We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Rosa

Bistro Rosa
Beresford Street, St. Helier JE2 4WX
01534 729559
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Mailhac
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have had a week of eating too much rich food at too high a price. What a beautiful change this restaurant was. Beautiful fresh fish, simply presented and beautifully cooked.
Maximum pleasure from excellent ingredients. They only serve fresh fish and seafood. They try not to mess around with it too much, but will prepare it to meet your demands. Ask for simple and it is beautiful.
This is a chef who knows how to cook fish and seafood!
I haven't tried the meat and based on this performance I wil stay with the fish and seafood.
Lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    53
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sea Food to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sea food platter for two, exquisite! Adapted to our preference with great charm.We could have chosen many other alternatives and kept a close eye on diners choices, all very tempting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“It makes me wonder.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had dinner here two weeks ago and left a report on TA but they refused to publish it . Why ?
Excellent soup followed by the freshed, best Lemon Sole I have ever eaten and caught just that morning.

What can I say... SUPERB the best fish on Jersey. I will flly over from London just to eat here and I say to any readers : GO

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

After reading the amazing reviews on trip advisor we decided to give it a try. My husband was less keen as the place does not present itself very well although it's very well placed in the fish market. We travel to Jersey on business and try as many local restaurants as we can. Our first meal there was very impressive, a delicious Lobster Thermidor and Plaice off the bone. We decided to return the following evening and pre-order a paella for 2. We were not disappointed and this was probably the best one we have ever eaten, piping hot and bursting with many different types of seafood and chicken. Absolute heaven!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had been turned away from a couple of places because it was too late (9.00) so delighted with the welcome afforded us at Bistro Rosa in the Old Market. We each had a dish of delicious mussels cooked in white wine- served at our request with Jersey Royal potatoes. Excellent. Not too pricey and friendly service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Rosa also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Bistro Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.