We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
Le Mont du Ouaisne, St. Brelade JE3 8AW
01534 498605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Channel islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This restaurant is in a spectacular position and has panoramic views of the bay. The menu is limited and food is average.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    18
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location but disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The deck of the Beach House, situated at Ouaisne, is an idyllic location to watch the sunset. The food is very good however, the service falls behind. We have eaten here several times, drawn by the view, but sadly have experienced inefficiency, confusion and tardiness on all but one occasion. Even on that occasion when all went well for us we witnessed a table of clients leaving, having waited an hour for their starters to arrive. I would suggest that the management take staff back to basics- learn to work as a team, communicate, know which orders are for which tables, be vigilant and, for the manager of the restaurant.....manage it! It must be added though that the waiting staff are polite, well meaning and pleasant. Please improve, we would come back and the restaurant's potential is huge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Over hyped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Popped in for quick drink before moving on to anther restaurant for dinner. No table service if you are in the ground floor area. Different serving statins for drinks or coffee.

Reasonably priced but not somewhere I would return to

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All about the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food and service as good as the view we had two lovely evenings eating outside looking across the bay.

Need to book and ask for frontline table overlooking the beach best time to eat 6.30 food served from 6.00 it's all about the sun on the beach but what a great place my wife and kids loved it I have been many times but the kids are still talking about it.

Got to go if the forecast is good as no place to go out of season.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful service, wonderful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we are in Jersey we head straight for The Beach House and I breath a sigh of relief! It is just wonderful to be back at The Beach House, receive a warm and friendly welcome no matter how busy they are. All the specials of the day are carefully explained and I always struggle between my regular favourites or trying something different. No matter what I pick I thoroughly enjoy it.

If anyone is visiting Jersey for the first time this has to be a must try place but do book to avoid disappointment as it is very popular.

Hope to see you soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

 
Jersey, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.