We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, great food and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Waterloo Street, St. Helier JE2 3PA
01534 870940
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 169 restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, great food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A family visit to this restaurant proved to be one of the dining highlights of our holiday. The friendliness and efficiency of the service made it a real pleasure while the quality of the food was well up to the mark. By way of example every table had a bottle of free mineral water on it; ice was provided (on a hot evening) without prompting and the teenager in the party was even given a free ice cream dessert. I would recommend anyone who enjoys food from the Indian subcontinent to visit Tamarind while they are in Jersey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    107
    29
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great good and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited here based on reviews on Trip Advisor as we really fancied an Indian whilst visiting Jersey. Would recommend highly. The service was great, we were offered complimentary sparkling or still water and had very friendly waiters. The food was delicious, hot and cooked perfectly and I considered it good value for money. Exactly what we were looking for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Most amazing delivery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just had a takeaway delivered to the Marina. The food arrived piping hot and up to the standard that we have come to expect from the best Indian in Jersey. For those of you who are lucky enough to have a boat we would definately recommend the takeaway service delivered to your boats door. Thanks Jay for those little extras!!! Great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly place, great curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here during our stay - the manager Jay could not have been more friendly, and the same was true of our waiter. Jay treated us like regular favourite customers even though he knew we were on holidays. The food was freshly cooked, really tasty and plentiful. I asked the waiter if I could have something which wasn't shown on the menu & his response was 'of course, you're the customer, you can have what you want!' - now that's what I call service! We don't usually go to curry houses whilst on holidays as we prefer to experience different cuisines - but as we struggled with veggie food in Jersey, decided to go to Tamarind as they had lots of veggie choices, and were very glad we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would give 3 and a half if possible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had takeaway from here twice. The first time was brilliant, thoroughly enjoyed one of the best curries I've had in Jersey, value was good, staff were very friendly etc.

The second time I was a bit disappointed, we ordered the same dishes as last time, however this time they were lacking in something, and one dish had a slightly 'odd' flavour. Quantities were great, staff again were friendly, and I did eat all the food we had.

I'm sure we will order from here again, but we might try somewhere else in the mean time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.