We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pontac House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pontac House Hotel to your Saves list
The Pontac House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Clement's Bay, St. Clement JE2 6SE   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Clement
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

had an over night stay on Saturday during tenerfest. room was nice and clean, had sea view
room 303, bed was so comfortable didn't to get up. hotel is good location good bus route,
had four course meal in evening which was very good lots of choice. the service was great
nice and easy. breakfast was also good they bring everything to you, i.e. cornflakes orange juice etc. will go again

Room Tip: sea view 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    29
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
21
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at Pontac House for the 2nd time whilst visiting family in Jersey.
Chose to return as our first stay,all be it several years ago, was so comfortable.
We were not disappointed! Still very good rooms and bathroom, with balcony and what must be one of the most interesting views when the tide is out and the lunar landscape magically appears! Breakfast very good and staff lovely. I requested a softer pillow as I was having trouble with my neck, and when I got back later in the day there were 2 brand new pillows waiting for me. I'm sure they were purchased specially, so full marks for excellent service and they did the trick for my neck, thank you! Great location on the island and opposite bus stop so very easy to get around if you don't have a car. The buses on Jersey are quite simply a joy, give them a go even if you do have a car, it's like going back 50 years in the very best sense!
Thank you to all at Pontac House for helping us make the most of our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, great view and real sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lovely family sunday lunch at a great price, plenty of food, great service and great atmosphere!!

It was a horrible wet day but there was still a great view out to sea, the hotel is in a great location and there is plenty of parking!

Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We came back to the Pontac for our regular September visit, and found everything just as we remembered. We were all in need of an escape from our busy lives back home, and it was lovely to be looked after in such comfortable surroundings. New beds too!

Everyone is so helpful and friendly as always, and this year there was the addition of Emma - such a delightful person, taking a warm and genuine interest in everything and everyone.

We have booked again for next year - as do so many people. There were many familiar faces among the guests. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at The Pontac House Hotel the 2nd week of September, our 1st visit to this hotel. I was impressed how friendly all the staff were. We had booked B&B because we like to eat at lunchtimes but did have a couple of evening meals in the hotel, and very nice they were too. Both breakfast and evening meals were excellent. The waiting staff were extremely organised. The number 1 bus that passes in front of the hotel (bus stop right outside) runs every 15 minutes during the week to Gorey one way and St Helier the other. We hired a car and found there was always space in their car park. Our sea view with balcony room number 305 had a large double and large single bed. The only fault I have to mention is the shower over the bath, it didn't have much power to it, I don't know if that was general or not. When we went for breakfast at 8 every morning by the time we got back to our room the maid had cleaned it, we were impressed with that.

Room Tip: It's always nicer if you can afford a seaview and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family have been using this hotel for a number of years now, after bein recommended by another hotel (since ceased trading) who could not fit us in. Have never gone back since then to the old one. The standard of cuisine in the resaurant is what would be expected in a 4 star hotel. A wide choice, with vegetarian options if needed, every day. The sea food is a speciality that always casues a stir as it arrives in the resaurant. The rooms are well appointed and equipped. The temperature of the outdoor pool is like a soothing warm bath!! All the staff make you feel like part ofthe family, in fact the owner gets involved just as much as everyone else. Popular with the locals and it is clear why. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Even singe rooms are of a good standard - not squashed in the back of the building>
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberammergau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, run by portuguese family and staff, helpful and outstanding
service. Take the halfboard, dinner and breakfast are fresh and excellent quality!
Good wine-card, all at low prices. Bar is nice, pool clean and warm.
VERY good value for money, if we return to Jersey it will be the "Pontac House"
again, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pontac House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pontac House Hotel

Address: St Clement's Bay, St. Clement JE2 6SE
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Clement
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pontac House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pontac House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pontac Hotel
Pontac Hotel St Clement
The Pontac House Hotel Jersey/St. Clement

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pontac House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.