We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on Jersey's wild west coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
549 helpful votes 549 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on Jersey's wild west coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

For our first visit to Jersey we booked a package with Condor Ferries who charged about £1400 for four nights on half-board in a sea-view room at the Atlantic, plus return ferry crossings for the two of us and our car. Condor has a virtual monopoly which should be broken up - it’s a lousy ferry service with inconvenient timetables and sometimes outrageous pricing - but we had a fabulous time on the island and we liked the Atlantic Hotel very much. It is a busy, stylish and obviously very successful operation.
The first thing to say about the Atlantic is that it’s not in St Brelade’s Bay, thank God. That’s about three miles away, on the south coast, and is packed with faded grand hotels, bars and restaurants. That’s the very slightly shabby side of Jersey. The Atlantic is in La Pulente, on the windward west coast, facing down to St Ouen’s Bay, the one with the iconic offshore defence tower and the endless stretch of sand, often misidentified as St Brelade’s by some of TA’s reviewers and their photographs. This area is still undeveloped and fairly wild, like the west coasts of Ireland or Scotland.
Our room - 116 - overlooked the swimming pool, the gardens, the sea and over to Guernsey. Standing on the narrow ‘French’ balcony one could also look over the golf course and down to the sweeping sands of St Ouen’s Bay. The room was charming, decorated in a bright blue-white colour scheme and was in a very high state of repair, though because it was fairly small there were a couple of issues with the layout. The bed was slightly too large and the management should banish those bulky units that house CRT TV sets. They take up a lot of space and look rather ugly. If they installed wall-mounted flatscreens they would create a much better sense of space. Nevertheless, we were very happy with our room and its spotless bathroom.
The public areas are very attractive, bright and airy, with plenty of sofas, good local art on the walls and stylish venetian blinds overlooking the pool terrace. The plastic chairs out there are a bit of a lapse in taste. The outdoor pool felt so cold - in July - we never used it . There is also an indoor pool, though it was so small and so shallow - a great disappointment to us - that only young children could feasibly make use of it. Service levels were generally high, though they never collected a room service tray when asked to do so and the reception staff didn’t seem that strong on basic tourist questions. They didn’t seem to have the normal info or leaflets and brochures that tourist hotels usually have by the sackful.
One of the attractions of the hotel is its pretty restaurant, awarded a single Michelin star. Mercifully, the food isn’t overly inventive or complex, though I would say the flavours are generally rather muted. However, we did have one duck dish that was lifted to sublime quality by a puree of dauphinois potatoes infused with truffle oil. There’s a nightly changing three-course set menu for £50 and an a la carte for about £10 more. There’s a fine choice of wine from all world regions with much to choose from in the £20-30 range. Sadly, breakfasts were not quite up to scratch - the meagre buffet, flabby pastries and a frankly disastrous attempt at fried eggs and bacon marked the place down in my book, though they did subsequently manage a perfect pair of poached eggs, served in minimalist style on a square centimetre of toast.
All in all, though, a pleasant and relaxing hotel on this extremely beautiful little island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    60
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
79
337
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jersey, channel islands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here for our 4th Wedding Anniversary. We chilled by the outdoor pool having some food and drinks. Beautifully landscaped gardens with tennis court and golf couse adjoining and then fantastic views of St. Ouens beach. We decided to go indoors and try out the indoor pool and jucuzzi. It was brilliant !! Took some time in the sauna also which was so envigorating !!! We went back to our room and chilled looking out on the golf course. The room was very clean and very suitable for our stay. Later we went downstairs for our meal. The level of expertise and service was outstanding and not once did I have to even ask for something. The wine waiter was so professional and recommended a great bottle of wine. The food was out of this world....best I've had for a long time. We were treated like kings and queens !!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Visiting a friend in Jersey and was recommended to this hotel. Very comfortable with unobtrusive but attentive staff - Michelin starred restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

My Wife &I have been coming over to Jersey for the past 20Yrs.
We have stayed in all the Best Hotels, However now we have been to the Atlantic, we will not be staying any where else. The Room was Spotless, lovely view over the Sea.
The food was very good indeed, the restaurant staff were most Efficient & Friendly.
Good Value with the 3 nights for 2 & a rental Car in the Price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Stayed at the Atlantic back in Feb and have just got round to writing a review - this is an amazing hotel with excellent facilities and some of the best food money can buy and a man/woman can eat - if you go to Jersey STAY HERE it is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
44 hotel reviews
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed at the Atlantic hotel in mid October on a short break the deal included a sea view double room, a hire car, 3 nights for 2 and half board with dinner each evening in the Michelin stared restaurant. A very good deal it was to.

The hotel has wonderful views and is within walking or cycling distance from the light house at Corbiere. The grounds are lovely and open and the out door pool would be attractive in the summer – there is an small indoor pool and spar.

The food was fantastic both the breakfasts and the dinners and the service was spot on being neither to hurried or to slow just as one would expect in a restaurant with a Michelin star.

Al the staff were delightful.

We will go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

This is a very well managed hotel. We took our own car on the ferry. There was plenty of car parking.
This is a good location, close to sandy beaches, 10 minutes from the airport (but not on the flight path) and reasonably close to supermarkets and the ferry terminal.
We arrived before the season in Jersey, so there was no on-duty hall porter. The receptionist dealt with our check in and luggage efficiently.
We had a sea-view room with a fine view of St Ouen's Bay. The room was well furnished with a king size bed. The bathroom was modern and well fitted. The room was serviced twice a day. Some comments: there was no clock, they still had a CRT television and, for us, the wi-fi worked only with the door open! The wi-fi worked well in the public rooms.
The restaurant is a feature of the hotel. The chef has a Michelin star and it shows. We were on half-board and it was well worth it: every meal was a treat. The restaurant was very well managed with excellent service. Drinks were pretty expensive: house wine was £30+ a bottle and it was easy to spend £50 on a zinfandel or lower range claret.
We didn't use the gym or the tennis courts, or the adjoining golf course, but the swimming pool was well kept and at a good temperature.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Agoda so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.