We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky little pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cock & Bottle

Cock & Bottle
Royal Square, St. Helier JE2 4WG
01534 722184
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 180 Restaurants in St. Helier
Price range: $18 - $27
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Funky little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A friend dragged us along to this little pub she had read about. It's small and loud - just what you would expect in a proper U.K. pub.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    60
    15
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We couldn't have been made more welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently married in Jersey and went to the Cock and Bottle with a group of friends for lunch after the wedding. We had a great time, we'd hoped to sit outside in the heated patio area overlooking the lovely Royal Square but the weather was terrible so the manager kept the upstairs room free for us. It was perfect for our group of eleven and lovely to have a private room with flowers on the table. Everyone agreed that the food was excellent with some different things on the menu. The service very good and the staff were friendly. We sampled the house wine and locally brewed liberation beer - both were excellent. The prices for food and drink were very reasonable. We were surprised not to be charged for the room and by the integrity of the manager, there was a mix up with the bill (no one's fault) and we overpaid. He personally found some of our party after we had left and gave them the overpayment to give back to us .... in this day and age this was a lovely surprise. We'll certainly go back to the Cock and Bottle.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A quick bite after work....will avoid in future”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The service was ok, although it was not clear that someone would come and take your order at the table. The menu was not bad, but the food quality was just not all that and for the price I would have expected more than a defrosted burger.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful courtyard for ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Difficult for entire party to sit together. Atmosphere in square enhanced by guitarist playing live.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great food, great local beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A lovely traditional pub situated in the heart of St Helier in the pretty and tranquil Royal Square, home of the Jersey States Assembly. There is outdoor seating with heating but we ate indoors in the upstairs bar and the service we got from the waiter was exceptional. The fish pie was very very good as was the vegetarian option; the Channel Islands brewery beer is also very very good.
Well done Cock & Bottle, a very pleasant evening's food and service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bottle also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Cock & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock & Bottle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.