We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Place to stay in Jersey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Place to your Saves list
Hotel La Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in St. Brelade
Cardiff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La Place to stay in Jersey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had stayed at La Place a couple of years ago and enjoyed it so much we booked another break there for the end of June. We enjoyed our second visit just as much. It is such a lovely quiet location, in the country but close to St Aubins, St Brelade's Bay and the airport (but not the flightpath!). A car is fairly essential as there are no pedestrian paths around - a common feature in Jersey.
Service was exceptional - polite and friendly but never intrusive. We have always eaten in the hotel and found the standards to be very high - both for breakfast and particularly in the evening.
We would recommend having a superior room. We had a standard one for one night on out last visit and asked to be changed. The rooms don't appear to have been redecorated for a while but provide a nice comfortable, slightly retro, environment. Our only gripe would be the poor quality TV reception and lack of Freeview. We didn't go to Jersey to watch TV but when the World Cup and Wimbledon are on..............
It's not a cheap hotel, but then, compared to other 4 star hotels in Jersey, it is good value.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    62
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
207
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cambridgeshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I have been staying on business at this Hotel on and off over the past year, and I have to tell you it's just lovely. every member of staff are professional and friendly . Its spotless and the food is varied and well presented. If you are looking for a quiet retreat then this is your spot. They arrange pick up from the airport if you dont want a hire car. The bus stop for St Helier is directly outside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We spent the Easter 2010 weekend in Jersey visiting family and decided to give La Place a go, as our usual choices were fully booked or unreasonably expensive. As we've visited the island many times and had a hire car, we had no problems finding the hotel, or difficulties with its rural location. I think it is fair to point out however that the hotel is located off a narrow country lane, about 1km up the hill behind St Aubin, so is not easily within walking distance of shops/restaurants/facilities. The road down to St Aubin is narrow, unlit and with no pavement, so I would certainly not fancy walking this route at night - but as we had the car we were untroubled by this.

The hotel has plenty of free parking spaces and is well sign-posted from just outside St Aubin. The building itself is clearly an older property, and some people may find it just a little faded round the ages, but not to the extent that this would detract from a stay here. Our room was a good size and was comfortably furnished, although a mini-bar/fridge would have been nice. The TV had only 4 terrestrial channels and reception was very poor. Ironic really as the hotel did have free wifi internet access that worked fine.

The double bed was actually 2 single mattresses pushed together, so I would deduct 1 point from what otherwise was very comfortable sleeping conditions.

We didn't eat in the hotel (they are at pains to advertise their restaurant and the need to book), apart from breakfast which we had delivered to the room each morning without problems. Our room faced out over the swimming pool, which due to the chilly Easter weather was not yet in use. I thought this area could do with a bit of modernisation and lansdcaping as it looked rather similar to a 1960's American motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed a la Place in August, food was fantastic so where the staff, yes its old but its a 200 year old building.
Fantastic value we will return

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham-UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We booked our wedding with Jersey Wedding Service but towards the date of us flying to Jersey to get married, we were worried about the lack of organisation from Jersey Wedding Services.

Thankfully Paul the Manager at Hotel La Place saved us! His organisation skills and helpfullness made our wedding so special.

It was just me and my husband who attended the wedding service at the hotel, but the staff at this hotel made the room look so beautiful and gave us a lovely champagne breakfast which made me a little bit tipsy! and cry over breakfast as i've never been so happy.

Just want to say a big thank you to Paul and his team for making our day so special! We can't wait to come back !!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

I booked a weekend in Jersey for my partner's 30th birthday surprise. Looking online for an outstanding hotel the Hotel La Place looked amazing on their website.

Because I booked 9 months in advance I got a big discount and paid £320 for 2 nights B&B in a Superior room. This I still thought was very expensive having stayed in 5 star London hotels for cheaper but I thought it would be worth it.

Reception was ok - we were dealt with very professionally and although we arrived early were shown to our room which was very spacious and clean. I have to say I was disappointed with the room. It really didnt look like the picture on the website.

We decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night - since we didnt know the island - the food was lovely - the service was well below what I expected! After ordering a bottle of wine the waiter literally just plonked the bottle down and walked away! We were the only people in the restaurant - it was hardly because he was too busy! - Luckily for us the bottle had a screw cap so we openned it ourselves and poured! So much for customer service!
It was downhill from then on - I found one particular waiter (both at dinner and breakfast time) both moody and rude! Was he not trained to ASK someone if they had finished their meal before removing the plate!?! I was still chewing!!

The room was 'nice'
The food was lovely
Customer service in the restaurant was awful
The bed was comfy!

Would I go back ?? No -
Was it worth £160 a night? No (and this was with a discount!!!)

Jersey itself was lovely - rained a bit but when the sun was out the island glistened!! The beaches are beautiful.

Second night we went to the Salty Dog restaurant in St Aubins ! The food, customer service, location, atmosphere was amazing!! Go there if you can !!!

  • Liked — The comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Customer service!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We have just returned from our 2nd years stay at this hotel, it was as if we we had never been away!
We were picked up from the airport on arrival by the hotel's car and taken to the hotel where we were greeted with open arms. We were shown to our rooms(the same ones as requested at booking) which were spotlessly clean and awaiting us was a chilled bottle of bubbly.(Most appreciated)!
We had booked Bed & Breakfast for our stay, and again just as we remembered it .Everything you could think of from cereals, freshly made croissants,fruit, yoghurt to the full engligh breakfast.
(And we still made room for lunch)!
We did have the odd shower of rain during our stay, so we ordered room service for dinner on a couple of occasions, not a problem the restaurant just came to us! The food was fantastic.
Throughout our stay all the staff were so friendly and very efficient, NOTHING was ever too much trouble for them.
We knew the hotel had changed hands last year and were expecting changes, we were not dissapointed. Its amazing what a difference it made to my children by having the use of a lilo and a rubber ring in the pool and a quick game of croquet after breakfast or a game of badminton. Even games for rainy days. Just to name a few of these little added comforts.
We had a fantastic holiday and most of that is down to Paul and his Awesome Staff for making us so welcome.
And a very special thank you to the hotel owner himself for taking the time out to drive us to the airport 'in the stretch limo' for our return flight.
We hope to return very very soon!

  • Liked — Excellent food and service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Address: Le Route Du Coin, St. Brelade JE3 8BT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Brelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Brelade
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Brelade
#3 Family Hotel in St. Brelade
#4 Business Hotel in St. Brelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Place 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored 17th-century farmhouse provides peaceful guestrooms in rural Jersey. Set 1 mile from St. Aubin’s harbour, it has an outdoor pool, free Wi-Fi and offers free airport transfers.All rooms at Hotel La Place have views of either the pool or the Jersey countryside. Each room also includes satellite TV and a work area. Pet freindly ground floor rooms have a private patio area.The award-winning Retreat Restaurant serves Jersey's finest produce with al fresco dining during the warm months. Guests can also relax in the Retreat Bar or the snug lounge.Hotel La Place is just a 5-minute drive from the Airport, a ten minute drive into St Helier and many of the islands famous beaches! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place St Brelade
Hotel La Place Jersey/St. Brelade

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.