We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windmills Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Windmills Hotel to your Saves list
Windmills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MontGras d'Eau, St. Brelade   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 5 day stay at Windmills Hotel. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left the service from everyone - be they the owners, reception, bar or restaurant staff - was exemplary, friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Every inch of the hotel is immaculately clean and we have never experienced such swift maid service, without fail our room was made up whilst we were at breakfast each morning.

Food in both the bar and restaurant was very good, with more than enough choice on the breakfast menu to keep my ‘full English’ disliking husband happy – he highly recommends the kippers and scrambled egg. We ate from the al la carte menu in the restaurant one evening and found the both the quality and presentation of the food to be of a very high standard.

We stayed in a standard room which was of a reasonable size, with a large shower cubicle and powerful shower in the en suite. Our only niggle was that a lack of soundproofing meant that we could hear the people in the room above walking around but this was certainly not enough to keep us awake at night or wake us early in the morning. From what we could see the sea/pool facing rooms had magnificent views, I only wish I had been faster in making our booking as they were all booked when I enquired.

I am not sure that I understand the comment from a previous reviewer about the outside area being ‘neglected’, it certainly wasn't when we stayed, we spent at least an hour after breakfast each morning sitting on the terrace in the morning sun reading and the whole area including the gardens and pool was as well cared for as the inside of the hotel.

The walk down to St Brelade’s beach – which is one of the best beaches we have been to - was not as steep as I had feared when I ‘walked’ it on Google Street Map, it took us approximately 10 minutes each way.

We would not hesitate to return to Windmills and will certainly be recommending it to friends and family

Room Tip: Book early if you would like a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    47
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
101
203
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Windmills is a peaceful and tranquil place to stay. Nestled in the hillside overlooking the scenic St Brelades Bay this hotel is dear to our hearts and holds many happy memories of the holidays we have spent in Jersey over the years. Our most recent stay was 26 May 2013. It was a pleasure to book again and receive such personal telephone service from the owner who instantly remembered us from our previous visit on 28 August 2012. Our requests for the same rooms were met and once again we had an enjoyable stay. The staff in the dining room Monica and Graeme remembered us and made us feel very welcome and Miguel in the bar was extremely helpful when I experienced problems with my I pad . We had rooms with seaviews which were spotlessly clean and the views breathtaking . That said we have also stayed in a garden view room previously and the standard of cleanliness and comfort was the same. The dining room has scenic views over the bay and the standard of food is excellent served by friendly staff in a clean and pleasant environment. The bar terrace is set overlooking well kept landscaped gardens which are a credit to the hotel.
We would recommend hiring a car if you stay at this hotel as the walk to the bus stop involves a couple of inclines which may prove difficult for the those with mobility problems. There is a car park at the hotel for guests.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a bonus and well worth the extra cost however the scenic sea views can be experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sadly had to return from this little piece of paradise found... we totally agree with all the wonderful comments,... & especially lucky to have met some truly lovely people too (AlisonJS154 & her lovely family, hope our paths will cross again).

The welcome, staff, service, cleanliness, views, pool, spa were just exceptional. This is definitely not a 3*... more of a 4*+ in our opinion.

I travelled with my Mum & Dad. Steve was so so helpful in booking our condore ferry & the 'our' 3 bed- beautiful appartment ... I would highly recommend contacting the hotel directly (nothing was ever too much trouble ... even when we chucked away the chopping boards inadvertently!)

We have booked for next year and cant wait to return.

Thank you so so much Jane (platinum award lol) Steve, Johnny & all the staff (maid service & maids second to none) for making such special memories which will last a lifetime and will treasure always.

See you soon :0)

Fran, John & Claire Moore x

Room Tip: 3 bed appartment ideal for us, 2 doubles & a twin, fantastically located with stunning views &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Eleven of us ranging in age from 4-60+ visited and found the experience excellent. Sea view rooms are a must and the self catering family suits gave great flexability and were of a high standard. The staff were excellent and very accommodating when we had breakfast. The food in the restaurant was excellent in particular the homemade desserts. The beach is the best in Jersey and just a short walk down the hill which is steep coming back up but not a problem. When we ate out the staff recommended restaurants and booked taxi's. The children loved the pool after a day on the beach. I would rate this hotel above its current 3* rating.

Room Tip: Sea view room essential to make most of amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for a week from 3rd june in a sea view room. Very comfatable beds and pillows.Staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.we intended to try various places for evening meals,but after eating in the hotel on the first evening we were very impressed with the quality and choice of food that we had every evening meal in the hotel.The views over the bay are stunning.It was our first visit to jersey but not our last.Now the negative side,we ordered a cream tea one afternoon,when it came we were gob smacked by how small the scone.my wife has been a chef for 38 years and would not have face to sell this for 3.95.We also felt the outdoor sitting area was neglected,it was not swept or tables not wiped the whole week.This would not put us off returning but feel these small things would improve the hotel.thank you once again

Room Tip: room 28 views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just had a fantastic weeks holiday at Windmills, situated high above St Brelades Bay. Our family had a twin seaview, a standard double and a single room. The views from the seaview room, the terrace, the lounge + bar, and the dining room were all stunning. The other rooms did not have much to look out at and the single was very small.The service was excellent, largely due to the commitment of the owners + their friendly team. Breakfast was a delight and the meals we had in the restaurant were of very high quality. We enjoyed the heated swimming pool, the sauna and the beautiful gardens. My partner is a wheelchair user + we really appreciated the way everyone went out of their way to help. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balcony are infinitely superior to ordinary doubles + singles, making it well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseygirlJersey, Owner at Windmills Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the staff and management contributed to that. We will continue to strive for Guest satisfaction, it is so important to us that Guests consider returning. The sea view from the Hotel is our most commented on feature and we are sensitive to making the non-seaview rooms as appealing as possible by maintaining exactly the same facilities and quality of décor but any suggestions for further improvements are greatly appreciated. Thank you again and we would love to have you revisit us at any time. S & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just had another stay at the Windmills. The staff are so friendly and service excellent. food is very good the whole place is kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The rooms are to a good standard. It i believe is a 3* hotel however I have stayed in 4* hotels around the Uk and this hotel although smaller beats them hands down. Then on top of all this there are the views from the lounge and bar area /breakfast -restaurant then on the outside there is a large sitting are looking out to sea. We went as a family group of 4 adults and all had a wonderful stay and can't wait go again later in the year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Hotel

Address: MontGras d'Eau, St. Brelade
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windmills Hotel has an official (JQA) 3 Star grading. It is a family run hotel and the ideal base from which to enjoy your Jersey experience. Apart from its amazing sea views, the Hotel is a short downhill walk to St Brelade beach, only 100 metres to the nearest bus stop and within easy reach of St Aubins village and the railway walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Windmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Hotel St Brelade
Windmills Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.