We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Route de la Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EF   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A BRILLIANT HOLIDAY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned following a week's holiday with friends at St Brelade's Bay, Jersey. We found the Golden Sands Hotel to be excellent with extremely helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We looked forward to the lovely meals in the Dining Room with the excellent service from the waiters/waitresses, always with a smile, and friendly banter with Alistair, the Dining Room Manager who did a great job. The views out to sea from the Dining Room and Bar/Lounge are peaceful and picturesque, an added bonus!

We found the Receptionists to be pleasant and helpful so maybe the writer who found this not to be the case had encountered them at a particularly trying time!

Our room (414) was perfectly adequate for us - it was rather warm with being "up in the roof" but apart from the first night, it was quiet enough outside to have the windows open.

We loved St Brelade's Bay with it's clean sandy beach and hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    56
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
119
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
631 helpful votes 631 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding and wont be returning. The first room we stayed in was a twin room. The decor was from the eighties dark wood. The twin beds was pushed together so no room inbetween. Room was on the small side. It also had no air con so had to have windows open as room was so hot. Not good as you are over looking the main road through St Brelades and the noise in the morning from the road woke me up at five in the morning. The bathroom needed sprucing up flaking paint, caps missing off screw heads and dirty grouting. Window right next to shower so had to have blinds down and lights on. Thankfully we only had booked this room for one night. The next night we booked into a seaview room. Bigger, brighter, cooler rooms and more up to date decor. My friend and his wife stayed in room 203 there was only a small shower cubicle with a cheap shower curtain. There was nowhere to put any toiletries in this bathroom except on the floor. This room also never had a bath. Our room 207 had a bath and shower with a large sink you could put toiletries on. These rooms also had no air con. The best thing about these rooms are the stunning views. Now on to the staff. Reception staff seemed a bit offish. The bar closes at 11:30 with no room service ( so we was told by the night porter at 11:45 pm). Breakfast is a buffet so once you was shown to your table you can help yourselfs to a wide variety of cerals jucies and fruit. Opposite the fruit and ceral bar is the hot breakfast bar with a wide selection of items all well cooked. Toast and hot drinks are brought to the table as your order is taken as you are shown your seat. The staff in the breakfast room are polite and friendly unlike the reception staff. On the last day of our stay the lift was out of order so had to carry all our luggage down stairs and on arrival at reception they told us that they would have brought down our luggage. Why couldnt they add to the note on to the out of order notice that they had placed on the lift that please call reception and we will gladly help you with any luggage. While waiting for other members of our group we seen a very elderly woman with walking difficuties struggling down the last few steps whilst her elderly daughter was carrying her walking frame. These was welcomed with the same blase response we got " You should have said and we would have helped you". We got these rooms at a discounted rate as there was a large group of us and the majority of us was not happy with the over priced, hot, basic rooms.Overall we will not be returning. The location even though right on the beach is not ideal as there isn't much to do in the local vicinity apart from veg out on the beach or eat at the very local, very good restaurants. This either means hiring a car or getting buses. You also have to pay for the car park opposite ( paycards) as the hotel don't throw this in when you stay.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel. Two second walk down some steps to the beach. You can have breakfast looking over the beach, breakfast is really nice and you can have fruit, meats or all day breakfast. Lunch menu is nice as well great choice. Rooms are spacious but noisy you can hear people above you walking about and the doors are so noisy as well. That's a downer but doesn't help when people don't think of other people in the hotel. Also would recommend paying extra for a sea view as it's a lot quieter. The rooms facing the road, you can't have your window open at night it's so noisy with bin men, etc. beds are ok but pillows are so hard but everyone have their own opinion for that.
I'd recommend this place, there are buses every 15mins to the centre, taxis are about £20 from here to st helier. Just keep checking the bus times, you can get off at st aubens as well.
It's a nice hotel and the staff are really pleasant

