We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaklands Lodge Hotel

Oaklands Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oaklands Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Oaklands Lodge Hotel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   La Grand Route De La Trinite, St. Helier JE3 5JN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 St. Helier B&B and Inns
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An excellent choice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our first trip to Jersey and a last minute bargain price deal at The Oaklands Lodge proved to be the right decision.

Our beautifully decorated and equipped room was spacious and comfortable. A small problem with the window was put right without delay and we felt at home right away. Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked to order. As posted by another visitor on here, the hotel only misses out on a well justified higher star rating as there is no lift.

We dined in the hotel restaurant on our second evening and even though it was during "Tennerfest" and very busy, quality, service and value were, frankly, unbelievable. We recommend booking a table ahead of your trip.

One comment for potential non-car users like us - not a criticism in any way, just one to consider. Oaklands Lodge is about two miles out of St Helier - a beautiful walk during daylight hours but not one we would do after dark. The last of the infrequent number 4 buses leaves St Helier before 18.00 so after then, taxis are the only option.

A great hotel that really makes an effort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
34
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

A lovely little hotel which although only 2 star far exceeded out expectations. The staff are all charming, the rooms clean and bright, the meals of a good standard( I have never had such hot food and plates before) parking easy. The only down side is that the walls seem quite thin ,we could hear the tv in the next room above ours! I would certainly stay here again, thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: The back of the hotel overlooks fields which is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

we were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was spacious and clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The room had a tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was quiet and although there was a wedding going on downstairs you couldnt hear it. The breakfast was lovely and all the staff were cheerful. We stayed for 4 days but we didnt eat in the restaurant because we were never there in time - we were too busy exploring Jersey!! We heard from other guests and locals that it served very good food. There was a large car park if you drive to this hotel but we used the bus that just stopped up the road. There is a regular bus service in the summer. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

2nd stay at this hotel ,clean and tidy rooms ,plenty of tea and coffee in the room .
Fantastic breakfast ,
Very friendly staff ,good base to get around the island .
Free car parking and plenty of it .
Food in the pub next door ,very large portions and very good with mixed menu.
Great value for money ,just being a bit pickey but the only down side showers not that great ,not easy to keep the temperature level and not that powerfull.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nussbaumen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The restaurant is known as Red Rose amongst the Jersey population. The food was good and the service too. I could recommend this restaurant for its good food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were a little worried because it was only 2* rated but the rooms, service and ambience were 4* all the way. Well appointed and well furnished spacious rooms, ensuite facilties with tea/coffee makers-ing, TV etc.. Excellent food in the pub and restaurant (remember to book - they were full both nights of our stay). We asked "why only 2*" and were told it was because they have no lift (only on 2 floors), no porterage and no room service.. A complete travesty!! I have stayed in many inferior 4* hotels worldwide. Give this one a try - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with anything - speak to the Manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Oaklands Lodge Hotel at Trinity offer exceptional value, with excellent quality meals.

Room was comfortable and exceptionally clean.
Staff were engaging and helptul. Food was excellent. Will return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaklands Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Lodge Hotel

Address: La Grand Route De La Trinite, St. Helier JE3 5JN
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oaklands Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaklands Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaklands Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.