We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed once again!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Waterloo Street, St. Helier JE2 3PA
01534 870940
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Very disappointed once again!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got a takeaway last night and was very disappointed, the Garlic chilli chicken and chicken jalfrazi tasted the same very oily and thick brown, this is the second time we have had this, we did phone before when this happened but the Manager did not call us back, we won't be back. It's a shame because we have alway enjoyed eating in and takeaways here. I would not recommend to anyone anymore.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    32
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Down a back street, near the market - Waterloo St. Doesn't look much from outside, but has room for 32 covers. Great service and food, would recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St helier
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had a takeaway from tamarind last night. Chutneys were lovely as were the pappadums. Unfortunately the main course was not nice at all. It was as though there was no fresh garlic and heaps of garlic salt was used instead. Can still taste it this morning. I'm afraid we won't be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Tamarind has recruited Kumar, the best manager/front of house, whatever you want to call it, and he will not work anywhere unless the food is excellent.

I live in Jersey and speak from personal experience.

Mungo Conner

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing staff and food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

2nd visit on Friday night and will be back very soon!! Delish curry and nice wine selection (even had Bew Zealand white -impressed the kiwi in me!!) While the food speaks for itself it's the amazing staff that make this place! They made me a special mini nan as my boyfriend likes plain and I love garlic and they also whipped me up a couple of special cocktails, which were as good as the curry!!! It's like being at a mates house when you go for dinner here, very special and easily one of the best restaurants in St Helier! See you guys soon!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.