We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, nice staff, bit nicer than standard pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Smugglers Inn

Old Smugglers Inn
Mont du Ouaisne, Ouaisne, St. Brelade
01534 741510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in St. Brelade
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, nice staff, bit nicer than standard pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited here twice this weekend as it's such a lovel walk across St Brelade and this is a few yards from the beach. Lovely converted fishermans cottages into a beamed pub with a roaring fire. The menu is large and is your standard pub food, they did have some lovely specials and my other half ordered the seabass which was apparently delicious, i had chicken cordon bleu which homemade and not out of the freezer. We returned for lunch the next day which was perfectly acceptable for the price. Good pub grub at decent prices and great setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    66
    12
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A good seaside old inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nice pint and very family friendly, great for a walk to from the Hotel's on St Brelade's Bay when the tide is out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We saw a sign on the road for this inn and decided to investigate. We liked the setting so much that we booked a table for that evening.
Our table was close to a lovely log fire, which was very welcome with outside temperatures close to freezing.
The staff were very helpful in ensuring my wife's meal was gluten-free
We had a really good meal in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Good meal in a friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dined here as a party of 4. My partner and I had crab cakes to start followed by espetadas (prawn and chicken and prawn and scallop). The starter was a little bland apart from the chilli sauce. The espetadas were very tasty however the chicken was quite dry and both dishes were a little cold as if they had been left to stand for a while. The accompaniements to the meal (rice, chips and roasted vegetables) were very nice. Other members of our party enjoyed the lamb shank and fish and chips. There was a good selection of real ale including local and imports. Very nice setting and good ambience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my husbands favorite place to eat whilst we were in Jersey. Friendly helpful staff. Nice food. Great beer. Log Fire. Dart Board. And right near the boat slip. His idea of heaven. If we came back to Jersey I am sure this would be on his list of the first places to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Smugglers Inn also viewed

 
St. Brelade, Jersey
St. Brelade, Jersey
 

Been to Old Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Smugglers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.