We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always go back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always go back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We went there with our family to celebrate a birthday - having been before. As usual the standard was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for us (there were 7 of us in total including 2 children (15 and 10). The hotel is in a secluded spot with breathtaking views of the sea and lovely bay below. The restaurant was as usual excellent and everyone enjoyed the fresh food and choice. We would have liked to have had the specially prepared local dishes on the sat eve but the whole table had to have it and with 7 people incl 2 children this was too restrictive. I don't think there is a better hotel on the island!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    57
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
76
297
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ENGLISHMAN ABROAD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We had holidayed in Jersey many times when our sons were young children so my wife and I took a week to re-visit old haunts.

Enjoyed a wonderful week of comfort, relaxation and attentive service at the Atlantic situated in pleasant grounds next to La Moya Golf Club and overlooking St. Ouens bay. The hotel is light, bright and airey but not too big to be impersonal with outside and indoor pools and a small gym.

All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient and made a point of greeting you whenever they met you. Our room had a sea view, overlooking the poolside terrace and was spacious, clean and well maintained. Each room has a small balcony where you can stand but not sit. The rooms overlooking the golf course are of the same standard and possibly a better option only because if there is a function on the poolside terrace the noise and chatter rises to your room.

We arrived on a Saturday and had not booked dinner to find the hotel restaurant was fully booked. (Popular with non residents).
Without a car until the next day the staff therefore served us a lovely meal in a private recess of the library where we received every possible courtesy from the most attentive waiters.

The same staff (a mix of Frenchman and Italians) served us breakfast each day in the very pleasant restaurant and the same high standard of service and courtesy was maintained throughout. We dined out in the evenings but the popularity of the restaurant testified to the quality of the food and service.
The breakfast buffet was substantial and varied (this is an important meal for us as we only take a snack at lunchtime) and the "cook to order" service was excellent.

One of the girls in the Island Tourist Information Centre told us the Atlantic was one of their top hotels and we would agree.

Highly recommended and we would stay there again.

  • Liked — Great room, excellent service and location, friendly efficient staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

The Atlantic Hotel is on the cliffs overlooking St. Ouen Bay so has great views from the sea facing rooms.
The rooms are well laid out with balconies.
This is a lovely hotel. The decor is immaculate and the staff are charming and extremely efficient.
The Hotel has a superb restaurant and my husband and I ate there many times during our weeks stay even though Jersey has a lot of other really good restaurants.

There is a lovely outdoor pool surrounded by sun loungers so it is great if you just want to enjoy good views, great food and wine and relax.

We love Jersey and would go back as often as work allows but staying at the Atlantic is a must.

  • Liked — Everything, the views, the rooms, the staff
  • Disliked — The only thing that I would have preferred was a greater selection of fresh fruit at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

Having read all the reviews for this hotel we were really looking forward to visiting it and were maybe expecting too much!

We booked a three night half board package for the same rate as bed and breakfast but arrived too late (by 5 minutes) to have dinner on the first night. We were offered the bar menu or room service menu and were charged for the food we ordered. As we were not too hungry (and only ordered a sandwich - excellent!) we did not complain about this but were upset to see diners seated after this time on our last night.

As previously stated the restaurant is excellent, breakfast and evening meals were lovely and the service was lovely. However, the hotel facilities are quite limited - the gym is so small and the indoor pool so tiny that we did not make use of it. The tennis court is pleasant with a lovely view of the bay and we borrowed rackets from the leisure centre to play a game.

As stated previously the rooms are a little disappointing. We stayed in a garden room that was pleasant but not special. The garden patio has the potential to be lovely but with just two white plastic chairs and a plastic table it seemed cheap rather than luxurious.

The location of the hotel is lovely, quiet and near a stunning beach with excellent walks among the sanddunes. However, the walk to the coast is onerous with harepin bends to negotiate.

We were fortunate during our stay that the weather was beautiful and so we were able to be out and about and see Jersey at its best but I think we would have struggled with what to do if the weather had been poor.

All in all the hotel was pleasant with a fantastic restaurant but we did not feel it represented good value for money.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — the spa
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Just returned from a weekend at the Atlantic Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were delighted with the hotel, really feeling it was the best we had ever stayed in.

The hotel is situated in an ideal spot overlooking St Ouen’s Bay, and only a few minutes from the airport. The hotel was extensively refurbished a few years ago, and remains immaculate, the public rooms are stunning.

We had an Ocean View room, overlooking the pool and gorgeous gardens and with fabulous views of the bay. The room itself was beautifully furnished, although not over large and with an extremely nice bathroom. We arrived to find champagne and a red rose, which was a lovely touch.

Absolutely the best thing about this hotel is the staff. Without exception they are incredibly efficient, extremely well trained and with an attitude that nothing is too much trouble. I agree with an earlier reviewer that their training is exemplary. Particularly in the restaurant, the service was impeccable, but so charming. The maitre d’hotel had his finger on the pulse at all times and it showed. This is definitely not always the case, and I have a particular dislike of waiters being pulled up in front of customers. The second night we were there, there was a new waiter being trained, and the maitre was brilliant at directing his work without appearing to. A special talent!

The food is out of this world, and the bar staff make the best Bellini I’ve tasted. The sommelier is also one of the best I’ve come across.

Like other reviewers, my only criticism is that air conditioning would be helpful, despite the carbon footprint. We had the balcony windows open, and a fan on, and were still rather uncomfortable. This was at the end of May, I can imagine it would be unpleasant later in the summer.

However, loved it and can’t wait to return. Next time, we won’t need the anniversary excuse!

  • Liked — Fabulous staff
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I and our two children (14 and 10) stayed here for four nights in late May. Sadly the weather was pretty awful the whole time so we never got to set foot on what looked like a fantastic beach at St Brelade's Bay just down the road!

The hotel is set in lovely gardens with an outdoor swimming pool and nice views from the beach view bedrooms. First impressions of the rooms were that they were a bit tired and it would have been nice to have a balcony you could sit on rather that a rather narrow one you could barely stand on! Also lack of air conditioning in a hotel at these prices was a pain, especially as it was very stuffy in the rooms, even with windows open. No fridge either but, to be fair, one was produced on request (although it did rather clank and rattle so we had to switch it off overnight as it was keeping us awake!).

This sounds as if it is going to be a negative report. The opposite actually - this is due in large part to the staff at the hotel. They were, without exception, gracious, charming and friendly and very kind to both my children. The food in the restaurant was delicious and wine list has some excellent choices on it. Simpler food is available for children. Breakfasts were both buffet style and cooked options (make them a bit warmer please!) also available. All delicious.

The indoor swimming pool is small but perfect when weather is bad and ten year old boys are bored. There is also a jacuzzi and steam room and a small area with gym equipment.

We took the package which included half board and a hire car and we made good use of both!

I would like to visit again and try for some beach time when the weather is better.

In summary - management should be aware that their biggest asset is their staff and the delicious food. A bit of attention to the bedrooms and it would be perfect.

  • Liked — Friendly and charming staff
  • Disliked — Rather jaded rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

My wife and I have just celebrated our wedding anniversary with a four night stay at the Atlantic. We were upgraded to an ocean view room and a complimentary bottle of champagne was waiting for us.

We have stayed in many superb hotels around the world but the Atlantic tops them all - great staff and service, friendly atmosphere, Michelin starred restaurant, lovely bedrooms and public areas, spotless indoor pool - these are just some of the many outstanding qualities of the Atlantic. A wonderful stay, can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Spotless room, quality fittings, very comfortable bed, fresh fruit and flowers.
  • Disliked — No air-conditioning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.