We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Food and in Particular the staff made my dream weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndhurst Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Brelade
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyndhurst Guesthouse
Save
You added Lyndhurst Guesthouse to your Saves list
Route de la Haule, Beaumont, St. Brelade JE3 8BA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 St. Brelade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location, Food and in Particular the staff made my dream weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with friends and can not recommend this hotel enough.
The staff were outstanding, in fact proberly the best we have ever encountered at a hotel.
The breakfast was superb, as was the location and views from the hotel.
I stayed here a couple of years ago and was sadly dissapointed, but since the new Management took over this year the improvement was outstanding.
You must book here, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
59
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel needs major investment to bring it kicking&screaming into the 21st century.A damp&musty smell prevails.Waitress service was given begrudgingly&miserably.Breakfast became predictably boring.Light fitting in bathroom was cellataped on&showerhead was pre raphelite.The bar was so unwelcoming we never saw a single person in there the entire week.The position is superb with just a few minutes walk to St aubins&25 mins to St Helier.Its a shame because there is great potential there for someone to spend money and make it more welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martypoohs, Owner at Lyndhurst Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
This review is not related to the present owners who took over the Lyndhurst on 1.4.2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We loved the style of the guesthouse and the great location at St. Aubin's bay, close to the beach and the bars and restaurants. The flowers in the front yard and the terrace are lovely. Rooms are big and clean.
However, I have to agree with the other travellers who wrote their opinion here that the matresses are awful and unfortunately the close by street is busy with cars. But the breakfast was very good and no complaints about the service. Unfortunately, no Internet:-(

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I made the mistake of booking into this supposed 3 diamond guesthouse, my room no 7 smelt damp & fusty, the bed is the WORST i have ever slept in - the mattress as wafer thin & dipped into the middle - the pillows were like tissue paper (sorry no - I would have got more head support from tissue paper !! ) The "bathroom" was vile, dirty,mouldy & damp smelling, The shower was well shocking - would have got wetter if I'd stood out in the rain. The breakfast left a lot to be desired - no locally sourced produce in fact I think it was "the cheapest I can find " the waitress at breakfast was less than welcoming & quite rude . The decor in the room & the whole hotel was well very tired a throwback to the 60's with woodchip paper & different shades of yellow. The Electric socket in my rom had a screw missing so when I went to unplug the kettle the socket nearly came with it - basic health & safety I thought !!! Needless to say I wouldn't recommend this guesthouse to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, Suffolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We were in room 8. The breakfast & service was okay, but when either of us got up in the night, we must have woken every other guest with the heavy groans and grumbles from the mattresses. I assume they were left over from when Jersey was liberated in 1945. They spoiled our week.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

visited the guesthouse with my family. the lyndhurst looks tired and trapped in a 60s timewarp with chipboard gloss walls everywhere. our room smelt damp and musty and had the most uncomfortable bed ever. my hubby convinced me to stick it out as i was on the verge of moving to a hotel even though i had paid for two rooms in advance for the week. the staff just looked fed up and tired - maybe as it's near the end of the season, not sure. anyway, good points...location is excellent, breakfast - while not a huge selection if you didn't want a cooked one - was really tasty and the shower was great. nice to have a balcony that over looked the beach even though the road was very busy, they have heavy planting on the balcony though so the view is obscured if you're sitting down. we had a lovely week althopugh we wouldn't go back to the lyndhurst but would definitely stay in the same area again. everyone in jersey (bar one horrid person working in a pub) was incredibly friendly. we are really looking forward to visiting jersey again though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Bright, clean and comfortable room, delicious breakfast, 10-15 minute walk to St. Aubin, pay-card parking in lot across street or free 12 hour parking within 5-10 minute walk. Well-run guesthouse. Rooms in front have nice views of bay but subject to moderate traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndhurst Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Guesthouse

Address: Route de la Haule, Beaumont, St. Brelade JE3 8BA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Guesthouse Hotel St. Brelade
Lyndhurst Guesthouse Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndhurst Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.