We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a bed and breakfast not a hotel!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcombers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcombers Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcombers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rue a Don, Grouville JE3 9GB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grouville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a bed and breakfast not a hotel!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked into this place based on some of the reviews either we are missing something or got a very bad room I wouldn't have been so disappointed if I thought it was a B&B but this place is no way 3 star or a hotel the rooms are old the shower door was broken and the lino on the floor is screwed down to the floor rooms are tiny and noisy. When I checked out the girl on reception tried to bill me for a breakfast we never had, we didn't even go into the dining room let alone eat there her reaction was terrible I would never stay here again especially with so many other places to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    81
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
61
113
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I returned to Jersey for our 35th Anniversary after honeymooning in the Island. We chose the hotel based on it's location and the availability of parking, and the offer made by the holiday company.
It's a delightful little hotel, away from the gridlock that is St Helier. Set in farmland near Grouville, Beachcombers is charming from the minute you walk in. We were lucky enough to have a large room which had a separate seating area, massive bedroom and unique bathroom ( set in the eaves part of the roof is sloped but posed no problem to negotiate.) Full tea and coffee making facilities and bags of space.
Staff were attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast came as part of the package and what a breakfast it was! I particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and the bespoke porridge. All the usual culprits were available-one of the best buffet style breakfasts I've had-especially the fresh fried mushrooms. The Hotel does not do lunch, but this is hardly a hardship with the numerous Inns and restaurants that Jersey offers. They do however do Dinner and how! Delicious well-cooked food , well presented in their own charming and interestingly decorated restaurant. Driftwood sculptures and natural woods mixed with metals and an outrageous zebra skin chaise in the bar area make for a different experience.
I really recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently enjoyed a five day break at the Beachcombers and loved every minute of it. Jersey is an ideal relaxing holiday destination especially if you have the weather which we did. Anna and her team made us very welcome and couldn't have been more welcoming. There was a slight problem with our room on the first night and she moved us down to a poolside room the next day. Breakfast was excellent and you can either walk or a short drive down to Gorey Harbour where there are some excellent restaurants. Walking back you have Mont Orgueil Castle lit up as a back drop which looks fabulous at night. Will definitely go back to Beachcombers.

Room Tip: Such a peaceful location all rooms would be quiet and the poolside rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachcombersboutique, General Manager at Beachcombers Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Suze. Thank you for your positive feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay here with your friends and appreciate your fab recommendation! We're looking forward to your next visit :)
Best Regards

Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Vey freindly and helpful staff visited last year and returned again this year with our youngest children and both sets of grandparents.
Our needs were catered for with the rooms for the grandparents being on the groundfloor this was changed by the hotel manager on arrival when she noticed the mobility problems that they had even though they did not mention this on booking.
The buffet breakfast is constantly checked and provides a more than adequate selection for the most fussy of eaters ( my daughter ) with the staff always on hand to help.
The pool is small but the kids enjoyed splashing around in it and we all enjoyed using the tennis court to work off some of the excess calories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight and had dinner and breakfast with our four and six year olds. The three star facilities were OK, the staff worked hard and were friendly and efficient. The food was good although the portions were not huge. Bedroom was adequate. We used the small pool, there is also a tennis court. Good base for exploring Jersey.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in June. We came to Jersey by catamaran from Poole and the hotel is very conveniently placed for a short break. The room was comfortable but only had a shower, no bath - it wasn't made clear that this would be the case, so I was disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although we had been told that we might have to move rooms for the last night and this wasn't confirmed until the morning of our last day, so it was "all hands to the pump" to move out before we could enjoy our final day. We had dinner in the hotel on one occasion and it was pleasant enough, but we preferred our meals in a restaurant in Deauville (about half an hour's walk away). We had an enjoyable stay and I think we would stay again if the price were right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A couple of years ago we stayed here. It was in need of a bit of work and there was a lot of noise from the room upstairs

The lobby area is all plush now and the staff were very efficient. Our family room with two fold up beds was a squeeze and disappointingly the bathroom was still in need of renovation. And there was still a lot of noise from the room upstairs.

Breakfast was pretty good for a UK hotel but didn't resemble the menu (no poached eggs, bread, cheese, meats). The croissants looked inedible and the muesli had to be the cheapest economy product available, but hey the other guests seemed happy so maybe I'm just a breakfast snob.

Parking was a squeeze. The in-room tea/coffee/biscuits were plentiful. There were also plenty of shower gel/shampoo bottles in the bathroom. It was a short walk into Gorey village.

Will we stay here again? It's a lot of money but I can't be sure anywhere else on the island offers better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcombers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcombers Hotel

Address: La Rue a Don, Grouville JE3 9GB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > Grouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grouville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcombers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcombers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcombers Hotel Grouville
Beachcombers Hotel Jersey/Grouville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcombers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.