We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem by the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

Old Smugglers Inn
Mont du Ouaisne, Ouaisne, St. Brelade
01534 741510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem by the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is so good that my family complain if we go anywhere else! Last year, we ate at Smugglers 11 nights out of 14 - whilst on holiday. We've been here 3 nights so far this year and we've dined there twice.
The Espedadas are amazing and the staff are brilliant. We have a dog and he's always made very welcome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    61
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“O K”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great setting, which is a shame, the setting is calling out for a top notch pub/restaurant and this one just hasn't got it!

Slow service with no follow up to ask if things are ok, or to refill empty glasses and waitresses avoided eye contact which meant going to the bar yourself and if you needed any sauces etc., you had to wait 'forever'. I paid separately for the drinks and our two meals, which did not include starters and sweets, came to £43! Not a fortune, but compared to other pub/restaurants on the Island, certainly not value for money. This was our second visit to this pub - previous one about five years ago - and probably won't try it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,UK
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great value 3 course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate here one evening recently, and it was very good. Small bar didn't look up to much on arrival but thru a side door was another small bar and a restaurant area which was a pleasant surprise.
There was a 3 course specials menu which I think was £18 something. I had a lovely rib eye steak, we shared a starter and dessert and my wife had a main of fresh fish. It was all excellent and very good value for money. No wonder it was so busy on a Monday evening.
Good service by the waiting staff, though a little slow at the bar with locals getting preferential service which was a little annoying. Other than that, a great evening meal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great location for a walk after your meal. Good menu and excellent real ale. Friendly staff and locals.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Make a point of coming here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Every year we stay in St Brelade and if the weather is good - or even not quite - we walk round from St Brelade's Bay to have a decent drink here. If you are not British, this as good a representation of a British pub as you will find. Agree with other reviewers; no fuss, no overdone frills and friendly but not fussy service. Have not eaten restaurant-wise, but a quick snack was perfectly adequate. My only advice is that if you are driving here, the road down is narrow and hair-raising.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Smugglers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.