We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Gone downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

Old Smugglers Inn
Mont du Ouaisne, Ouaisne, St. Brelade
01534 741510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
coventry
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Food Gone downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

On my last two trips to jersey I have eaten here a lot,this last
trip in oct 2013 I intended to do the same but the meal served to myself
and a colleague was very poor,
rib eye steak that had been battered into submissiom and lukewarm vedgetables.
Enough was enough.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    66
    12
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Seems to have gone downhill a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been to the Smugglers in the past and the food has always been good pub grub but on this occasion it seemed to be lacking in many ways. My chicken salad had so called croutons in it but these were barely toasted pieces of oil saturated bread which did not taste that great. The chicken was dry and there was far too much lettuce filling the plate. Other courses purchased were lamb shank which I was believe was nice enough but my partner had little praise for his meal of prawn and smoked salmon salad, nothing special at a price of nearly £14, although he was happy with the choice of real ale.

Hoping this place will pick up again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Olde Worldy Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited the Old Smugglers Inn whilst in Jersey in September. From the moment we walked in we were greeted with a warm welcome from the male barman. Service was excellent, the food was great and served with a smile,and the cost was very reasonable. The number of ales on display was varied, alas I was driving so could only take a soft drink. It is everything that previous reviews have said in a fabulous location. Will most certainly call in when next in Jersey

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“How Pubs Should Be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was like stepping back in time. we went for a couple of drinks with family on the first day of our holiday. I suspect the fact that the barman knew Roy and Ann our family by name, let us know that this is possibly their local. The range of drinks was very good and although we did not eat we heard very good things about the food, looking forward to our return visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st pierre de plesguen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Recommended for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

although you have to make sure to be there in time (we have been refused dinner when arriving at 2.10pm as the kitchen closes at 2pm sharp!), it is a great place to have sunday lunch followed by a nice walk along the beach.
very varied menu although unfortunately last time we could only choose out of pork or pork for the Sunday roast. I opted for the beef and king prawn espetada instead and with a shared portion of cheesy garlic bread we just about managed to clear our plates.
portions are big!
food is yummy.
service is adequate.
the desserts looked inviting enough on the black board, but we opted for an ice cream from the little beach cafe across the road instead. much cheaper and with the lovely weather we rather spent the time outside on the beach than indoors, however nice the setting is.
certainly worth a visit when you fancy a good meal in a great historical setting (don't be put off by the road to get there).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Smugglers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.