We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndhurst Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Brelade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyndhurst Guesthouse
Save
You added Lyndhurst Guesthouse to your Saves list
Route de la Haule, Beaumont, St. Brelade JE3 8BA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 St. Brelade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is hotel is absolutely perfect situated just 10mins from the airport and immediately adjacent to the gorgeous St Brelade beach which is a stones throw from the from of the guesthouse. The breakfast was excellent and whatever help you needed the owners Martyn and Deborah could not be accommodating. Excellent value and easy to access anywhere on the Island from, I will definitely be going back my wife and I had a really lovely time. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you, and you will always be very welcome to share our home any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Me and 5 friends stayed here on our last night of a walk around the Jersey coast line.The hotel is in fantastic location right on the see front and the rooms were spotless and very comfy.Nearby is local pubs and restaurants and as well as explaining everthing we needed to know about the guest house Martyn then pointed us to one of the local pubs "the goose" which not only had superb food but when we showed our room keys(as Martyn told us) we got 15% off.Add to this a superb breakfast well i dont need to add anything more apart from i would definately use this guest house on my next visit to this wonderful island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks boys. You will always be welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lEIGH-ON-sEA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Martyn and Debbie could not have been more welcoming. We imediately felt at home in their fantastically located, right on the sea front, guest house. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The first floor deck was a great bonus and we spent much time just chilling there. The breakfasts were fit for a king with very generous, but most welcome large portions. We were full for the day. The real strength of this guest house is Martyn and Debbie. They were such fun and we just felt so relaxed. They truely know how to be the perfect hosts and we wish them so much sucess - they deserve it because I cant believe anyone could stay under their roof and not feel at home. We travelled with my son, daughter in law and six month old Oliver so we may not have been the easiest of guests! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review. Hope you share our home with us again soon. You were not difficult to deal with at all. It was a pleasure to have such nice people
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were on the island for a wedding so only stayed two nights. We were greeted by Debbie who was very friendly and welcoming. Told us everything we would need to know and how to get to the places we needed to. Breakfast was quick and delicious. Room was clean and very comfortable. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Will definitely stay there again if i ever go back to the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just got back today from Lyndhurst and cannot rate the place enough!!

Debbie and Martyn are fabulous hosts and made us welcome even before we arrived by answering our queries very promptly by email and arranging to pick us up from the airport when we asked about transfers - top marks, guys!!

On arrival, Martyn explained that some work was going on as they were in the process of refurbishing Lyndhurst but this didn't detract from our stay. The lounge area was very comfortable with quirky décor that made us smile and question our general TV knowledge on a daily basis. There was no problem with us using the Satellite TV in there if we chose to. The lovely breakfast area was spot-on with plenty of room and we kept the same table throughout our stay.

Once shown the ground floor, we were taken to our twin room (number 3) on the 1st floor. It faced the back of the guest house but what it lacked in view it made up with being quiet. The room was split level and had 2 comfy single beds, small ensuite (but big enough to do what you need to do), plenty of storage space, tv, fridge and kettle. Yes, the stairwell to the 1st floor was slightly steeper than the usual as mentioned in previous reviews but there was a handrail and it caused no problem for access.

The sun deck at the front of the guesthouse was on the same level as our bedroom and had plenty of seating (great for relaxing with a book and catching those rays on sunny days) and had a lovely view over St Aubins' beach.

I can confirm that there are no exaggerations regarding the breakfasts - they were fantastic! Juice, tea, coffee, fruit, toast, plenty of choice of cereals and full English fry-up or omelette - all cooked to order by the lovely Debbie and served with a smile by Martyn.

Our friendly hosts were very helpful in giving information about buses, eateries (15% off food voucher at the Goose pub in Beaumont was very useful - thank you!), parking etc and were more than happy to sort out car hire or bike hire if we fancied it (although we ended up just using the numerous buses that criss-crossed the island - £7.00 for a day pass - just ask the bus driver). Nothing was too much trouble - all you need to do is ask!

Needless to say, were very sad to leave Lyndhurst and felt that Debbie and Martyn's friendly attitude to the guests gave Lyndhurst that extra special touch. Yes, the refurbishments are a work in progress but we know that Lyndhurst will be a complete success once completed!!

We will definitely we coming back here should we return to Jersey and hope that everyone who visits has the same positive experience as we've had. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Debbie and Martyn, and we wish you all the best for the future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our home. We will always try to improve on quality and service for new guests and friends like you. Call on us again anytime. You will be more than welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the Lyndhurst for the Spring Walking week, we were greeted very warmly by Debbie on arrival and our room, which had a wonderful view overlooking St Aubins Bay, was very comfortable with an en suite shower room. The breakfasts were excellent, with plenty of choice, and Martyn was a very good waiter. The location was very good being on the sea front and just an easy stroll into St Helier. As guests at the Lyndhurst we were offered 15% off food at a nearby pub, which was a very nice.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front as the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks very much for your king review. We will welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although I only stayed in Jersey for one night, I couldn't have been made more welcome. I was working on the island for the day at B&Q, and didn't get to the hotel until around 10pm, but after phoning beforehand, Martyn waited for me and gave me a warm welcome. I had a very pleasant room on the front, nothing flashy but clean and very suitable, and with everything I needed. After a long day, I was very impressed with unlimited tea, coffee etc, as sometimes you only get enough for 2 cups, and was able to unwind from my hectic day in front of the TV. The following morning, I had a lovely breakfast, and chatted with Martyn and Debbie about the hotel. They have really looked into what guests look for to make it home from home, and I'm sure they get allot of repeat business because of this. Martyn even took me back to the airport in the morning I will certainly stay here again if I have to go back to Jersey, and the location is also excellent and in front of a lovely beach. Thankyou so much, Jacky.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms but some have a sea view as mine did at the front. The sea w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn678, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to deal with a very nice guest like you. Hope you use our home many times again. Thanks for your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndhurst Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Guesthouse

Address: Route de la Haule, Beaumont, St. Brelade JE3 8BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Guesthouse Hotel St. Brelade
Lyndhurst Guesthouse Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndhurst Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.