We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family run hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Windmills Hotel to your Saves list
Windmills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MontGras d'Eau, St. Brelade   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect family run hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Myself and my husband have just returned from a week at the windmills hotel, we have been going for the last 3 years and it gets better and better each time we go! The staff, including the owners are always so helpful and friendly (i am unsure where the remark about Basil Faulty comes from!) Steve and his wife Jane have always made our stay extremey comfortable and welcoming! The hotel has recently been refurbished and it looks amazing - very modern and if the decor is not your taste the views are outstanding!! I would recommend this hotel to all our friends in an instant, in fact we are planning on returning at Easter with my mother!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    47
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
98
203
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Back at home now - the best place in the world !!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Very old fashioned style of hotel. In desperate need of an update and a good clean.
Very popular with older people, possibly reminds them of a by-gone era ?
Owner seemed very 'Basil Fawlty'.
Our room was incredibly noisy, bordering on intolerable. We were directly underneath the kitchen/dining room, so the noise started at 7am and finished after 10pm.
If you check other reviews of this hotel, check the age of the reviewer.
We've stayed in some pretty poor hotels across the world but this place was something else.
Not for us, never again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Before I begin to write this review, I would like to take the time to thank all the lovely staff (and owners) at Windmills. You made our stay the best we have ever had in Jersey and actually the best in the Channel Isles, so good my mom wants to go (sorry)
I have been known to be a bit of a “Diva" when it comes to things not living up to my expectations, so, with the image of the beautiful views over St Brelades Bay, still fresh in my mind, the whole family were on tender hooks as we approached the hotel.
I have to say that the pictures really didn’t do the real thing justice; even our 16yr old (who normally can’t bring himself to look away from his beloved i-phone) was in ore. We were greeted by the most amazing view of the sea, framed by the beautiful gardens leading down to the pool. Best of all was our own patio area, sun beds, table and chairs, where we could sit on the evening and enjoy a glass of wine while the sun went down.
The apartment was well kitted out, with the exception of a washing machine, but I didn’t mind as they had a service wash and also alterative daily cleaners :-) so I didn’t have to spend all my holiday washing or cleaning-bliss.
The hotel was fairly small, but it was nice as everyone was so friendly and happy to help. It also had an internet room and pool table, which kept the kids going when they’d had enough of the pool.
We normally walked the ten minutes down to the bay to eat (there’s some lovely places to eat, such as the Oyster bar and pizza express) but be warned, the road is steep and winding and does take a bit of an effort on the way back up- especially after consuming large amounts of food and alcohol !!!
We ate at the restaurant only once, which was nice, but the kids tended to want to go out rather than stay in. We did, however partake in room service several times and also late night chippies out on the terrace.
We all really had a fab holiday and are planning to go back next year, as I can still picture those breathtaking views over the bay, sitting with a chilled glass of wine, as the sun went down-ahhh… BLISS !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We had our honeymoon in Jersey 25 years ago, and came back to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. The location is superb, and the staff were most helpful.

We had not been to this hotel before - but we will certainly use it again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Last Sept' i celebrated my 40th Birthday & after visiting Jersey 3 times in over the last 16 years, all in ST. Helier, (Mayfair & Strafford), we decided we wanted somewhere more quieter & romantic. So we chose the "Windmills" at St. Brelades Bay. We had a lovely time. We had a sea view with balcolny, yes the decor in places is a little tired but it is very clean & tidy & all the staff can't do enough for you. The food is outstanding the best we have had in any of the other 2 hotels we've stayed in. Plus there's plently of restaurants on the Bay, Oyster Box, Pizza, L'Horizon. We often went to the L'Horizon for lunch. There is also the Populars Tea rooms on the B43, which is a quiant english tea room.

The Windmills restaurant has a wonderful view of the sea & garden. The management do have a rule that residents staying in a room with no sea view are given a table with a sea view. Saying this we didn't know & asked the head waiter at the end of the first night if we could swop to a sea view table as it was my 40th & the next morning the manageress found us & arranged it, on the understanding should anyone request the table we would have to move. We stayed there until the last night!

We can't comment on the outdoor swimming pool as we didn't use it. There is no entertainment in the hotel on an evening but there is some in the surrounding hotels.

Not suitable for young singles, families with teenagers. Very steep hill walk down to the bay from the hotel but there is plently of parking in St Brelades Bay.

We are returning again in Sept' for my hubby's 40th as we enjoyed it so much last time.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Just had a 3 night break at the Windmills. Dont usually bother posting reviews but felt i had too in order to acknowledge this brilliant hotel. We have visited Jersey before and stayed at grander, more pricey hotels but the Windmills is far more enjoyable.
1. Location is breathtaking, overlooking the sea and St.Brelades Bay, sat on the lovely terrace with a cool drink, could not be better.
2. The rooms are of a good size, simply but nicely done and have everything you could need.
3. The lounge,bar,and dining room are lovely,intimate and also have panoramic views over the garden and pool to the sea.
4. The staff are efficient,speedy and freindly.
5. The breakfast is really of a very good standard indeed and dinner also very good. CERTAINLY RIVALS MUCH PRICIER ESTABLISHMENTS.

ALL IN ALL I COULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL HIGH ENOUGH. When you drive up to it, it is not exactly the most attractive building to look at but as soon as you enter any worries you may have had are instantly gone and we shall definately return.

THANKYOU WINDMILLS and ............. SEE YOU SOON !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne,Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Location, garden and view from room were wonderful. Room was pleasant enough, but the hotel is generally looking a bit tired and in need of a comprehensive makeover, particularly our bathroom(walls adjacent to bath,and floor retiled, but old bath & shower control difficult to use) no tiles behind basin,rest of room slightly' tatty', as was the dining room. Owners were pleasant enough but didn't seem particularly interested or 'involved' with guests, just doing what was necessary. Two sittings for dinner, 6.30 or 7.45 which is a bit restrictive. The dinner menu was rather pretentious and somewhat 'odd' in it's choices, unfortunately the execution and results just didn't live up to it's aspirations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Address: MontGras d'Eau, St. Brelade
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.