We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special - a real treat. The whole experience is memorable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very special - a real treat. The whole experience is memorable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed with a friend for one night in June. We were lucky enough to be given the executive suite which was incredible. The room was enormous and very well furnished to a high standard. The bathroom was fabulous with separate bath and shower and plenty of Molton Brown toiletries. Everything was immaculate.

You felt as if you weren't part of a hotel but in your own world, it was very relaxing from the moment you walked in.

Dined in the wonderful restaurant, Ocean, which is a must do. The tasting menu was fresh and delicious, making good use of local produce and not overloading you with food. The wines were generously served and we were given an interesting selection.

Breakfast the next day was served with as great a care as our Michelin starred meal the night before and the selection of dishes was impressive (note that continental breakfast is included in the room rate but the hot dishes are extra).

I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. My friend and I are in our mid twenties and we really enjoyed it as a calm place to retreat after a busy couple of weeks at work. the welcome we got was warm and friendly but staff knew just the right moment to 'leave you be'.

A memorable experience - heartily recommend. Planning my return trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    57
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
295
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
guildford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Ocean Restaurant at this hotel is a "class act".
The design and ambiance of the restaurant reflect perfectly its coastal location.
What a pleasure it was to eat truly fresh and local products.
I had the "Jersey Fillet" steak served with a lobster ravioli and spring vegetables, a beautiful combination of textures and taste.
The service was friendly and efficient, and the staff had the knack of making you feel special.
In short a perfect evening.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

For our first visit to Jersey we booked a package with Condor Ferries who charged about £1400 for four nights on half-board in a sea-view room at the Atlantic, plus return ferry crossings for the two of us and our car. Condor has a virtual monopoly which should be broken up - it’s a lousy ferry service with inconvenient timetables and sometimes outrageous pricing - but we had a fabulous time on the island and we liked the Atlantic Hotel very much. It is a busy, stylish and obviously very successful operation.
The first thing to say about the Atlantic is that it’s not in St Brelade’s Bay, thank God. That’s about three miles away, on the south coast, and is packed with faded grand hotels, bars and restaurants. That’s the very slightly shabby side of Jersey. The Atlantic is in La Pulente, on the windward west coast, facing down to St Ouen’s Bay, the one with the iconic offshore defence tower and the endless stretch of sand, often misidentified as St Brelade’s by some of TA’s reviewers and their photographs. This area is still undeveloped and fairly wild, like the west coasts of Ireland or Scotland.
Our room - 116 - overlooked the swimming pool, the gardens, the sea and over to Guernsey. Standing on the narrow ‘French’ balcony one could also look over the golf course and down to the sweeping sands of St Ouen’s Bay. The room was charming, decorated in a bright blue-white colour scheme and was in a very high state of repair, though because it was fairly small there were a couple of issues with the layout. The bed was slightly too large and the management should banish those bulky units that house CRT TV sets. They take up a lot of space and look rather ugly. If they installed wall-mounted flatscreens they would create a much better sense of space. Nevertheless, we were very happy with our room and its spotless bathroom.
The public areas are very attractive, bright and airy, with plenty of sofas, good local art on the walls and stylish venetian blinds overlooking the pool terrace. The plastic chairs out there are a bit of a lapse in taste. The outdoor pool felt so cold - in July - we never used it . There is also an indoor pool, though it was so small and so shallow - a great disappointment to us - that only young children could feasibly make use of it. Service levels were generally high, though they never collected a room service tray when asked to do so and the reception staff didn’t seem that strong on basic tourist questions. They didn’t seem to have the normal info or leaflets and brochures that tourist hotels usually have by the sackful.
One of the attractions of the hotel is its pretty restaurant, awarded a single Michelin star. Mercifully, the food isn’t overly inventive or complex, though I would say the flavours are generally rather muted. However, we did have one duck dish that was lifted to sublime quality by a puree of dauphinois potatoes infused with truffle oil. There’s a nightly changing three-course set menu for £50 and an a la carte for about £10 more. There’s a fine choice of wine from all world regions with much to choose from in the £20-30 range. Sadly, breakfasts were not quite up to scratch - the meagre buffet, flabby pastries and a frankly disastrous attempt at fried eggs and bacon marked the place down in my book, though they did subsequently manage a perfect pair of poached eggs, served in minimalist style on a square centimetre of toast.
All in all, though, a pleasant and relaxing hotel on this extremely beautiful little island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey, channel islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010 via mobile

Myself and my wife stayed here for our 4th Wedding Anniversary. We chilled by the outdoor pool having some food and drinks. Beautifully landscaped gardens with tennis court and golf couse adjoining and then fantastic views of St. Ouens beach. We decided to go indoors and try out the indoor pool and jucuzzi. It was brilliant !! Took some time in the sauna also which was so envigorating !!! We went back to our room and chilled looking out on the golf course. The room was very clean and very suitable for our stay. Later we went downstairs for our meal. The level of expertise and service was outstanding and not once did I have to even ask for something. The wine waiter was so professional and recommended a great bottle of wine. The food was out of this world....best I've had for a long time. We were treated like kings and queens !!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Visiting a friend in Jersey and was recommended to this hotel. Very comfortable with unobtrusive but attentive staff - Michelin starred restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My Wife &I have been coming over to Jersey for the past 20Yrs.
We have stayed in all the Best Hotels, However now we have been to the Atlantic, we will not be staying any where else. The Room was Spotless, lovely view over the Sea.
The food was very good indeed, the restaurant staff were most Efficient & Friendly.
Good Value with the 3 nights for 2 & a rental Car in the Price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed at the Atlantic back in Feb and have just got round to writing a review - this is an amazing hotel with excellent facilities and some of the best food money can buy and a man/woman can eat - if you go to Jersey STAY HERE it is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.