We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not you're average pub grub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

Old Smugglers Inn
Mont du Ouaisne, Ouaisne, St. Brelade
01534 741510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not you're average pub grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I took my family in here while on holiday. We were all made to feel very welcome from the moment we entered. We hadn't booked a table but were soon seated in the restaurant. The menu has a huge choice so give yourself plenty of time. The food was quick to arrive and we were all pleasantly surprised with the generous portions. Everything was beautifully cooked and presented. The prices are a bit higher than the usual pubs, but still the value for money was very good.
I am quite particular when it comes to eating out, but I couldn't really fault it. This is by far the best place to eat in the area. If there is one place you should visit when you visit Jersey make it this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    66
    12
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berwick Upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely meals and at a reasonable price, as is the drink. Lovely old place with a nice atmosphere. Can be busy. Had a lovely T bone steak and half a lobster on another visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Public house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well worth a visit,great food,great prices,great location.easy parking,the bay makes it a perfect location to visit/stay,,great for a walk along the beach,,Highly recommend a visit here,,,,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Go here hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly pub with huge plates of great food and a vast menu. The owner is really helpful and allows dogs in the bar which our Choccy Lab is grateful for.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Proper Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great pub - with proper pub-grub.
Very impressed with the beer , also enjoyed being drawn into the old chaps' conversation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Smugglers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.