We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Golf Course view room, pleasant well appointed modern room. Excellent presentation and very well maintained.
Good sized, airy room with nice compact bathroom.
Very good front desk staff and nice public areas. Great views.

Good but not great restaurant, breakfast ok, but service far too fussy for breakfast, slow for hot drinks, food well cooked and good quality.

This hotel has got the front desk service that far more expensive 5*+ hotels dream of, except the restaurant, where the service interferes with the experience rather than adds to it.

Overall great location for a weekend away or longer holiday, if you can ignore the annoyance of the oppressive restauarant service.

Room Tip: Golf course rooms lack the sea view but lack little else. Not huge rooms, but just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    57
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
295
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
co. cork ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

WOW - What a total pleasure! My elderly parents and I stayed here for 3 nights and were made to feel like royalty from the minute we arrived.To be addressed by name these days is so nice. Every aspect of this hotel is top-notch. Every single person we met was polite, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in our well-being and appreciative of our custom. I particularly want to mention the waiters in each area who are all well-spoken, respectful and obviously well-trained by the excellent restaurant manager. This is one slick operation. DON'T HESITATE - GO - YOU WON'T BE SORRY.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went here to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. There were 13 of us in total including 6 children aged 18months to 12. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff couldn't do enough. They were polite, helpful and friendly and are all a credit to the place.
The rooms were fantastic. We had an interconnecting room with a beautiful ocean view. The rooms were immaculate, clean and we were given bottled water , fresh fruit and a newspaper everyday. The toiletries were Molton Brown too! We were also given a turn down service every evening which was a nice touch too.
The restaurant and restaurant staff were second to none. Food was all freshly prepared and beautifully presented. We were given a couple of tasters too in between courses 'compliments of the chef' which were a fantastic touch. Restaurant staff ensured meals were placed on the table all at the same time which we loved. They served us with a smile and couldn't do enough for us.
Although some people may not think this hotel is for children, they had childrens' menus and served tea earlier for them on the terrace a couple of times. They couldnt' do enough for the children either. The children enjoyed the outdoor pool and indoor pool which was great.
Thank you Atlantic Hotel for a special and memorable stay. Thank you to all the staff who made it even more special. You made my mum's birthday! We would definitely like to return and will certainly be recommending your hotel to anyone who asks about where to stay in Jersey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

A lovely hotel with absolutely the best staff we have ever come across - polite, helpful and enthusiastic. The service is second to none and everyone is made to feel welcome. The rooms were spotless with limitless supply of toiletries. Fresh fruit was supplied daily along with water and newspapers. The breakfasts were amazing, freshly baked pastries and muffins every day with everything cooked to order - no fighting at the buffet counter! Lovely gardens to relax in during the day and a quiet relaxed atmosphere at the bar area in the evening. Can't fault this hotel and will be returning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were treated to a night at this hotel after a relative had experienced a wonderful stay earlier in the year.
It was very nice from the start - a lovely reception area with the sound of trickling water coming from the fish pond. We were given a brief explanation of where everything was and were then taken upstairs to our room on the first floor. - and a nice surprise, we had been upgraded to ocean view. The patio doors opened onto a small ledge and we looked out to the Atlantic - beautiful. The pool below was nicely obscured by trees and we only saw it when we went out for a walk. It was lovely and surrounded by loungers and an abundance of colourful flowers. Our room was very spacious and bright, nice furniture, chaise longue and a couple of tables as well as the TV hidden in the wooden cabinet. A supply of tea/coffee was on display while the kettle and nice crockery was in a cabinet. The bathroom was also well supplied with Molton Brown essentials and the hairdryer was secreted in a cupboard next to the sink. Very tidy. Bathrobes and slippers were supplied too though we didn't use them. Could have used them for the spa but we didn't bother as only there one night.
We were looking forward to our evening meal as had heard so much about the food - and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed a cocktail in the lounge while we chose from the menu - and there was lots of choice. There were 3 menus - A La Carte, Table D'Hote and A Tasting menu of seven courses. We went A La Carte which I think was £65 for 3 courses. It was an experience of flavours. I don't know if they would call it Nouvelle Cuisine but it was small amounts of heavenly food - served by extremely professional staff who would tell you exactly what every ingredient was on your plate. Also they presented 2 extra "tasters" compliments of the chef of a starter and a sweet - about the size of a teaspoon but so tasty. The food is to die for and I would say - for a special occasion. I dont know if people staying at the hotel for longer, would want to experience that for a week or two, even if they could afford it.
Breakfast was also an experience - a lovely display of fruit and cereals to help yourself to while the juice was served at your table - apparently freshly squeezed that morning and none kept over to the next day - so that would answer my wondering why it wasn't out in jugs to be self-served. I like juice in the morning so I was very glad when we were automatically asked if we'd like more.It takes a bit of getting used to, having almost everything done for you at the table, but everything was "just so" and the staff were most particular in getting everything right.
We had a lovely stay there - of course we would like to go back - but I would say it was for special occasions. We did meet a German couple who were there for 2 weeks, we also met a family who were there for a week (boys were about 10 - 12yrs and well behaved). I wouldn't have thought of it as child friendly as so much effort is put into luxury and atmosphere, so I personally wouldn't come with small children. It is part of the SLH group - Small Luxury Hotels of the World and I get the impression it is for escaping stress and noise. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The first thing that strikes you about the Atlantic is the location. Overlooking the dramatic coastline of St Brelades Bay. The second thing for us was the service - it was a nice touch to be personally greeted by the receptionist in the car park as we unloaded our bags - it made us feel really welcome. Mark Jordan's Michelin starred restaurant was a real treat - lovely fresh local fish dishes and delicious desserts. We went here on our first night - a great way to get into the holiday and put the ferry journey behind us. Throughout our stay, we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for any of the seaview rooms. It's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here recently for the weekend and it was amazing. The Hotel is in a beautiful location and the views are just amazing. From the minute we arrived we felt very welcomed. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was exceptional and well worthy of it's Michelin star and the staff were all very attentive and knowledgeable. Throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for anyone and it made for a very relaxing break. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Le Mont de la Pulente, St. Brelade JE3 8HE
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Jersey's finest luxury hotels which combines breathtaking ocean views with a Michelin-starred restaurant, The Atlantic is situated on one of the most stunning sites in the Channel Islands. As one of the top hotels in the British Isles and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, the combination of timeless elegance and secluded location makes The Atlantic the perfect hideaway on an island rich in heritage and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel St Brelade
Atlantic Hotel Jersey
Atlantic St Brelade
The Atlantic Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.