We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alister Guest House

Save Saved
You added Alister Guest House to your Saves list
Alister Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alister Guest House
3 Clarendon Road, St. Helier JE2 3YS   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 St. Helier B&B and Inns
Workington Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Once again we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Alister. Spotless rooms and very comfortable beds plus a real English breakfast to give a good start to our day.
John and Sandra do everything to make their guests feel at home.
In fact, they go the 'extra mile' to do so.
We can thoroughly recommend this guesthouse for anyone staying on Jersey and look forward to returning ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are spotless and cleaned each day plus they are all quiet wherever they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
9
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

On arrival all looked fairly good.The room looked clean,beds looked ok but then try to open the window. The catches wound round and round and were nearly falling off,the bathroom window was stuck at about 2inches and had a large screw in it instead of a handle.The milk was off but in date so had been kept somewhere warm,that was sorted.
The plug in my basin wouldnt stay in so had to put the large bottle of handwash on the plug to hold it down so water didnt escape
I had asked for transfers to be booked ,I ended up doing it myself or Id still be at the airport
sat on spare bed to tie my shoes and bed moved leaving a gap between bed and side table,screwed up paper on floor ,a bill dated 24/04/12 now the date was 15/05/12.Was glad to come home The breakfast was very good,eggs were great

Room Tip: Top floor was noisey when it rained and sounded like next room people were in my room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montacute
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

From the website and outside it appears to be a nice place. However there is a lot required to bring this guest house up to a 3 star standard. On arrival there was no welcome. Took a while to find anyone, then the keys were thrown to be caught and directions of the room as follows "keep going up the stairs and you'll find it"! No offer of help with bags.Room clean and bed linen new.Room had recently been re painted but the damp on the wall behind the bed hadn't been sorted, hence paint flaking off. No central heating only an old not very efficient electric heater hanging wonkily on the wall. Walls very thin could hear the guests next door breathing! Shower more of a trickle than a soak, air flow shower head fitted which reduces pressure. Shower room window couldn't be closed and no catch to secure it anyway. Bedroom window had only one catch so was draughty. They don't supply shower gel, shampoo or even soap, only very cheap hand wash lotion, but it did smell nice. but no mention on the website to bring your own.No fridge or means to keep milk cold, hence the milk was "off" UHT milk does go off, beware.Tea bags not wrapped or in a covered container so collecting dust. Breakfast reasonable but basic and the sausages were of poor quality and they don't serve baked beans or a veggie option. Cereals should have been in covered containers not displayed in bowls. Orange juice was long life from a carton and jam and marmalade in small individual portion pots with peel off lids,butter in foil wrappers. The owners wife was very nice, shame about her husband who was not approachable. Radio on loudly in breakfast room, silence would have been better. Will not stay there again. For the same money you could stay in a 4 star hotel with lift just round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

It was my second stay at the Alister and my parteners first. I was as good as the first time. The double room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was as tasty as before. John and Sandra were both helpful and welcoming. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My daughter and her family were moving to Jersey so I needed a place to stay nearby to help with the move. The Alister was recomended to me by the Tourist information.
It was a great guest house, John and Sandra were very friendly and really helpful. Even though I was on my own I felt relaxed and welcome.
My room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. I will definitly stay there again.
Thank you John and Sandra for all your help.

Catherine from Yorkshire

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Found Sandra and John to be very hospitable and when in need of advice concerning where best to eat in Jersey, John was the man to ask!!

We had a lovely stay in a great little B&B about 10 mins walk from the centre of St. Helier in a quiet part of town that was fabulous value (great full English breakfast which was again a bonus).

Hope to see you again soon next time we visit Jersey!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a nice greeting however the owner was rather negative about Jersey and how it is not the place it used to be and all the hotels and guest houses are closing etc, if we had not known Jersey quite well we could have been put off straight away.

The plumbing in the bathroom was the wrong way around, the hot tap was cold and the cold tap hot, the cold water often changed to boiling hot when you were brushing your teeth which was not very nice. There was quite a bit of mold in our bathroom however the towels and linen were all spotless.

Good breakfasts, qood qyuality and good tasting coffee.

We had to leave at 7.30a.m. on our last day for our flights and the owner would not do us breakfast when we asked, we were not even offered cereal or toast, it was a straight no, even though the owners wife had told us she gets up at 6a.m. every day to prepare for breakfast? We had paid for breakfast on our last day and yet were not allowed any - we will therefore not be back.

Our room was on the third floor and there was no offer of any help with the cases either.

Room Tip: Closer to Liberation Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alister Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alister Guest House

Address: 3 Clarendon Road, St. Helier JE2 3YS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alister Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alister Guest House Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alister Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.