We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A whirlwind history tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hougue Bie

La Hougue Bie
B28, Grouville
44 0 1534 853 373
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Grouville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Neolithic ritual site is one of the largest and best preserved graves in Europe.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A whirlwind history tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was a fascinating, intriguing and involving attraction. We caught the bus from St. Helier and the journey was easy, with the bus stop right outside (just check the timetable for the return trip as the bus is only approximately every hour). The museum gave a good introduction, although it was once we rounded the corner to the actual passage grave that our interest was truly piqued. It had a powerful atmosphere and with imagination you could picture the scene clearly. The medieval chapel was peaceful and the views on the climb up very pretty. The German war bunker was the first World War Two 'attraction' we had visited and I left in tears. It was incredibly moving, yet retained that cold and chilling atmosphere. When we had finished, we sat on the picnic benches and recovered from such an emotional and informative visit. It had jumped us from Neolithic to Medieval to the 20th Century in just over an hour. What a fascinating place!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, NI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Most powerful bit of history on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A Neolithic passage grave with a medieval chapel and a Nazi war bunker. Curiosity alone must bring you here. The small but informative museum was just that. It is an incredibly moving place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best historical attraction on the island !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

La Hougue Bie is by far my favourite attraction on Jersey. It is rich in our history from neolithic - medieval - modern war. There is a mixture of attractions including a interesting geology museum. The site is beautiful - excellent for a picnic and the chapel has a spiritual vibe. Well worth a visit for both locals and tourists.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The German bunkers in the grounds of La Hougue Bie are a must see - very moving experience This is a fascinating place and lovely for a picnic lunch too

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good guided tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent tour of this burial place. Nice that you can go inside, but you have to duck down for about 30 meters, so be aware of this! Worth it though. The chapel on the top is also fascinating and there is also a war exhibition.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hougue Bie also viewed

 

Been to La Hougue Bie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hougue Bie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.