We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and cakes on island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Tea Room

Classic Tea Room
La Route de Manoir, St. Brelade JE3 7DD
01534 498974
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee and cakes on island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We were struck first of all by the smiling helpful staff who made us feel very welcome. The coffee was the best we've had in a long time and the cake too was exceptional. Add to this, the lovely china crockery and the beautiful surroundings and you have a great afternoon out.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“tea on a farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We want to have cream tea on a working farm that have Jersey cows as I was brought up on a Jersey farm in Sussex UK we where mated to feel very welcome and after tea the owner come to talk to us he said that the farmer would show us the cows which borough deck a lot of happy memories so if you are in Jersey you must go

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, homely, tea room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Classic Herd Tea Room (which I thought was in St Peter not St Brelade!) is a great place for lunch or afternoon tea. The food is lovingly home made, fresh and tasty. Their Jersey butter is to die for! A must visit for locals and visitors a like. And you get to visit the gorgeous young cows in the sheds!! Our daughter's favourite thing to do.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely find: well worth visiting again & again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Didn't know the Classic Tea Room existed until very recently. Went today & had a lovely light lunch followed by freshly made cake. The service was friendly, welcoming & efficient and the quality of the food was excellent. There was a lovely selection of cakes available - we were definitely spoiled for choice so will have to go back again to try the rest out!

The tea room itself is an interesting little building - the rings spaced all around the room reveal it's earlier history as a cattle parlour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went for coffee/tea and cake as part of my fathers 85th birthday celebration. It was such a pleasure, service with a smile is not a cliche here. Our order was taken at the table - as there were 6 of us. Everything was perfect, the choice and quality of cakes simply faultless. And the smile on dad's face as the 'girls' brought our cakes and sang happy birthday was a picture. There is no better place for quality and service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Classic Tea Room also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Classic Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.