We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Rosa

Bistro Rosa
Beresford Street, St. Helier JE2 4WX
01534 729559
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 180 Restaurants in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A most unassuming restaurant at the entrance of the Beresford fish market in St Helier. My wife had the Scallops which were divine and I had the Lobster Thermidor with prawns, the best I have ever tasted. With 2 glasses of wine and water this came in at £41, amazing value for money. Our only regret is that we only found this place on the last day of our holiday and had already wasted good money an a bad meal at a fish restaurant that was recommended to us, see my other review if you are curious. This alone is worth making a trip to Jersey for. Well done Bistro Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    55
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire. UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Best Fish in St Helier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a bistro to visit if you want the freshest fish perfectly cooked by a dedicated chef. The venue is small, dark and part of the fish market but the welcome and service are excellent. The oysters were first class, the lobster succulent and sweet and the fish on the bone (sea bass and sea bream) couldn't be bettered. Remarkably this was the only restaurant in Jersey to serve Jersey Royal potatoes with the fish that had actually been freshly cooked rather than cooked ahead and warmed up. (A warmed up new potato does not have the same flavour or texture in my opinion) The short wine list is more than adequate. Try the Portuguese Dao 2006 which at £25 a bottle was a bargain. We didn't get to try the desserts but they looked really good on the plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What fish should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is my favorite place to eat fish in Jersey. The Bistro is small so book but it is well worth discovering. The Chef is always willing to discuss food and will even show you the fish before hand. Overall good value for an execllent meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This somewhere you must visit if you want wonderful seafood,perfectly cooked. Small (so book!), good value, relaxed and informal. The house wines go down very easily too. A must visit restaurant whenever we go to St Helier.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“How great fish should be - simple!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's not swish, swanky or posh. It's shoehorned into the fish market entrance and is enclosed by wood panelling. If you sit by the sliding door it's a bit chilly on a cool evening. You can see and hear the 2 cooks frantically working away in the small kitchen out front. Don't bring a cat to swing, because there is no tail room. A simple Madeiran outpost on Jersey, where friends come to choose and eat fresh fish with Rosa, at a fair price. No posh frock required and as romantic as your company. Utterly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Rosa also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Bistro Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.