We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bracewell's

Bracewell's
High Street, St. Aubin JE3 8BZ
01534 747014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in St. Aubin
Price range: $9 - $51
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, International, Pasta
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food was very good and beautifully presented. Service was also good. Lacked a little in ambience perhaps more due to the location of the restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The chef is a culinary alchemist - all he creates is pure magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A galaxy of glorious gastronomy awaits you! Be transported to another dimension by the delightfully varied menu which offers taste combinations to excite and entice you. This is food to enhance your mood. Need to revitalise? Awaken your tastebuds with wasabi ice cream or a tingling fresh ginger sorbet. In need of comfort? Indulge in the black butter ice cream with its silky texture and nostalgic taste of Christmas.

There are some truly unusual tastes to try and everything is cooked to perfection from succulent, tender duck, to scallops with seaweed in a glorious sauce where each item on my plate tasted wonderful separately, but together were truly divine! Having discovered this restaurant my friend and I returned every day thereafter till our holiday ended. Mary gives a very warm welcome and we felt very privileged to have discovered Bracewell's. Food on this menu surpasses anything I've ever eaten before in my life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You could easily overlook this restaurant, but do give it a try. We enjoyed a very good meal and the scallops were delicious. The chef and staff were very knowledgable about the ingredients and happy to talk. On our next visit to Jersey we will definitely visit again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful dinner at Bracewell's. The restaurant is small, cosy and full of nautical knick knacks. The dining area has whitewashed stone walls, duck egg blue paintwork and interesting things hanging on the walls. The staff were welcoming and friendly and offered us a complimentary shot glass of Jerusalem artichoke and horseradish soup, accompanied by warm, homemade rosemary focaccia rolls. Apparently, each week there is a free taster offered beginning with a different letter of the alphabet - tonight was "J". The food was delicious and we couldn't fault it. We had light starters - tempura veg with a sweet chilli dip for my husband and a rocket, parmesan and toasted pine nut salad for me. We both had the homemade sweet potato and parmesan ravioli, which wonderful, accompanied by salad. My husband also had courgette fritti as he couldn't resist them! The icing on the cake was our desserts - pineapple sorbet with coconut cream and toasted almonds for me and caramelised banana with butter ice cream for him. A perfect end to an excellent meal. Would highly recommend. Shame we are going home tomorrow but will be back again in the not too distant future!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Owner at Bracewell's, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your experience at Bracewell's. Glad you enjoyed our complimentary "A to Z" surprise. This week we are onto "K", which, despite many people thinking Kangaroo!!.... it is Kiwi Sorbet served with Crunchy Kiwi.
Hope you are able to make it back to Jersey soon and you'll be very welcome at Bracewell's.
Thanks again, Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem up a cobbled street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just dined at Bracewells; a very varied menu, all prepared from fresh ingredients on the premises. A chance to sample some Jersey delights as well as being offered variations on some favourite classics like spare ribs and suchi. A small restaurant that offers personal service with a smile at what we thought were very reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bracewell's also viewed

St. Aubin, Jersey
St. Aubin, Jersey
 

Been to Bracewell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bracewell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.