We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel - anywhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel - anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have hesitated to review this hotel because it feels like we are giving away the location of our 'secret retreat' - you don't want everyone to discover it!
We have been visiting The Atlantic every year for the last five years, and absolutely love it. The staff are all magnificent, from the maids, to the helpful reception, to the waiters and bar staff. The stand-out staff though are Martinho de Sousa the restaurant manager, and Mark Jordan the executive chef. (I have posted a separate review of Marks new restaurant venture Mark Jordan at the Beach, in St Aubin - this is well worth a visit, and the staff there particularly Andrew (ex-Atlantic Hotel) are excellent also).
The hotel is beautiful but it is definitely the staff that make it the experience that it is, and the reason we (and many others) keep returning year after year.
I would pick this place out as my favourite hotel anywhere in the world, and we use it as the yardstick to judge other places by.
There - I have reviewed it as last. I don't know if I have done the right thing now - don't want the place overbooked when we go back again....and again...

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but choose a sea view (over the golf view rooms) if you can or the garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    57
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
76
301
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The Atlantic is a good hotel but there are a few things that could make it outstanding. We were shown to our rooms which were golf view rooms, only to be told that the rooms were the wrong ones so we were moved down the corridor. Unfortunately the rooms we were moved to did not have the same view of the golf course, in fact we just had a view on a flat roof and the car park with the golf course just behind some trees, a little disappointing. The restuarant is fab with a great view and really attentive staff, the manager was excellent and was keen to ensure his team provided great service whether it was breakfast or dinner in the Mark Jordan restaurant. Reception team were a little more efficient and brisk but none the less delivered what was required. The hotel has not got air conditioning, the gym is dated, but putting this to one side it has a lovely location with a great view (I would get an ocean view room), wonderful food and comfortable rooms. I would stay again.

Room Tip: ocean view or golf view at the opposite end to reception and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was our 6th visit to the Atlantic and didn't disappoint as usual.The staff are couteous and well mannered.The hotel is welcoming and has the best views in Jersey.Breakfast is something to look forward to,with the buffet and Jersey full breakfast.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view as the views when you open the curtains in the morning are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I wanted a relaxing, luxury weekend and we were not disappointed, it is hard to think of any way to improve on the weekend we had. The staff, the food, the ambience, the environment were all perfect.

Room Tip: We chose the sea view rooms and it was worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent four nights here in mid July and although the weather was mixed we had absolutely
first class service from this very well positioned hotel.
Staff were all first class. The ocean view room excellent, no fridge but room service was most efficient. We used the restaurant twice and the food and attention to detail superb.
Working out how to use the bath /shower taps was interesting and instructions woiuld have helped! probably one of the best short breaks we have had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Went to sample the set lunch menu and initially was impressed with the restaurant and staff. The table was beautifully presented and the staff were well turned out. They were a bit over attentive though and insisted on explaining what was on every plated dish delivered. Surprisingly it was what I had ordered and they kept breaking into our conversation!
I unfortunately sent my calves liver back as it was too salty. The replacement dish was also very salty but my companions had finished and if they couldn't get it right twice I was reluctant to let the chef have a third attempt!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN, IRELAND
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed in the Atlantic Hotel on Jersey for the first time this week and found it excellent - even without trying the Michelin 1-star restaurant! It stands on a wonderful location overlooking the sea and a short taxi ride from the airport. The room was extremely comfortable and was both restful and conducive to work - a difficult combination in my opinion. I will likely return on future work visits to the island and would highly recommend for either leisure or work purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Escapio, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.