We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning overall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Somerville Hotel to your Saves list
Somerville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mont du Boulevard, St. Aubin JE3 8AD   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in St. Aubin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Stunning overall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights in the garden rooms, the accommodation is superb, views over St. Aubin's bay are truly stunning, the weather has been fantastic and the sunrise starts the day with a very pleasant wake up call (the rooms face the rising sun). Breakfast is a wonderful relaxing experience where you enjoy the views over the bay whilst being attended to by very friendly, efficient and courteous staff the fare is excellent and caters for most tastes. We have dined here of an evening three times during our stay and have been absolutely delighted with the quality and presentation of the courses chosen. In our opinion this hotel is well worth visiting all the facilities are wonderfully maintained and the room lacked nothing. We will definitely be returning here in the near future.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for such a wonderful review and for sharing this with the readers of Trip Advisor. Our Garden Rooms seem to be a hit with all that stay in them. Thank you for your restaurant review also. We are very lucky to have an excellent catering team both front and back of house and your kind comments will be shared with all. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    84
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
43
224
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We live in Jersey and recently held my partner's 50th birthday party there - we chose to go back there as my partner's Christmas party was held there and we stayed overnight. The venue for the 50th was superb, the staff were amazing - courteous and very attentive without being overbearing and the Manager and could not do enough during the planning and preparation - everyone had a fantastic evening - thank you Somerville Hotel staff and Managers - you made it very special. Anita R

Room Tip: Choose one with a view - its stunning and you would travel a long way to get a view like this - reas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your delightful review and for selecting the Somerville as the venue for such a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright all at the Somerville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a superior garden room with sea view. Well it was under the carpark along with two others. Because of the low location, it had its own outside sitting area, and the wall the sea view was only just there through the glass door window. The room was clean and well appointed (including kitchen sink!) but rather small for the large price tag. The bed was comfortable and wifi excellent. The bar area and staff were great as were the evening meals and service. I must really thank the chief for going out of his way to make me a vegetarian meal, yes there wasn't that option on the menu. The serving at breakfast was a bit strange. We were eventually offered coffee which we sat and drank and waited for ages for the girl to take our order. I had to ask her eventually and she said she was waiting for us to finish our coffee first. Never heard of anything so daft. Overall a very pleasant stay and would use the hotel again but perhaps with a better choice of room with a real view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your observations. Delighted that you found our new Garden rooms comfortable. Apologies for any mis-understanding at breakfast as you quite rightly point out this isn't the correct way and not the way that we take orders at breakfast. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband & I who are local, treated ourselves to an overnight at this lovely hotel. On arriving we noticed how attentive & polite the staff were, & the car park staff did an amazing job! The food was lovely & the staff were fantastic. Our only criticism was that when we booked the room in february we were told that there were only sea view rooms available for April so had to pay a supplement. Our room was lovely & clean but we felt it wasn't a sea view room, more a view of the car park, which was fine unless like us, we were paying extra!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your comments which are greatly appreciated and will of course be discussed with the team. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C I
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Big family do. Welcome committee lovely but table service very poor (waitress didn't even know which side plate was who's and made a right hash of the bread run!)
Menu misleading and food well below average compared to former fab experiences here. Scallop dish especially grim. (one scallop sliced in 3 in a glob of luke warm mash with some chese welded on top. Not advertised as Cocquil st J). Cream used in 2 different dishes was sour as well. Also got bill wrong. Wasnt my party so didn't like to make a fuss at time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review although obviously not we wanted to read. The issues you raise will of course be discussed with the team and relevant people concerned to ensure that such events do not occur again. It is very rare to receive adverse comments about the catering at the hotel and any that we do receive we take very seriously. We still have our excellent Chef that has been with us for 11 years apart from a 1 year sabbatical. I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fabulous location, excellent food with outstanding views of St Aubin Bay. Staff are attentive without being over the top. Quality bedding, towels and toiletries. We stayed in a Garden Room with Sea Views which was very private, quiet and just what we wanted. Would definitely visit again. There is a cute train which you can catch in the village and takes you into St Helier. For the more active its about a 3 mile walk along the sea front. Plenty of other establishments locally serving food and drinks and the Harbour is home to numerous boats, yachts and floating crafts. The hotel has a pool but weather didn't tempt us to take a dip. Gardens are stunning and beautifully kept.

Room Tip: If you want a room away from it all go for a Garden Room with Sea Views - there are just 3 rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your review and for recommending our Garden Suite rooms, as you state these are in a great location with private terrace, garden and lovely views of the bay. Having only 3, booking early is essential. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel particularily if you have one of the mini suites with a view as we did. The room was excellent and well equipped and most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a good choice of well prepared food which all in all made for a relaxing one night stay. Unfortunately there were some issues with the way the booking was handled and the subsequent difficult and unpleasant checkout. The Senior Management of the hotel were eventually very apologetic about this but were not unduly concerned.
Despite this I would recommend the hotel and you can easily walk to other bars and restauarants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolanhotelsjersey, General Manager at Somerville Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks for your comments and may I apologise again for any issues that you experienced upon checking out. We are committed to ensuring that all accounts are accurate for our clients however sometimes mistakes can be made. I hope that the issue was solved to your satisfaction and I'm delighted that despite this error you would recommend staying with us.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

David Plowright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville Hotel

Address: Mont du Boulevard, St. Aubin JE3 8AD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the hillside, overlooking the yachting harbour the village of St. Aubin and the bay beyond, the views from the Somerville hotel are breathtaking. The hotel is one of the Island's finest country house hotels and is well know for its warm welcome and excellent reputation with guests appreciating its discreet location and emphasis is on indulgence and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Somerville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerville Hotel St Aubin
Somerville Hotel Jersey/St. Aubin
Hotel Jersey Somerville
Somerville St Aubin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.