We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Special night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tassili

Tassili
Grand Jersey, Esplanade, St. Helier JE23QA
01534 722301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Grand Jersey’s fine dining restaurant Tassili, offers an exquisite modern British menu, with a decadent Jersey twist. This three Rosette restaurant represents the ultimate in seduction and luxury. Our menus are the platform for the very best of Jersey’s local and seasonal produce, showcased in an opulent setting within an intimate ambiance.
Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing and Special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We went here aspartame of an Easter weekend family joint birthday celebration, and had the Taste Experience Menu. The food was an absolutely fabulous experience, with each dish offering a different taste sensation and being a new approach to many ingredients. The service was first clas - friendly and informed, and it contributed to a thoroughly enjoyable experience - one to remember and repeat. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    24
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fantastic food and friendly and attentive service, would highly recommend. I was particularly impressed with the special fish-only tasting menu option.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Michelin Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent food excellent service.
Novelty web cam watching the 'pass' in the kitchen, interesting to see food plated up.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Glarghhhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

On arrival, we were taken through to the bar and decided to have a glass of champagne while perusing the menu. The choice of tasting menus was excellent (I think there were several) plus an a la carte choice too. My husband and I both opted for the 5 course fish tasting menu. It was a struggle not to eat my own body weight in the fresh bread rolls and sea-weed butter, which were served while we waited for the Amuse Bouche. Each course was beautifully presented and utterly exquisite to taste. I also really enjoyed the deserts - how do these clever chefs come up with a seam of chilled blood orange sorbet inside fluffy war marshmallow?! Delicious and creative. Highly professional staff (100% agree with the comment below - attentive but not intrusive). We fell for the charms of the cheese trolley - I think there had to be around 20 or so to chose from, served with an impressive array of accompaniments and crackers. My personal favourite was the goats cheese with truffle honey. In the words of Homer Simpson....'glargghhhh' - translation: 'drool'. For me, the only very small niggle would have to be the flat screen tv showing a PowerPoint slide show of the kitchen - I just didn't get it - does it normally show a live feed of the kitchen? Even then, I'm still not sure I get it. Just show me the food. And the wine....glarghhhhh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“5 star dining, good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food, excellent service. Attentive but not intrusive. Well worth a visit, £49 for 3 courses, very reasonable. Good selection of wine at a good price.
My only gripe was the cheese trolley was positioned too near our table and smelt strong - I am sure the staff would have moved it if I had asked though.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tassili also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Tassili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tassili, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.