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had 4 days at The Golden Sands and loved it. Great setting on the beach. We had a sea view with balcony which blew us away. We like nice hotels but can honestly say the friendliness and helpfulness of all staff surpassed anything we have come across before...reception staff, waiting staff and chambermaids.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings and were very impressed with the food and service. There are several decent restaurants in walking distance.
The hotel don't provide towels for the beach and the only shop locally sell poor quality ones for £11 each so I'd advise bringing your own.
We would definitely consider returning to this hotel any summer.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must if you can stretch to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is in the most wonderful location and is, mostly, a great hotel.
However I was a bit disappointed with the Receptionist (not the Australian girl) who checked us in; she was most unhelpful, and also with the Hotel Manageress who was extremely aloof and couldn't even greet guests (well us!) with a smile.
We did look very bedraggled as we'd had a really rough and wet crossing from Guernsey; maybe that had something to do with it.
My husband asked to have a room with a bath and was just told no there wasn't one available, and we also asked to upgrade and were just told we couldn't.
How nice it would have been to be offered something maybe later in the holiday.
We'd already been told the hotel wasn't full.
Also, coming back from the night Battle of Flowers parade at 11.20, the girl on the bar refused to serve anyone, saying the bar was closed!!! A 4* hotel!!!
After a lot of pressure from other guests, she relented, but not very happily!
The food was superb for sure and nothing too much trouble for the Restaurant Staff. They were brilliant.
Also the lady who looked after our room was wonderful, too.
Please treat everyone the same! You don't really know who they are!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs United
Thank you for your recent posting regarding your stay with us at the Golden Sands Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant and our housekeeping standards.

Unfortunately the room type you reserved with us only have walk in showers and we did not have any sea view rooms available throughout the duration of your stay not even for one of two nights. As you can appreciate the Battle of the Flowers week is one of the busiest weeks of the season.

I am suprised to read that you did not feel that Janice was very helpful on reception as throughout the season she is mentioned very positively on our guest feedback forms.

Regarding the service you received in the bar I agree this was not acceptable and the young lady who was on duty that evening has been reprimanded for her actions.

I only wish you had come to speak to myself or my Deputy during your stay and we would have been able to discuss these matters. It is very difficult for us to rectify issues once you have departed the hotel. We do not like to think that our guests are leaving unhappy.

I am sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and I would ask you to please contact me personally should you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a wonderful stay at the Golden Sands last year we had no hesitation in booking for this year too, and I can only repeat last years review.... fabulous hotel, excellent food, location and view amazing...but the thing that makes this Hotel perfect is the staff...from manager to cleaner they are all friendly, helpful and courteous, nothing is a bother... but a special mention goes to ...Alex on reception with her smile and friendly greeting... John the barman who seemed to remember what everybody drank..lol.... Robbie and Alex in dining room, the mother and daughter team who did the rooms whose names unfortunately I didn't get, and lastly the girl who was always smiling and always took time for a little chat while serving in the dining room Veronika. Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful and I hope to see you all next year... just waiting for prices to re-book....

Room Tip: def go for a sea view room with balcony....and if you can afford it go for superior sea view its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Rozzie

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on your holiday with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed a copy of your posting onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully next year.

Kind regards
Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Jersey and I was travelling with my husband and out two sons aged 16 and very nearly 12 year old, I picked this hotel due to the location on the beach and the reviews, was not disappointed, A FANTASTIC HOTEL WITH A FANTASTIC MANAGERESS AND A BRILLIANT TEAM OF COLLEAGUES WITH HER.

The hotel situation almost on the beach was lovely and the weather for our week was also lovely, many walks along the beach at night before a nightcap in the bar before bed was most enjoyable.

We hired a car for the week and this was very good as in the evening if we did not choose to eat in the hotel we could go further afield and enjoy the gorgeous scenery that Jersey holds, a beautiful island.

We enjoyed lots of different day trips to the War Tunnels, Elizabeth Castle, St Helier etc we also took the rapide condor ferry to St Malo in France for the day which was well worth the visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on the beautiful Island of Jersey and the fantastic hotel we opted for.

Good food, breakfast lovely and the setting of the beach unfolds before your eyes is breathtaking, all food on the menus is homemade.

We paid a little extra to get the superior familyroom with view on the fourth floor, would recommend the sea view it is a marvellous sight and very pleasing on the eye.

If I return to Jersey again I would either use this hotel or one part of the group, I would recommend this hotel very much.

Well done to Avril and her staff who in my opinion are doing everything right, keep up the good work and thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view it's a must, sorry there is no fitness suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G0ldenSandsJersey, General Manager at Golden Sands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Kay

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Golden Sands and your first trip to Jersey. Jersey is such a beautiful island and has so much to offer.

We hope that if you decide to visit the island again that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Sands.

Kind regards
Avril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel

Address: La Route de la Baie, St. Brelade’s Bay, St. Brelade JE3 8EF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#7 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of the popular St Brelade’s Bay, the Golden Sands Hotel is the perfect location for a quality, beach holiday in Jersey that is as active or relaxing as you choose. Recently refurbished and enjoying 4 star status, the hotel offers panoramic views over the white sandy beach and clear blue waters from the restaurant, café bar and most of the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands St Brelade
Golden Sands Hotel Jersey/St. Brelade
Hotel Golden Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.