby.

The rooms are comfortable of a nice size. An addition of a mini fridge and complementary water would be a welcome addition. The bathrooms have a strong powerful shower although a decorative uplift would be welcome.

If I were to visit the island again, which I doubt, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here by default due to a mix up with our booking so this wouldn't have been our hotel of choice however despite that we were pleased with the excellent location and the friendly service.
The hotel itself is not our style it's quite dated in parts and most rooms haven't been refurbished in some time. The rooms are fine ie the bed very comfortable and it's very clean but the views can be poor and the hairdryer is next to useless, the showers have seen better days etc.
The public areas lack any chararcter and ambience and the restaurants are not as good as making the effort to eat out elsewhere. The breakfast spread however is very good.
The clientele was mixed but it felt as if this was more of a hotel for an older customer. It's a shame as the location is excellent but it falls short of competitors near by.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last weekend for my wife's 40th birthday, a surprise birthday cake greeted us as we entered the door to the apartment! We were blown away with the central location and easy access to all the main bars, restaurants and shopping that St Helier offers. The hotel's breakfasts are more than you could shake a big stick at... full English, continental, whatever you fancied, in a beautiful room overlooking the harbour, just the thing to soak up the night before and get the new day started. The staff are extremely warm and helpful and we were even able to get a drink from the night porter at two in the morning with no trouble at all. We travelled from the airport, deciding to take the bus (no15) enabling us to have a glimpse of the island, great views for £1.70 each! Leaving the hotel on sunday morning, we were able to leave our bags in a secure room and have a last mooch round before it was time to leave for the airport. All in all a fantastic weekend, we will definitely be back when we can sort out another weekend babysitter.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Like most reviewers I agree that Pomme d'Or is in a great location in the middle of St Helier and all the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. Due to an early flight we arrived late morning and were grateful to be able to check in early as the room was ready. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size and had all the facilities usually expected. Wifi was easily accessible within all areas of the hotel.

Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold foods, with good views over the harbour in the dining area.

Overall the hotel was lovely, we really enjoyed our stay here. Also the hotel has an interesting history, it was a shame more information was not provided? Would highly recommend the Pomme d'Or.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pomme d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomme d'Or Hotel

Address: Liberation Square, St. Helier JE1 3UF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Business Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pomme d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of St. Helier, overlooking Liberation Square and the yacht marina, the Pomme d'Or has been a centre for business and pleasure for more than 175 years. Today the hotel combines its strong tradition of guest hospitality and care with a contemporary, metropolitan design which is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pomme d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomme D'Or Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Pomme Dor Jersey
Hotel Pomme d Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomme d'Or Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.