We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rocqueberg View Guest House

Rocqueberg View Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Clement
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocqueberg View Guest House
Save
You added Rocqueberg View Guest House to your Saves list
Rue de Samares, St. Clement JE2 6LS   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 St. Clement B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I am so disappointed at having to write a bad review but think people should know what to expect. We stayed at the guest house because we have family nearby so were the most accommodating of guests over Christmas. We were the only paying guests when we arrived - despite this we were given a room where the bathroom window was broken. When we pointed this out the window was taped up which meant we couldn't open it for the duration of our stay. Why not simply put us in another room? Initially we were told breakfast was between 8.30 and 9.00am ( I know they are not the only guest house to do this but why?). However, we were then told because we were the only guests we could negotiate a later time which we did which worked well for everybody. Because it was Christmas we said we wouldn't have breakfast Christmas Day as we were the only guests and so they could have a lie in. On the day we were leaving we needed to leave at 8.30am and asked for an early breakfast. We were told if we needed breakfast before 8.30 we could go in the dining room and help ourselves to cereal. Words failed us! How can you have a guest house and not be prepared to get out of bed 15 minutes earlier to accommodat your guests! There are lots of things about the guest house that are below standard that we would have been willing to overlook if we had been treated properly - we weren't and we won't be going back!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Once again we visited this Quest House, and it was nice to be back, with Lucille,Stanton & Graham, not forgeting Rusty the dog. It was good to have my own car, but as one quest mentioned the car parking is tight. Our room was excellent, as were the breakfasts.
The staff made us both welcome and the guest house was full, There was a French family staying & Graham went out of his way to speak to them in French. It was good to meet up with guests from last year. Will we be going again,? you bet cant wait until next July.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights so really got a feel for the place. The guesthouse is in a great location out of town but still accessible to many restaurants which Lucille was happy to help with. Car parking can be a squash at peak times but it is such a bonus to have a safe parking space right outside the door that this is easily forgiven. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and endless tea and toast. All the staff were very helpful and all in all we cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Not going back and cannot recommend. some of the staff were quite sweet but otherwise have been treated appalingly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Must say that we enjoyed ourselves immensely, food was good, Lucille, Stanton & Graham most welcoming, We had excellent weather, lots to do, but would recomend a car, buses will eat into your holiday savings. Small Spar shop near by, as is a food hall for Marks & Spencers towards St Helier, plenty of good eateries, overal an good base to stay, so much so, that we are returning to see stay at Rocqueberg GH again this year, cant wait.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights in august.
Good base to stay for the money you pay. Very near a nice beach and a good pub with nice meals. Its good to have a car but easy to get around by bus.
We were in room 3, it was a good size and looked onto the pool.
The room could do with some updating but remember the price you pay might reflect this. The breakfast was very nice with more toast tea and coffee if wanted.
When we went it was the battle of the flowers, Lucille had a float in the parade and very kindly asked if we would like to join in the parade. Lucille and Graham were allways around to answer questions and help out.
If going to jersey on a budget its not a bad place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocqueberg View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocqueberg View Guest House

Address: Rue de Samares, St. Clement JE2 6LS
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Clement
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Clement
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocqueberg View Guesthouse is a friendly non smoking guest house, quietly but conveniently located near Green Island beach and only two miles from St. Helier. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocqueberg View Guest House Jersey/St. Clement

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocqueberg View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.