We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A kettle wouldn't go amiss!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Viveur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Aubin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Viveur
Save
You added Bon Viveur to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fischer Place, St Aubin’s Bay, St. Aubin JE3 8AB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St. Aubin
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A kettle wouldn't go amiss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This guest house could be really good as the location is brilliant and the view is great. However, it left a lot to be desired. Compared to some of the other accommodation on Jersey it was relatively cheap, but you do get what you pay for. The rooms are small, but that wasn't the main problem, having driven from south Wales at 4am to catch a ferry that took 5 1/2 hours due to bad weather we were looking forward to a warm welcome and a nice cup of tea. unfortunately we got neither. The manager who greeted us was quite rude and there are no tea making facilities in the room. It would be a really good investment if they provided this as it really does make a difference, especially as you are unable to even pay for a cup of tea apart from between 7-8am!
The guest house is in desperate need of a revamp and our room was quite dirty (I even found a wine gum from a previous guest next to the bed on arrival). We luckily brought our own towels as the ones provided did have a really musty smell to them.
The breakfast was quite amusing, it seems quite dated to only allow a certain number of items for a cooked breakfast and also no freedom to help yourself to cereal or juice. Instead a waiter would serve you everything and you felt awkward asking for any extra. One morning I asked for some extra toast and got one additional piece. Also, they are far too keen to clear your table as you are eating. If you put your knife and fork down for a split second they would whip them away from you, it became really annoying.
This guest house could be great and if they spent a bit of money and time doing some basic improvements it cold be really nice. Unfortunately I don't think they are likely to do this and I would not recommend staying here unless you are happy to rough it.

Room Tip: Should pay a bit extra for a room at the front, although I'd recommend finding another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
11
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed a week at Bon Viveur 16th to 23rd September 2012 in room 10 a sea view room on the top floor at the front of the guest house.. I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews about Bon Viveur, comments such as-tiny room, barely room to swing a cat,the ensuite the size of a toilet, so little space to move around the room, food ok but nothing special, sea view rooms hear conversation and smoke from diners outside, small dark corridors, Manager arrogant etc etc
WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH !! Some of these people must live in mansions, Ensuite to small? Perhaps they need to lose weight !! Small dark corridors? Are they too helpless to switch on a light?. The problem with these so called reviewers is they want 5 star hotel accommodation but do not want to pay for it so they choose a three star guest house and then expect 5 star rooms. Complaint about breakfast not being able to have more than four items, this also included as much toast as you wanted. I have a very healthy appetite and the breakfast was more than adequate. Greed springs to mind. This guest house is the best we have ever experienced for food and service and we have travelled extensively. The restaurant was full every evening while we were there not only with guests but locals from all over the island. Why would local people dine here if the food was ok but nothing special. As for the manager being arrogant, all the staff from the manager to the waiters were very professional smart and friendly.We have asked the manager to forward the tariff for 2013 as we will definitely be returning. We chose to have half board which was excellent value, good choice of starter, main and sweet. The one thing I feel they could improve is the bedding having duvets instead of blankets they were rather dated.
We had plenty of space in our room, we had two chairs, dressing table and stool a large wardrobe,a small table with shelf, two bedside cabinets, tv, hairdryer shaver point and plenty of room to walk around the bed, no stubbed toes as one person said.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This higgledy-piggledy guest house was a bit disappointing but the view was lovely. We stayed on the top floor in a tiny room overlooking the pretty harbour. It was very warm in there and with no air movement and barely space to swing a cat, we spent as little time as possible in our room. The bedding was ancient (ugly patterned cover with sheet and well worn synthetic pink blanket at least two decades old...) but the bed was comfortable. The so called en-suite is the size of a toilet with a shower directly opposite the "throne" and the door just clears the bed by a couple of inches. The basin is in the room itself and complimentary shampoo and shower gel provided. I was a little worried about the multi-plug by the mirror which already had the hair dryer and tv plugged into it and wire going across the top of the wardrobe. A stool and a chair are also provided but there is so little space to move around the room that we both stubbed our toes several times!
The staff were lovely and attentive in the restaurant - we had 3 waiters serving us, working as a team and very polite. The food was ok but nothing special although we choose frugally according to our budget and others seemed very pleased with their meals. When I brought down an odd sock I had found under our bed, the manager grabbed it and binned it, grunting. No apology. He never smiled and made me feel like I was a nuisance. We couldn't choose our table at breakfast even though we were the only ones downstairs in the restaurant! The other manager and waiters were friendly, so it's a shame one person let them down with his attitude.
We won't be coming back to stay, although I would consider coming for lunch as the waiters were so kind and the view lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view and bring your travel kettle as there are no tea or coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The welcome was cool, the bedroom design meant we could clearly hear the people in adjacent rooms using their tiny ensuite toilets or showers and making conversation (or more). The basin didn't fit in the ensuite - that's in the room. First floor rooms clearly hear the entertainment from the cafe/ restaurant downstairs. Sea view rooms also enjoy smoking and conversation from diners outside. No ventilation in the tiny shower cubicle unless you leave the light on, remember to turn sideways to get dry and leave the shower door open or there's not enough room. The towels smelt of mildew and were only to be changed once during a week's stay, the linen didn't get changed at all and the pink nylon blanket was out of the 70's. Full English breakfast meant only 4 items, not sausage, bacon, egg, beans and tomato for example - that was too much. No choice of table, you sit where you're put not where you want. Same sad cakes open on display in the dining room for 7 days - even the flies found them too dry! The window boxes are lovely in all the photos and in reality, but do expect a member of staff to turn up in your room at any time to water them daily.
On the plus side, the view was fantastic and very welcoming, drawing us out into fresh air and away from the confines of "Bon Viveur"

Room Tip: Choose another guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went there once, thinking you can't go wrong with a nice harbour side restaurant ran by mediterranean owner.

How surprised we were.

The waiters kept touching our kness and putting the napkin over them. The waiters changed constantly, there was about 4 of them serving us.
Moreover, the hamburger was served without a bun, which was served additionally on request, but buttered on both sides. (?) They say they don't serve buns for burgers in the evening???

The quality of the meat in Canelloni was also awful, like a cheap supermaket meal, and the vegetable salad had cooked cabbage in it in the height of summer.

Poor value and overeager, stressed table service.

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else. Terrible value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great hotel for midgets! All of the stairs have 'Mind your head' signs. Small, dark corridors. Small rooms. My closet at home is bigger than the room. Could not get sea view. Had a room facing a small side street. Every morning the trash truck woke me up. The walls are paper thin. I could hear an old guy snore really loud in the next room. Couldn't sleep well. The manager is a bit arrogant. First refused to switch me even though he had spare rooms. After I made a big deal he finally offered another room. Small and cramped too. Had to have breakfast at a specific table. Could not move even though many were open.

Room Tip: If you don't have a big sea view room than find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week on a B&B basis and I wonder if we were at the same hotel as some of last year's reviews. Our room had a harbour view and was comfortable with plenty of room for the two of us. The proprietors and their well trained team were welcoming, friendly and helpful - at breakfast you only had to drain your cup and there was a smart waiter beside you with the pot ready to refill it. It's a shame that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room but apart from that it was good value for the money. I wonder what other people expect for their money - are they in touch with the cost of things?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bon Viveur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Viveur

Address: Fischer Place, St Aubin’s Bay, St. Aubin JE3 8AB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St. Aubin
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Viveur 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Also Known As:
Bon Viveur Guesthouse Hotel St. Aubin
Bon Viveur Hotel
Bon Viveur Jersey/St. Aubin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Viveur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.