We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Magloire Guest House

St. Magloire Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Magloire Guest House to your Saves list
St. Magloire Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rue Du Crocquet, St. Brelade JE3 8BZ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 St. Brelade B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights - last minute booking. Perfect quiet location, very friendly helpful staff, lovely breakfasts, beautiful balcony open to all staying at the guest house. Its not modern, but it is clean, welcoming and all we needed for a brief stay in St. Aubins.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    8
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I arrived in jersey early evening having not booked anywhere to stay, we plumped for St Aubin which is delightful and found a room at St Magliore.
We took a Sea View room and the view was pleasant. We Were asked to pay £72 on arrival and being that we were leaving too early for breakfast asked if a discount would apply and was told not, which to be honest was a little disappointing as surley there is a cost associated with the breakfast ! I'm sure if I just turned up and asked or breakfast they wouldn't give it me or nothing ! The room was quite dated as were the furnishings throughout. I have to say that the whole place seemed very clean.
All in all it was OK but wouldn't rush back. Maybe the breakfast thing has stuck in my mind. I think £72 was a bit steep for what's offered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely location but I wouldn't recommend if you have young children. No parking so it is hit and miss if you can park nearby so if you are carrying the normal paraphernalia children have this can be an issue. Breakfast isn't till 8.15 which can be late for children, they can allow you in the dining room early but our experience of this wasn't great. They don't have full fat milk and when we asked about this wouldn't supply it so we had to buy our own. For the sake of them spending £1 to buy some in they left us feeling that they were very unhelpful. They didn't have porridge either so again we had to supply our own and make it in their kitchen. Although they have a bright dining room we were put in the bar which had no natural light and smelt. We were the only ones in there which meant there was no atmosphere and we were kept away from the other guests. There is a lovely balcony for sitting on in the evening when your children are sleeping but no wifi access there which is limiting. There was no wifi in the rooms either. There was a bath but there were cracks in it but it was adequate enough. There was only a tiny sink which made washing bottles etc a bit difficult. The room was a good size but the ceilings were paper thin so you can hear everything that was happening above you, even drawers opening. Didn't stop our child sleeping but made us very sensitive that we were walking others up when he woke at 6 in the morning. On a general point, very cheap toilet roll and tired looking towels didn't help either. We weren't expecting much and the staff were friendly when you spoke to them but because of the above difficulties it made our stay more stressful than it should have been. A the very least you expect somewhere that welcomes children to be able to supply full fat milk - I don't think it is asking too much!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked this guesthouse at a treat for my parents who are in their 60's. They stayed for 3 nights in a spacious room with a sea view. They commented on the friendly, helpful couple who managed the guesthouse on behalf of David the owner. Comfortable beds, a good breakfast and a warm welcome meant they loved their stay so much they plan to go back next year and stay for a week. They said the area was beautiful and the guesthouse itself was in a lovely cobbled street with everything you could want close by.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stunning area, very sweet and beautiful street in a lovely area.

We only stayed for one night as we had flown over for a friends birthday so I cannot comment much on exploring the local area or what there was to offer, however when getting a taxi to the venue we were going, we immediately passed a number of bars, restaurants and shops just down the road.

The guest house is cosy and whilst mildly dated in its décor/style, it is very clean and has character. The staff were absolutely lovely, they really give fantastic service and could not do enough for us.
Our room had a seaview which was beautiful and it backed onto a small terrace area which is perfect to enjoy the sunshine as it catches it fantastically, and is ideal for smokers.

I cannot fault the guest house and cannot compliment the staff enough. My only niggle is the breakfast; we had this included within our room rate which was ideal as we were flying back that day but breakfast is served between 8 or 8:15 (can't remember which!) and 9am. You can carry on eating past 9am but that is last orders and this is the same for Sundays. Whilst we made it it would have been nice to have a bit more leeway on the breakfast timings but the food was very good and they had orange juice waiting on the table for us when we came down which was a nice touch!

Another thing - we were incredibly surprised at how comfortable the beds were, I genuinely haven't stayed in anything as comfortable in a very long time whether its a local guest house or 5* hotel so we were very impressed and pleased about this!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here twice and it is a great location, probably not good for those with mobility issues as it's up a small cobbled incline. It is a little dated but as a base to see the island it's fine and very good room rates. Some lovely restaurants within walking distance.
The breakfast is good (no sausages though!) and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at St. Magloire Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi, many thanks for your review. As you state our guesthouse is in the heart of St Aubin up a small incline but guests may pull up at the front door and drop off guests and unload luggage. Our breakfast consists of orange juice, choice of cereals, grapefruit, prunes, bacon, eggs (fried, boiled or scrambled) beans, tomatoes and fried bread and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and toast. We will also cater for any vegetarians and special diet requirements. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the guesthouse soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although classed as St Brelade the guest house is up a small cobbled French style street in St Aubin, five mins walk from the harbour.
We found parking fine, either up the top of the hill or in town, we didn't pay for either. Its important to remember the location here, I believe it dates back to the 17th century when the motor car was not a consideration!
The building its self has a very French feel about it and we loved its charm but again you need to bear in mind its a guest house, not a hotel and some may find the facility's lacking especially as St Aubin night life ends at 11pm and a taxi into St helier will cost you the thick end of 15 quid.
We found the staff very helpful and friendly, true the breakfasts are basic but an adequate start to the day. Just watch out for the bar prices, I was not impressed with £2.50 for a can of Carling...
All in all we enjoyed our stay here and will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Owner at St. Magloire Guest House, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi, many thanks for your review. We are indeed located in St Aubin which is a village in the Parish of St Brelade. Very close to the Harbour, bus routes and parking up the quiet cobbled High street with panoramic views over the Bay of St Aubin an ideal starting point for exploring the island. We look forward to welcoming back you when I'm sure a complimentary can of Carling will be ready for you. Kind regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Magloire Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Magloire Guest House

Address: Rue Du Crocquet, St. Brelade JE3 8BZ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Magloire Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. Magloire Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Magloire Guest House Hotel St. Brelade
St. Magloire Guest House Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Magloire Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.