We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest house Great Breakfast excellent value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olanda Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olanda Guest House to your Saves list
Olanda Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, St. Aubin JE3 8BZ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 St. Aubin B&B and Inns
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Guest house Great Breakfast excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here on 3 occassions and found it most pleasant. Phil and his staff are Friendly and very accommodating nothing too much trouble. The rooms are to a good standard, the breakfast is superb and the location fantastic. Parking is limited but Phil is very helpful and with considerate parking by customers a lot is achieved. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Well done Phil and Marie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
8
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Olanda. It was very enjoyable - lovely breakfast and a lovely view from the bedroom. As other posters have commented, the parking can be a bit tricky but ther is a knack to it, no doubt!!!. Had a hire car for 4 days so we went all around the island. We absolutely love the stunning views at Corbiere lighthouse and went 4 times. We also visited the Underground Tunnels - that was well worth visiting - just take extra clothing, its very cold!!. Having driven around the whole island, we still feel that St. Aubin is the best resort - lovely beach, harbour as well as other facilities, restaurants, shops etc. We can't wait to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had booked at Olanda for two nights and really thought about leaving only a few hours after our arrival!
We are used to stay at B&Bs and obviously do not expect the same standard as in hotels or boutiques but this one really was terrible.
Here are the different points that we noted during this stay:

Room: How can this B&B be granted 2 stars??? Its dated furnishing could be overlooked if it were at least clean!! But, the rooms are not even maintained properly. In the bedroom, the bedcover had suspicious white stains, the paint had gone from part of the walls and even the door was dirty. I would also recommend avoiding preparing a cup of tea, since I found a DEAD BUG FLOATING in the kettle that had not been emptied when the previous customer left! (please see attached pictures)
In the bathroom, the shower curtain was rusty and the shower receiver had been fixed carelessly: cement from the seals was stuck on the floor.

Garden: The advertised garden on the website is actually not accessible to customers. It is obviously left to ruin since the weeds now entirely occupy the barbecue area…

Location : We already knew St Aubin and it is true that this B&B location is just gorgeous, close to all local amenities. But to enjoy this location, you have to find the B&B and the directions to get there are just misleading: you can find a sign at the entrance of the main street (about 500m before the B&B) but this sign is just not understandable. (please, see attached picture).

Parking : Some qualified it of being tricky. I would rather stick with the nightmare description. It would not have been a problem for us, had the owner been pleasant or at least polite...

Owner : We had never been received in such a rude manner! As requested when we made our booking over the phone, I sent an email to Phil to inform him of our time of arrival and give him my cell phone number. I never received any answer to this email and nobody was home when we arrived: this really was not an issue since an envelop with the our key was left in the lobby for us.
At the time of our arrival (in the middle of the afternoon), the parking lot was deserted, except for two cars. Having read the reviews, my husband decided to park alongside one of these cars in order not to block the other car. Then we decided to enjoy the glorious weather and take a stroll in St Aubin. We finally came back to the B&B after diner. There we were greeted by an unknown man, expecting us on the doorstep and asking if we were the "French people" (charming). He did not introduce himself and started shouting at us that things could not be done this way, that our car was not parked properly and that our behaviour was unacceptable : this was Phil the "nice" owner !!! (True, the car that we had parked close to, had moved and Phil had made the arriving cars parked in such a way that at this time ours was strangely posted in the parking lot). But how could have we guessed HIS way of arranging his car park when nobody was there to give us any instructions??? That is what I asked Phil... His answer : you just need common sense !! What a nice way to make your customers feel stupid! We tried to explain that nobody was parked when we arrived or that he could have called on our cell phone to ask us to move the car but the only thing this person could do was shouting and accusing us of having absolutely no common sense ! He tried to be nice to us during the rest of our stay but this disastrous first "welcome" was just too much to bear!

In conclusion : NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stopped in jersey for two nights and stayed at the Orlando guest house. We four it clean, friendly, and the breakfast was really good. It's not very clearly signposted and a bit awkward to drive into the entrance, but really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we really enjoyed our stay had lovely balony room breakfast was excellent .Location is great and bus service right on door step .This was our first time in jersey but will definetly return to olanda thanks again to phil and marie.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having booked to stay here and then reading some of the negative comments, we were a little worried. Once we arrived our worries disappeared. Yes the parking is a little tricky, but it's what happens when you stay in a B n B nestled in the narrow windy streets of St Aubin. The location was superb, as it was close to local amenities, bus routes and ideally tucked away from the traffic.
Our room was clean and comfortable, it's not a boutique hotel but a B n B and rather like staying in someone's home - which we loved. Phil, the owner and breakfast chef was a star. Nothing was ever too much trouble and he worked himself into a frenzy every morning in a bid to make sure all his guests were happy. The smile and friendly attitude never faltered. We stayed for 5 happy nights and would not hesitate to return. If you want boutique then you are going to have to pay a lot more money. £70 for a room for two with breakfast, in Jersey, bargain.

Room Tip: The balcony room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Some reviews complain about the tired and shabby aspect of this hotel, but we found it a great place to stay. The interconnecting family room was perfect for us and the location is fantastic - St Aubin's is easy to get to and there are loads of restaurants. Parking is horrible: the hotel is at the end of a very narrow lane and there's a knack to getting into it (ask Phil) which once you've mastered makes it all ok!

Room Tip: Downstairs gives out onto a modest patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olanda Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olanda Guest House

Address: High Street, St. Aubin JE3 8BZ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Aubin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Aubin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olanda Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Olanda Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olanda Guest House Jersey/St. Aubin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olanda Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.